We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but ready for tune-up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Spent 4th of July weekend at property with 3 rooms in total. All of the inside "soft goods" in the rooms were showing some "wear and tear" and the property is apparently planning a significant refresh sometime soon. Overall, the property has "great bones" and the remodel will add a star or two to the rating. The location is fantastic, close enough to the Wharf and Harbor that you can easily walk to both, but far enough away that you aren't in the middle of all the tourist traffic. Felt a bit pricey at the moment based on the normal "Doubletree" price point. However, it was a prime location on a huge holiday weekend so I was willing to pay up to get whole family on property.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,279 - 2,285 of 3,381 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

I made reservations for 3 rooms for a one night stay in Santa Barbara July 3, 2013 for my family. The rooms were on the first floor, 155, 157, 159. They were old, poor lighting in room, musty, air condition didn't work in one room, these rooms were not worth what I paid. I know the Hotel is aware of the problems we complained about. These rooms really need updating. I was embarrassed, for me and my family. The outside of the Hotel is lovely, the grounds are lovely the staff is nice, the pool is lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel felt a little tired. Our room was definitely very tired. We booked a suite as we had our family from Denver, Phoenix and Texas staying at the hotel as well. The bar refrigerator was not functional - it had 4 inches of ice outside the "freezer" section. When I called to get it replaced, they suggested I turn down the temperature. I said I could do that if they wanted water all over. The door would not even close. The situation remained - even tho' I spoke with someone again.

Additionally, when the family went to the hot tub at night, there were people from outside the hotel using the facility - brought their own cooler and were making burritos etc at the pool. There did not seem to be anyone to manage who actually uses the facility.

The staff we did meet were quite friendly. The best part of the hotel is the location. Perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Horrible place! It feel like and smells like a highway motel! Trashy place and they charge you for parking! Don't go ! The staff was nice and admitted the flaws of the hotel but were not accommodating and they charge for park! Stay away

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubik88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

We're very sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience at our hotel. Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us and we apologize for letting you down during your stay. We'd also like to apologize if you were not made aware of the parking charge at your time of booking. We will keep your feedback in mind as we continue to improve our guest experience. We hope that you'll give us another chance if your travels bring you back to our area in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

To say this place is dated is a compliment. Upholstery is torn, caulking is old and cracked. Rusted metal vents. Stained carpets, as if the stains are the pattern. Broken coffee maker. Heater that does not heat, and a front desk girl who basically says it does and doesnt offer to help. Have you ever been to a restaurant in which the hostesses were a bunch of junior high school girls who clearly didn't know much about customer service and tried to act grown up? Well that is this place. When i get more time, I'll update more specifics later and to save Hilton honors members something more detailed on flyer talk.com, and may get other comments. One more thing,not all ocean views are equal here, and you may not get bang for your buck. Good thing there was no plan to relax in the room.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank phototrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our hotel's appearance and we'd also like to apologize for the malfunctioning coffee maker and heating unit. We will be sure to report those to our maintenance staff immediately. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep all of your comments in mind while we work to improve our overall guest experience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon if your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed on a Monday night and the hotel was uncrowded. Nicely landscaped property. Generously sized guest room with 2 queen beds; very comfortable. Nice touches such as a putting green and shuffleboard. Only real downside was the dining option for dinner. The only option was the restaurant at the bar, which had a limited (and expensive) menu. When we asked the front desk for a dinner recommendation, we received a bum steer to a restaurant that didn't have an appropriate menu for kids. Fortunately, there are enough restaurants in town that we found our own way.

Room Tip: Second floor is walk up only.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank bjp941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Fess Parker Double Tree for years, and it has always been our favorite place in Santa Barbara. Our most recent trip, however, was extremely disappointing. First, for a holiday week, they only had two employees checking people in and the process was very slow. Second, our room was not ready, which was not unexpected because we arrive around 2:00. We said we would walk around town, and they said they would call us when the room was ready, hold our luggage and put our bags in our room when it was ready. They never called. We returned to the hotel around 7:30, our room was ready, but our bags were not in our room. Our biggest issue is that we paid $600+ a night for 4 nights for a suite, and the room was on the 1st floor (they said they were full and had no other rooms), on the other side of the laundry room, with the ice machine outside our door, and next to the pool and a major traffic way. We had to keep the blinds closed most of the time because of all of the people walking by. We actually had someone walk on to our patio and take a chair. The noise (screaming kids) outside our room at the pool was very annoying. We ate one night at the buffet because it was July 4th and everything else was closed. I am not a buffet fan and normally would avoid it like the plague. I watched numerous children walk up and touch food, put it back and take something else, or lick their fingers and touch something else. While it is the parents responsibility to watch their kids, many don't. The hotel should have someone monitoring the serving table to deter this. In all fairness, the room although tired, was clean. I am returning to FP in a few weeks for another stay: I already had the reservation. If it isn't any better, it will be my last stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelgoer731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

First, we sincerely apologize for the unfortunate incidents that occurred during your most recent visit to our resort. There is just no excuse for our failure to provide you with the outstanding level of customer service you have experienced in the past and deserve. We also want to thank you for mentioning specific information that will be helpful to our management team. We constantly strive to improve and the feedback from our guests is important. Finally, we thank you for your business and for giving us another opportunity to serve you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and will do everything possible to ensure your stay is enjoyable and memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,474 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
160 reviews
1.3 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $204 - $613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing