We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Pleasant Hill
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The room was very clean but the bathroom needed some attintion. The grounds were very nice good pool nice resturant and nice lobby. The front desk was nice at check in they called us when the room was ready. We had a ocean view and it was great.The patio could use a quick cleaning but it was OK

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rich076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and for your compliments regarding our beautiful grounds, the pool, restaurants and lobby. We hope you have the opportunity to return to enjoy the newly remodeled guestrooms. Our renovation project has begun and will be completed in just a couple of months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,116
    965
    624
    299
    136
See reviews for
1,011
1,049
88
521
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for a business meeting. Only stayed one night and wished it was more. Did not know what to expect. What a great resort. I told my wife that we will stay here next summer when we come to Santa Barbara for a wine tasting weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanceH_BizTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at our resort. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and for considering us for your next trip to Santa Barbara. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Beautiful hotel right on the beach. Close to excellent dining. We left the sliding door to the balcony open all night so we could hear the waves against the beach. So romantic. Had a couples massage at the Spa Del Mar - highly recommend that! The pool was lovely, but there were no towels available the night we went down for a swim.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for selecting our resort for your getaway to Santa Barbara and for taking the time to review your stay. I do want to apologize for our failure to have towels available at the pool and thank you for giving us the opportunity to take steps to avoid this problem in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

A lovely hotel with the Mexican style, great rooms with nice balcony and lovely swimming pool. Very good restaurant with good service and good wine list, You can enjoy a walk to the beach. An extra bonus there was a laundry in the hotel complex.

Room Tip: There is a laundry for gests to use whish we were able to make use of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mullinbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at our resort. Your tips to our TripAdvisor readers will be helpful and we appreciate your compliments. We hope you have the opportunity to return real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I had a claim on regarding 9/12/2013, claim# 30130893620001. This should have been resolved by now, it's just a pair of prescription eyeglasses that went missing from our room. The security supervisor at this property, Darren, promised to get this resolved when I spoke with him on 10/2. He said he would get back to me no later than10/4. I have not heard from him. I called again today and spoke with a Steven in security. He looked at the notes and said I was given the insurance contact info, so I asked him for the phone number and he told me he didn't have it. How interesting. PLEASE RESOLVE THIS ISSUE! I will be in this hotel again on 10/11 and 10/12, so please resolve before I arrive!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Ernesto O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
First, thank you for the excellent rating and for selecting us for your stay in Santa Barbara later this week. However, I was quite surprized to read your comments regarding how our team has handled your insurance claim. We have done everything in our power to retrieve the sun glasses you left in your guestroom and reported this to our insurance company. It is my understanding that you were provided with the contact information and have already given your statement. The insurance company has reviewed the incident and even though I cannot guarantee you will hear from them by your arrival date, I am sure they will be in touch with you soon. If you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to contact my office direct during your upcoming stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great location but very rundown. Needs updating pretty much everywhere. For such an expensive hotel, we expected more. The bed was pretty old and not very comfortable. We didn't wake up feeling "ahhh" (until we looked at the ocean view, of course). Also, there was no service by the pool for food or drinks, which meant a long walk to the inside bar to get an overpriced salad in a plastic take-out container and wine in a cup.

But all of the employees were really nice. And you can't beat the view. Probably better for families since it seems very kid friendly (making it even less "ahhhh" for couples)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megado5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The location is excellent for the Santa Barbara beach area. The grounds and common area are beautiful. The highlight of our stay was sitting on the patio with a fire pit seat overlooking the ocean as the sun was setting. Now for the room... As the bellhop showed us our room, I said to him that I smell urine in the hallway. He said it could be musty because of hotel location so close to the ocean. He did offer to change my room, but since we had a room next to our family I chose to keep this room. (big mistake). Bed and pillows are comfortable, and that is about the only good I have to say about room. Two lamps had damage, room smelled, bathroom outdated, wallpaper peeling and wood door chipped. To top it off, in the morning my aunt flushed toilet that had only liquid in it. There must have been a backup in sewer line as bowl started to overflow. She (at 82 yrs old) could not turn off shut off valve. I immediately called front desk (twice) to send someone ASAP as it was flooding very fast. It took 9 minutes for maintenance to arrive and the water flooded half of room, hallway and corridor outside of room. I guess this explains the smell I noticed on arrival. We then had been told by manager that hotel is being remodeled. We were given a small credit on room cost, which was not worth what we went thru.

Room Tip: Do not choose room near pool on bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#21 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#17 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Property: The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing