We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“freezing Conference room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“freezing Conference room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Beyond COLD! everyone complained. I wore 2 jackets most of the conference and had to go outside during break to defrost, and it was only 34 degrees outside. Check your check out receipt, make sure you don't have extra charges. Both years I have stayed there, I have had 'extra' parking fees added. They do not offer FREE WiFi, and they need to. It is a business location. It is a beautiful location, my room was good and very clean. They are remodeling and that is nice. The hallways used to stink, and they no longer do! The staff is friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank beckinunez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,113
    965
    623
    298
    136
See reviews for
1,011
1,048
88
517
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

With over 30 years of travel worldwide this was the worst from the advertised accommodations I have experienced. Put us in a rennovated section with workers and dust 7 days a week. One elevator access outside also used by workers and materials all day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
4 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay and I wish I had known that you were unhappy with the location of your guestroom. The comfort of our guests is extremely important and i would have done everything possible to ensure you enjoyed your stay. There is nothing we can do about the past experience, but I hope you will give us another chance and return after the renovation is complete and give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Absolutely Loved the Hotel! Our room was beautiful and clean. Right across the street from the beach. Beautiful views. The service was awesome. Everyone was super nice and friendly. Our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Glenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. Our staff will be so pleased to know that you enjoyed your accommodations, their service and your stay. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back real soon. Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Even if you can't afford to spend the night, go into the sidebar which has an outdoor patio, where you can sit and watch the ocean in a peaceful, beautiful setting of palm trees and tranquility. We enjoyed the very large bedroom and bathroom (alas, no exhaust fan). The rest of the 2nd floor where our room was had unfinished rooms, under construction, so if you plan to nap in the daytime, don't stay here. Staff courteous and helpful. In room make it yourself coffee was delicious ("with a hint of chocolate")! We had a mountain view and balcony - beautiful!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

The property is very beautiful and well maintained. It has a fantastic location just across the road from the beach. Every staff member that I spoke with was friendly and helpful. The restaurant was closed on the day we were there, and so we ate in the bar. I had a fruit and cheese plate which was fairly pedestrian. I was hoping for something like I have gotten at the Airport Marriott in SF - but no. My wife's clam chowder was delicious. We travel with our dogs, and this hotel welcomes pet owners. In fact, they are the most pet friendly hotel I have ever encountered - a pet gift bag, information on pet friendly locations and restaurants, and even brought our dogs a water bowl and biscuits when we had breakfast with them. My only complaint was that I was denied complimentary wifi access when I requested it. My suggestion to the hotel industry - just include it in the costs of the hotel - it looks like money grubbing to charge for it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Loved this hotel and professional and friendly staff. This was our first time in Santa Barbara and I feel we choose the best hotel for our accomodations. Right across from the beach and our room had an ocean view, overlooking the beautiful pool. Enjoyed breakfast in the restaurant and had the best experience. Food quality was amazing and our waiter was friendly and extremely professional. Will not stay anywhere else if we visit Santa Barbara. Highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

I have been coming to your Hotel for years and this last time was really the first time I had any problems...when I booked my reservation on line, I called back 3 weeks later to let them know I needed a roll away bed...they told me I didn't even have a reservation...It was just a couple of weeks before we were going and I didn't have a room...the person on the other end did find me a room and I was set at that time....when we actually got to the Hotel, I had requested 2 queen beds ,which was stated on my paperwork and they stated they didn't have a ocean view room, which I paid for, with queen beds...only a garden view.They however gave me 1- night at garden view and the 2nd night gave me an ocean view...I was a little frustrated with the whole process, but in the end it worked out and I for sure would come back.....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
3 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#17 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#18 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Property: The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing