We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We spent a night here as part of our tour around California, unfortunately it coincided with the Tour of California cycle race that arrived at the hotel the same time we did. Because of the bike race, the traffic around the hotel was completely grid-locked and after a 11 hr flight from the UK, 90 minutes to get through US border control and then 3 hr drive to Santa Barbara from LA due to the traffic, to then take another hour to get close to the hotel and get in to the full parking lot perhaps we were not in the best of spirits when we arrived. It would have been nice if the hotel had placed something on their website advising potential traffic issues as well as the fact the hotel would be completely over run with the bike race competitors and organizers. We would have chosen to stay else where just so we had an enjoyable 1st night of our vacation.

the room we were given was pretty big, and well appointed, the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom again was sizable with a very nice shower and Spa bath. One area of concern was no matter what light switch we found on the walls, we could not light the entrance way to the room, not normally an issue, but with the layout of the room, we did walk in to some of the furniture a few times.

We ate and drank in the hotel bar, we found the food to be of good quality and the selection of drinks very nice. Our server was very friendly and gave us good service. Breakfast was a different matter, i do find it incredible that even though you are given free of charge breakfast vouchers for a buffet breakfast that the serving staff still expect a large tip for doing nothing than bringing a glass of OJ to the table, especially in this case, our server hardly acknowledged us, when asked a question we got 'grunts' in response.

Overall i did like this hotel for a 1 night stay, it didn't appear to be anything special, but after such a long day travelling, perhaps we were not as objective as we could be.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chunky-M0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

We want to thank you for your candid review of your stay at our resort and apologize for the inconvenience and frustration created by the Tour of California Cycle Race. We were under the impression the brief closing of the street in front of the resort would not interfere with our guest's arrival. We will certainly keep your recommendation to post information on our website, if the City of Santa Barbara should decide to welcome this event again in the future. If your plans include a return trip to our area, we hope you will consider giving us another chance to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,350 - 2,356 of 3,404 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

The only good thing I can say about this hotel is, it has a great location in Santa Barbara. Overall I found the hotel dirty and the staff dis-interested. I travel frequently for business and this Hotel was way below Hilton's quality level.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
3  Thank Nora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for your candid feedback of your stay at our hotel. We are very sorry that we did not meet expectations and we’re actively working with our housekeeping team to focus on cleanliness and comfort throughout our property. We have noted the level of cleanliness you experienced. We’ll keep your concerns in mind as we evaluate refresh options at our property. Thank you again, and we hope you’ll stay with us the next time your travels bring you back to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I was shocked by the room. The upholstery was not only dated but it was frayed and dirty - the furniture matched the rug. The bathroom was 1960's at best. I waited outside our room for another couple that was staying there and when I looked up at the hallway light.... the cobwebs were the best thing I saw as the hall light were filthy. The location was great, the grounds are okay - trains run frequently and loudly thru the back of the property where many rooms face. I was shocked that this was a Hilton. Never again. The place was crowded - have to think it was location, location, location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for your candid feedback of your stay at our hotel. We are very sorry that we did not meet expectations and we’re actively working with our housekeeping team to focus on cleanliness and comfort throughout our property. New perspectives about our hotel and the appearance of our guest rooms help us make improvements to our overall guest experience on an ongoing basis. We’ll keep your concerns in mind as we evaluate refresh options at our property. Thank you again, and we hope you’ll stay with us the next time your travels bring you back to Santa Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have always loved this property and this time was no different. We did have shower issues that did not get fixed although they tried. We had to ask 4 times for an umbrella on our Suite patio which finally did arrive on our last day there. Overall we loved our stay again and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Checked in at the fess Parker and was provided fresh cookies as well as bottled water as hhonors gold arrival gift. 3rd breakfast voucher was given out as well though one is only entitled to two per room. Very nice touch... Pool area as well as gardens are nicely maintained. To access the beach one has to cross a road which is the only drawback of the property. I can very well see myself coming back for more than a night!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Tim289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is my hotel of choice when I am in Santa Barbara. It has a welcoming, professional staff, THE most comfortable beds, great pool, amazing restaurants, easy access to the beach and is close to downtown. If you are there on a Sunday, walk across the street to wander through the local artists selling their goods.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Marni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. The details and description you provided will be very helpful to anyone considering our resort for a stay in Santa Barbara. We hope you will have the opportunity to return soon. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Santa Barbara and the resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I spent a week at this hotel while in the area on business. It was a great hotel and I hope I get to come back for pleasure. The staff was very friendly and professional. The grounds are beautifully kept. The guest rooms are fine, but don't seem to have the same attention to detail that the landscaping has. No complaints, just seems like more care is given to the outside. The breakfast buffet quality and variety was very good. I ate dinner at the bar one night and it was very good too. Try the Fess Parker Pinot! I didn't have dinner at the restaurant but a colleague said it was excellent but pricey. The bar has outdoor seating with a fire pit that is nice when it isn't too cold. The hotel is a very beautiful property across from the beach and only a block from the wharf/pier. Easy walk to restaurants, the beach, and adjacent park.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank 48Buddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for taking to the time to provide the details regarding your recent stay. We appreciate your compliments and suggestions very much and thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,092 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,495 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#21 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $198 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing