We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth Visit a Disappointment!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Oakland, Ca
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fourth Visit a Disappointment!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have traveled to this lovely hotel a number of times and have usually been very satisfied. We enjoy the rooms in the main building that have a lovely view of the ocean right across the street. We requested one of those rooms and although we were in that section, our room also overlooked a large, messy industrial area of the hotel (mechanical repairs, etc.). This was very unsightly and took away from the beauty of the view. There was also a loud air system near this area that went on and off 24 hrs and was very noisy. This was the New Year's holiday and although we did expect some celebratory noise, we did not expect to be situated between a large family in multiple rooms with kids that ran up and down the halls screaming between the rooms. Surely this family would have preferred being next to each other and not on either side of a couple celebrating their anniversary! The staff, although nice, seemed confused about what they were doing at the hotel for New Year's Eve. We were told many times that nothing was occurring and made other plans. Upon our return that evening, we found live music and champagne toasts in the public lounge. We would have rather spent some time and money there! But this is a lovely property with beautiful grounds, great views and very polite staff. Unfortunately for this week, it seemed like management had take the week off!

Room Tip: If you're in the main building, request one of the rooms near the lobby and not down at the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lwolff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
First, I want to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Santa Barbara. However, I was very disappointed to learn that your stay was not as enjoyable as it should have been and apologize for the confusion. Your constructive criticism will be helpful as a learning tool for our staff and assist us in improving the service to our guests. I hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to enjoy a much better experience in the guestroom you prefer. Your suggestions will certainly help our future guests provide details as they make their reservation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    1,009
    654
    323
    142
See reviews for
1,073
1,109
94
536
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here before and had great service. This time we were "upgraded" to a garden view, in room 862. We were next to the housekeeping room and the noise began with doors banging at 8 am. Very bothersome location. Otherwise a great place. The manager did take off our parking charges.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kekilme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are very pleased that you selected our resort for your return trip to Santa Barbara. I am very sorry that the upgrade our team provided didn't work out as well as it should have. I wish I had known about this while you were here, we would have made certain you enjoyed your accommodations. For any future reservations, our reservations team will be happy to provide you with a room in a very quiet area of the resort. Again, thank you and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

good location, reception offered free self parking and threw in breakfast in the rate. Huge hotel. really wide hallways , Big rooms. This hotel would have been excellent around 20 years ago but looks like that hasn't been any money spent on it since. Getting abit tired. No free WIFE in the rooms, only in reception. Big bedroom, 2 queen beds suitable for family of 4. Staff excellent, very welcoming. Breakfast service ( Angel ??? ) excellent. Would stay here again as it was good value for what we got.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kivapierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We appreciate your candid comments and your compliments about the service you received from our staff during your stay with us. We are very pleased that you plan to return and want you to know that a major renovation is in the planning process right now and will begin later this year. We look forawrd to welcoming you back and hope you enjoy the improvements we will be making to our guestrooms. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is our 3rd time here for a quick up the coast stay from Los Angeles. We came here for New Years Eve and an extra couple of days. While the hotel is perfectly situated across the beach there is not much else positive to say about it. After two so so stays, we thought, 3rd time's the charm right? Well no, sadly. To start, we made a reservation in the 'upscale' restaurant' for dinner NYE at 9:30. It was booked accordingly by the concierge, then unbooked one hour later by the restaurant manager. It was back on after the hotel manager, the restaurant manager and the concierge conversed to make sure we were accommodated! Once there, we had to ask for someone to come over and wait on us -most of the wait staff, including the on-duty manager, were at the bar talking. We were told they were really busy - yet the restaurant was 3/4's full and no one was at the bar! The food is sub-par. It seemed clear to us that, on NYE, they were anxious to close! At 9:30 on NYE! The other bar/restaurant was no better. Slow/no service and not the 'jazz' band we were told would be there to ring in the new year (let's just say it was two guys with a keyboard and drums?). The 'mexican' restaurant across the way in the hotel was also closed. The Food and Beverage area at this hotel needs so much work. There is so much potential here and the impact of much needed updating and changes would be so beneficial. (the outdoor rotunda would be amazing as an outdoor dining area yet it sits unused). As for our room, it was not cleaned at all after the first day. Carpets and tables were left alone. Only the beds were made. After cleaning, we took out our used glassware to the housekeeping lady across the hall and had to call front desk to get replacements as she did not have it. It's a shame this hotel has fallen in so many areas. Perhaps we are expecting too much. Our hope is that the hotel gets a revamp soon so we can enjoy it on our next trip up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aurevoir427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday in Santa Barbara. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your experience due to staff service and cleanliness issues. Our goal is to always provide a memorable experience for our guests and we regret that we missed the mark with your stay. We thank you for your feedback and will use this as a learning tool for our staff as we work to improve the service to our guests. We hope you will consider giving us another chance to serve you and see how we have improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We're back from our semi-annual Christmas at the Fess Park in Santa Barbara. What a beautiful hotel. It isn't very often anymmore that you get to enjoy acres of beautifully lanscaped grounds with ocean frontage; pool, tennis courts, and walking paths. The rooms are very large, and ocean front means the Pacific is across the street. They are dog friendly, so our whole "family" got to go.

We had Christmas dinner at Rodney's Steakhouse and it was superb. Roasted turkey with stuffing for me, and prime rib for my wife. And the atmosphere and food in both the the Cafe Los Arcos (crab cake eggs benedict!) and the Barra Los Arcos (bar) was great too. We had wine outside with our dogs, looking at the Pacific and people watching. Next night pasta and watching football bowl games inside.

Staff and service were some of the best we've experienced, anywhere. Everyone had a smile, kind word, and took care of what you needed. Seneca was terrific in the bar and Amelia is now our favorite food server just about anywhere. We look forward to making this an annual trip for the holidays. The rates are great between Christmas and New Years.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, perhaps a courtyard view rather than mountains is a better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredOCSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We travelled there over Christmas while visiting family in the area. We were in the Bougainvillea building at the far north end of the property. Our room had not been updated for a very long time. We had a peek-a-boo view of the ocean from our balcony. Though everything was clean we felt for the price we paid we were gouged. A large maintenance yard (work started at 6:15 AM, with trucks backing up and beeping every 30 seconds until 9 AM) and the railroad tracks were adjacent to our building. That was pleasant! The lobby area was very nice and well decorated for the season and at check-in we were given a bottle of water and a warm cookie due to our Hilton Honors status. Small consolation for what we would consider a poor choice of accommodation.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2newlyretireds2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We appreciate the feedback you provided regarding your recent stay with us during the holidays and sincerely apologize that you were disappointed with the accommodations. It is our goal to always make guests feel at home, especially during the holidays. We do want you to know that a major renovation project is in the planning stages now and will begin soon. We hope you will consider returning to experience the new guestrooms and corridors and give us the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagamihara, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Room is big and modern style interior is very nice. 2 beds are fantastic. Small desk and a love seat. 42-inch LG flat TV and dresser is nice, too. All interior design looks refine, indeed. Room is about $250 a night for 2, we spend. There is 5-Star Four-Season Hotel in Santa Barbara, but money you invest for Double Tree Hotel here is worth it. Services are very good, if you need or complain about anything about room and hotel, call them, they response to you with respect. What I see negative side of room is "Wear and Tear" everywhere. Rug, dresser, bathroom and so on. Worst one was the heater. It is very noisy and air blow too strong that there is only one setting for air control. Air blow my face when I lay down on a bed. And it takes so long to warm up the room, even I set temperature for 74. Good news all that is, I understand they will remodel and upgrade entire rooms and interior design in 2013. I don't know the date of construction. Call the hotel and make a reservation after the remodel and upgrade is done. I bet room will be beautiful. (Personally, I hope they replace a bigger TV screen, such as 55-inch instead of 42-inch. And HIgh Definition service would be nice.)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarShine80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,051 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,406 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
140 reviews
1.3 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,241 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Property: The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing