We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Santa Maria, United States
1 review
“Could have been better”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Personnel working at this hotel were great. The room was on the second floor over the gym (first floor) and this was not good early in the morning as I could hear the constant thumping of someone running on the treadmill. Also a light switch did not work, I had to search for all the lamps and turn them on at the lamp. Certainly this was not the greatest room for the cost.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Byron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,128
    971
    633
    301
    137
See reviews for
1,016
1,061
89
529
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed in the Bougainvillea building, and our room showed signs of wear. The bathroom door was wooden, had pieces peeling off, and stuck at the top. It was obvious that the bathroom hadn't been updated in a while. The bed was relatively comfortable, though, and we didn't have trouble sleeping. We had an ocean view room on the first floor, which had a great view even though the beach is across the street. I was pleased that we didn't seem to hear much street noise, too. We had breakfast in the Roundhouse restaurant, and it was good. The buffet price is a little steep but includes eggs cooked to order or omelets, which were quite good, and the service was good. Overall, I suppose most of the hotels in Santa Barbara are relatively expensive, but I felt like the Fess Parker wasn't quite as nice as the price suggested. To be fair, though, I assume you are paying for a lot of the resort amenities (the place is huge) that we just didn't use because we were only there for one night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeLoudon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

really more like 3.5 stars. Our family stayed in the bougainvillea building - where dogs are allowed - with a mountain view. It really was more like a parking lot view. The room was about the level of a holiday inn - the in-room coffeemaker produced tepid coffee, the rug was worn, the bathroom small and worn as well. Beds were comfortable and if you're not looking for luxury it's fine. I would spend more money for the garden or best yet the beach view - it's worth it.

The grounds were very nice, however, with a nice pool, hot tub, nice foyer, decent breakfast (get the family plan with free internet and breakfasts), and right across the road from the beach and water. Bottom line: A good mid-range choice for a family with a dog, that didn't break the bank.

Room Tip: pick garden or beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 510globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Nice hotel, right on the beach, close to State street and down town. The rooms are nicely appointed, the hotel is dog friendly and the views are great, but make sure you get a room away from the parking lot as Amtrak runs behind the hotel and it can be quite noisy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo. Ca, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Don't waste you time on this place. Disappointed with the staff. You can find other hotels in the area and save yourself from aggravation. I was lied to by the clerk from the moment I checked in. Great, hand me a warm cookie and make me wait an hour for my room. Ants in the bathroom and no hot water from the shower. I would not stay at this place again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We are so very sorry your stay was not as enjoyable as it should have been and for the confusion on arrival. If our team was notified of your concerns... it is our practice to do everytthing possible to ensure our guests satisfaction. Please accept my apology for the problems you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Classy hotel, nice ambience, the rooms are very traditional in design. Big plantation sliding wooden doors. Its pricey but you get what you pay for. Staff are friendly and courteous. They have a great breakfast buffet selection. Guest can be a bit snobbish...hosh posh.... but is not them that you are going to mingle with anyway. You primarily pay for the location. Angie

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michiko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here on a short family vacation. The hotel is very nice, clean, comfortable. Nothing flashy. Pool is bigger than most, which we liked because you could actually swim a real lap, unlike most hotel pools. The beach across the street is very nice without many people. Rooms were nice, clean, and quite large. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank SteveMcDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#29 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Property: The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing