We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, great views, beware of trains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,118 helpful votes
“Friendly, great views, beware of trains”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Opposite the ocean in fabulous Santa Barbara and reasonably priced by the standards of one of America's most expensive towns, what could detract from your stay? Well, the trains will, unless you order a room facing the ocean of the 'pool. The train tracks run right behind the hotel's parking lot and if you have a mountain view room be prepared to hear them all day and much of the night.

That said, we like Fess Parker. It's friendly and laid-back and has a great Reception, bell hop and front of house team. Though the service by the restaurant staff at breakfast was awful - rushed, surly, forgetful and careless.

Rooms are spacious and well appointed, and although well maintained haven't had any major refurbishment since we were last at the hotel 8 years ago. There's a lovely 'pool and good laundry room if you need it and the hotel is both family-friendly and dog-friendly which makes a nice change.

Apart from the train noise affecting some rooms and the un-Amercian levels of service in the breakfast bistro, this is a great hotel with a friendly, relaxed and welcoming vibe, perfect for Santa Barbara. We're looking forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Any but mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    988
    640
    305
    139
See reviews for
1,029
1,083
90
532
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Your Hotel was overpriced. It needs to be refurbished. Furniture is old and should be replaced. The location was the only positive experience. It was quite beautiful. Service was average as was the food. I would not recommend hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. Although I was glad to read from your review that you found our hotel to be conveniently located, I understand that we fell short in some other areas and that we did not provide you with what you expected. Our property and brand goal is to exceed our guests’ expectations--and I am disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations for your stay with us.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. I do hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Highly overpriced Hotel. Fairly lousy service. Great Location and nice common grounds in one of the most attractive resorts on the West Coast but I would not give this Hotel a 4 stars. I will definitely go back to Santa Barbara but not at this Hotel !!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
While we appreciate your compliments regarding the prime location of the resort we are so sorry you were disappointed with the service during your stay. I certainly wish I had known about this while you were here. We would have done everything in our power to make certain your stay was not only enjoyable but memorable. We hope you will reconsider and give us another chance to provide you with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have 2 rooms the first night and then moved to a third room the next day. This was due to room quality. Will not go there a for years again. The first room made us sick. All room were also very cold, due to no heating. The first room was just opened, and had a very strong oder. The rugs had not been cleaned for years.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We are very sorry your stay with us in December was disappointing. I can imagine how frustrating this must have been for you. If your plans include a return trip to Santa Barbara and are considering giving us another chance, please feel free to contact me direct. Our guestroom renovation is finished and we are certain we will be able to arrange accommodations that you will enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

One of our favorite weekend trips is Santa Barbara.
This is our favorite place to stay.
The rooms are spacious.
The beach is a few short steps away.
The food is good for hotel food.
Its relaxing and fun for the whole family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had stayed there in 2013, and came back again! It's pet friendly, staff is very accommodating. Down side is paying for parking. Convenient location, and it didn't hurt that the weather was perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank GayletBocaRaton_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We came here for a year end getaway. The hotel is large with rooms in a number of buildings. The location is great, right across Cabrillo from the ocean. A short walk or trolley ride to downtown.

The hotel could use a few dollars spent on updating, but all of that is made up for by the great staff and location.

We started with a welcome from the valet. Then check in where they were unable to give a courtesy upgrade (Hilton Gold member) the first night due to being sold out. However the next three nights were in a beautiful junior suite with a fireplace.

The fitness center had plenty of treadmills and elliptical machines as well as a nice view.

We arrived late the first night and had dinner on the patio on the lounge. Hummus appetizer, Cobb salad, and Mediterranean salad. Attractive, fresh, and great tasting. Service was a bit slow to come, but other than that it was great.

We had breakfast at the hotel every day. The buffet with omelet station was excellent every time and again the service was great. The oatmeal station, I like oatmeal, had a number of fruit and nut toppings, very good stuff.

The hotel is dog friendly and there were a number of dogs vacationing here, so we did not miss our dogs as much while we were gone. If you do not like dogs this might not be a good place for you.

In all a great experience We would return for another stay. Thanks to all of the staff for making this a great stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,336 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,019 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#22 of 52 in Santa Barbara
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
114 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Property: The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing