We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
California
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent location, friendly staff”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Fantastic location - right across from the OCEAN! Plenty to do within walking distance. Friendly staff. We stay here every time we visit Santa Barbara. Only negative - hotel definitely needs a remodel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    1,000
    648
    311
    142
See reviews for
1,049
1,099
91
535
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nipomo
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is no better than any other although the prices suggest otherwise. The room was nice and big. The restaurant service started out real slow but finished much better. The pool is nice and hotel is in a great location. The location being Santa Barbara explains the higher prices. The category 8 for this Hilton property is way overrated in my opinion. I would stay again but I struggle with the price.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Was in SB for meeting and family outing. Finding a kid friendly place that was comfortable and clean was always a challenge in SantaBarbara. The meeting hotel was very expensive and last time we stayed at Hyatt which was OK for one night but tight and oddly layed out. So overall, decided against it. The Fess Parker is a recently renovated property and run by Hilton. Rooms were clean, Staff were very friendly. The warm cookies are to die for. Has a nice pool and jacuzzi. Its right on Cabrillo but not a close walking distance to State Street. Tons of parking and they charge extra which is not OK. Our room faced the back and a train would go by every now and then but was not a big deal.
Really nothing to gripe about so they get a 5 in my book and we shall visit there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We are pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your stay at our resort and appreciate the fact you took the time to let visitors to the TripAdvisor site know about our guestroom renovation, the spacious rooms, friendly staff and our delicious cookies. We are sorry you were disappointed with the fee for parking. If your plans include a return trip, please consider booking the Hilton Leisure Escape package that includes a $50 credit which can be used to cover parking fees. Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I found the service, especially one bellman at the door, very rude. I did not get his name, however, he did not offer to help with our bags, but did indicate with his hand gestures that we were making too much noise pulling our 50 pound bags over the cobble stone pavement. Imagine that - with all of your walking area being cobble stone that we could pull bags w/o making some noise. We were not given a choice of whether we wanted to be in rooms where pets were the majority and I felt the room was dirty. We ended our stay with you hotel early and found a much nicer facility with more personable hotel employees...and the hotel was very clean. I would not stay nor would I recommend your hotel. I was especially offended by your bellman and wish I had gotten his name...he was truly rude!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit. I realize that you do have other options and appreciate you giving us the opportunity to stay with us; however, I understand that we did not deliver the exceptional stay we wish to provide to all our guests. I am extremely sorry that one of our staff members did not provide you with a courteous and professional treatment when you first arrived to our hotel. I can assure you that did not reflect the brand standards for customer service we wish to provide all our customers.

Your business is very important to us and I sincerely hope that you give us another opportunity to consider returning. In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please feel free to contact me. We are always listening to our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Very nice hotel in a pretty setting but California taxes and re-taxes everything to the point of absurdity. There were at least 5 separate taxes on our room not to mention high prices for gas and everything else. I won't be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Arthur N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fullerton, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2014

need to make sure everything works such as the ac..other wise the place is very nice in a good location and very quiet but a hot room makes it hard to sleep..so to make tripadvisor happy I will keep typing eventhough I am finished.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was our second stay at Fess Parker's gaff, we enjoyed both stays. This time however, despite wanting the same room type as before we were very disappointed in not getting one, the reasons only becoming clear on our way to the room we were given. RENOVATIONS ... on a grand scale. I hate it when the hotel gives you no warning! That said, our room though inferior than the previous year was much more expensive ('cos the hotel was half empty) was still reasonable and quiet because when the workers downstairs were busy we were out, the bonus being that no other floors in our block was occupied so it was quiet. Santa Barbara is great so we will probably be back, possibly at Fess Parkers, at least the rooms should be spick and span!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RdRnnr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,034 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,377 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
124 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
968 reviews
1.3 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Property: The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing