We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good fit for large groups/ families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, good fit for large groups/ families”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Beautiful location and convenient tot he major sights of Santa Barbara - right on the beach, a short drive to shopping and restaurants, 40 min drive to Santa Ynez Valley wineries. Staff and service excellent, pool is perfect temperature and great for kids. Only complaint is that the rooms are out-dated and in need of a facelift. Clean, however :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of our resort! We appreciate the detailed description and information you provided the Trip Advisor followers regarding the resort and Santa Barbara area. As you may have noticed, we have plans in place for a major guestroom and corridor renovation project scheduled to start very soon. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    1,008
    653
    321
    142
See reviews for
1,071
1,108
93
536
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very disappointed. Although location is excellent., the rooms were shabby, needs new carpets including the passages. Service not good. Breakfast adequate. Far too expensive for what we expected. Will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 061837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

You seriously can not beat the location of this hotel, but you will pay for it (pricey)..... Its right across the street from the beach, down the street from the pier, state street, and the marina. So much is within walking distance. The hotel is beautiful inside/out. Our room although large, was really nothing spectacular. One thing a little frusterating was that the mini fridge was jammed packed with so many $5 drinks and kept at only a cool temp-not very cold. In order to use it we had to unload it. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. The staff was all very friendly and willing to assist. It was nice to be able to rent a 4 seater bike right at the hotel. Our kids loved it. We choose to eat elsewhere due to the restaurant/cafe being ridiculously expensive. Plenty of good affordable restaurants right down the street.

Room Tip: Due to the noise and length of time spent by guests at the pool, i'd suggest a room away not fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMSALYMAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We recently spent one night at this property. The rooms are definitely "tired", but it has a nice location and the grounds are beautiful. My major complaint was the lobby bar - kind of nice in the sense that you can watch Fess Parker on the screen up on the wall while enjoying a drink - but be sure and check your bar tab. I ordered a scotch on the rocks - on the menu for $16.00. They billed me $17.50! I went up and spoke with the bartender and my waiter - they said that the extra $1.50 was added because I ordered my drink "on the rocks" which - get this now - they said required an "extra pour" because of the ice! What?????

I asked to speak with the Food & Beverage Director then - who was "not available". Same story next morning when I checked out. I did speak with the Hotel Director and he agreed with me that the charge was completely "bizarre" and that he would credit me. I did not ask for the credit and just explained that the F&B Director should be questioned and asked to explain why customers are being charged $1.50 for ice in a drink. Crazy. Will not be back - and I think that Fess would have a fit .............

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JD1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed the location, the grounds and newest addition, the Fess Parker movies in our lobby bar "The Set". However, we do apologize for the confusion with the scotch on the rocks order. The extra is not for the ice but for the extra amount of scotch. When the order is on the rocks it is not the regular shot but an extra amount. I have already discussed this with our Director of Food and Beverage and I am certain he will work with the team regarding a seamless way to make our guests aware. We appreicate your input and hope you will reconsider and return to experience our remodeled guestrooms, a project that will begin soon, and give us a chance to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Location could not be better. Right on the beach in Santa Barbara, with a well-designed property that takes great advantage of it. The facilities like bars and restaurants provide great seating and views as well. Hanging out, enjoying the sun, sipping a drink and taking in all the Santa Barbara has to offer.

The staff is beyond incompetent. A 4p guaranteed reservation was delivered past 4:30. When asked a 4:05 "what does guarantee mean?" the response was "..why are you so upset? it's an honest mistake?" Thats what I want as an HHonors Diamond member. A poorly trained and rude girl treating me like I'm one of her friends. Good job Fess Parker. Way to train your staff!! At least you're consistent, because all 4 front desk folks I tried to get service from were equally worthless.

I would not recommend this property to any HHonors member used to treatment equivalent to your level. If you want to make some new friends with the staff and have them treat you like crap, this is the place for you.

Oh yeah, last kick in the pants... They screwed up the billing, deducting points from my account and still charging me full room rate. Ugh, is there anything below 1 star for service?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lexxdawg1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues at the front desk that you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were in town for my birthday and a wine tasting event at one of the museums. We stayed at Fess Parker, using a friends mileage points. We had a great time, it was the perfect place for us to chill out. We didn't have a chance to take full advantage of the property unfortunately but our room did not feel outdated or beaten down. We had a first floor room in the Azalea building, which had a nice patio for us to sit outside on and continue to enjoy more wine and a birthday celebration. The pool was really busy, but it didn't stop us from enjoying it. The complimentary buffet the next morning was also really good. There isn't much in the way of restaurants within walking distance, but there is a great Mexican restaurant - Taquiera el Bajio - a short drive away. Can't beat the location, beach and freeway friendly.

Room Tip: Try and get one on the ground floor. Great patios to enjoy time outside. Especially since some of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bchgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for selecting our resort for your birthday celebration. I was so pleased to read your review. It is very satisfying to know that you enjoyed your time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Spent 4th of July weekend at property with 3 rooms in total. All of the inside "soft goods" in the rooms were showing some "wear and tear" and the property is apparently planning a significant refresh sometime soon. Overall, the property has "great bones" and the remodel will add a star or two to the rating. The location is fantastic, close enough to the Wharf and Harbor that you can easily walk to both, but far enough away that you aren't in the middle of all the tourist traffic. Felt a bit pricey at the moment based on the normal "Doubletree" price point. However, it was a prime location on a huge holiday weekend so I was willing to pay up to get whole family on property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,050 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,401 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
138 reviews
1.3 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,241 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Property: The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing