We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nostalgic feel and contemporary comfort all in one” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Orlando
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nostalgic feel and contemporary comfort all in one”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The name Fess Parker brings memories of childhood, home, comfort, reliability...and this hotel deliver, with architecture that manages to feel traditional and contemporary at the same time. Staff was friendly and helpful, loved the homey touch of a warm chocolate chip cookie at check in. Guest Services wasn't as organized as I would have expected (one would think they could answer a simple question about tours at their own winery). Parking was a little steep for self park, at $20 a day, but hey, its CA. The room was spacious, well decorated and comfortable. All that and the view too, ocean in front and mountains in the back, I would definitely stay there again.

Speaking of the winery, we drove up the mountain and joined a wine tasting, had a very enjoyable experience. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at our resort. So many of our guests tell us they have enjoyed the resort for the very same reasons you mention. I also want to thank you for giving us the opportunity to share your comment about the team not being prepared to provide information about tours of the winery with our management team. We will make certain our new team members have the most current information. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to Santa Barbara and the resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,090
    953
    612
    296
    135
See reviews for
996
1,031
88
511
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night, thank goodness...
As others have mentioned, the staff are lovely, but the hotel needs to be refurbished!
You should know that the hotel is Pet Friendly and that is cemented by the smell. We had lots of very large stains in the carpet, which made me wonder who or what was staying in the room.
The drinking glasses were dirty, and the phone didn't work. I went to use the laundry and whilst waiting for the cycle to finish took advantage to the wifi in the lobby... After a while I noticed bites all along my legs and arms!!??
The location is great, but for the money you pay, it doesn't add up.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PTO21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. We’re sorry you encountered housekeeping problems. Dirty rooms are not typical at our hotel, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. We'd also like to apologize for the pet smell that you encountered during your stay. We have discussed this with our staff and will make every effort to be sure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards. We hope you will consider giving us another chance to serve you if you visit our area in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the Doubletree Hotel in Santa Barbara for the triathlon. The staff at check-in, maid service, restaurant staff were all excellent and were very helpful. But the hotel itself really needs some updating. The carpets were worn and stained, the wall paper in our bathroom was pealing off, roof tiles needed to be replaced and the lamp between the two beds had a damaged lamp shade. The lamp on the table next to the TV also had a socket that was coming apart. I think for the money we spent, I was expecting a little bit nicer condition. I stayed here about 15 years ago and it was lovely. The great service we received throughout our stay made up to the shabby condition of the hotel room in general but I was still disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Marti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We thank you for your review and appreciate your wonderful compliments for our staff. I was sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with your accommodations and wish we had known about this while you were here. We would have done everything possible to make certain you enjoyed your guestroom. As you may know, a major renovation of our guestrooms will begin later this month. We hope you will return to experience the new/fresh look. Thank you for selecting us for your recent visit to Santa Barbara and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our stay here at Fess Parker was outstanding. You can't beat the location and the bar had a piano player so we were able to enjoy a late night dinner and drink while enjoying the piano music. On Sunday's they have an Arts and Crafts festival right across the street which was open all day. The food at the hotel on both occasions exceeded our expectation. It was fresh, plenty to choose from and the service was very attentive. Ample parking, too. Looking forward the next visit to Fess Parker.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The entire staff made you feel as if they were there for you. The room was over the top and the view was breathtaking. The pool and poolside service was the best ever. This truly was a special place to celebrate our 49th anniversary. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Raymond F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, beautifully landscaped, the concept is great! however, the rooms need updating ASAP, the terraces need to be cleaned. I tried to sit outside in my "terrace" but it was dirty, with spiders, the chairs had animal poop on them, so it wasn't nice. The beds and bathroom were clean, but the carpet was torn, and things stained. Rating cleanliness is hard because the room was clean but the balcony/terrace was filthy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank jua c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This place is almost very good but it just manages to fall short. It is in a very good location to be able to walk to the centre of town (about 20 minutes away on foot). The hotel is big and spread out. We booked the cheapest type of room which were 'Mountain View' - yes we could see mountains in the distance but that really meant we could see the car park, the railroad tracks and some run down small factories. our room was very large and comfortable but needed refurbishing. My wife coughed a lot so we checked behind the bed and there was a large amount of dust collected there. The swimming pool area is far too small for the size of the hotel its crowded and noisy and if you get there late chances are there is nowhere to sit. However, the poolside food and associated service was excellent! We ate breakfast each day as we had vouchers - my overriding impression was that they seemed very disorganised which means one does not have a relaxing time, also at times the buffet food was cold. It would not take much effort on behalf of management to pull the overall experience a notch or two

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidHKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#15 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.3 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Property: The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing