We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort
Nearby Hotels
Santa Barbara Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Spanish Garden Inn(Santa Barbara)
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara Downtown(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$229
$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kimpton Canary Hotel(Santa Barbara)
$288
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$265
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Franciscan Inn & Suites(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wayfarer(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$227
$164
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,533)
Filter reviews
3,533 results
Traveler rating
1,249
1,070
693
352
169
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,249
1,070
693
352
169
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetocean viewdouble treebreakfast buffetwarm cookiestennis courtsstate streetnice propertybeautiful groundsmain buildingrooms are largenice poolwine tastingroad tripconferencepatiopier
Filter
Updating list...
2,646 - 2,651 of 3,533 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in this hotel only for 1 night unfortunately, as part of a road trip in California. We still had time to enjoy the pool and jacuzzi and the beach right opposite the hotel, but we would have loved to stay there longer. The hotel is huge and the rooms are really big too, with a balcony, 2 large beds and a big bathroom with bath.

It's a beautiful luxury resort with high standard and very good services. As most people mentioned the cookies offered at reception when you arrive are delicious, and the staff is really helpful. I would definitely recommend staying there to anyone visiting Santa Barbara. The location is perfect right at the beach and the city centre is within walking distance. It seems expensive but we managed to get it half price as part of a Hilton sale, so definitely shop around and you'll find good rates for this beautiful resort!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fanny2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

This is a difficult hotel to review. It's a massive complex and it's difficult to know what such an enormous reception area can achieve. Its lavish but not homely. The rooms are pretty good, if a little tired. The breakfast excellent. The location is as close to town as a mega complex could get. Room rates are expensive. The $19 plus tax charge to park in the biggest lot in Santa Barbara is offensive. The overall impression is that this is a building to big to be a hotel. It wants to be a resort - but it's not. It's an ideal conference centre, if only it could find a big enough conference.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julianfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our resort. A major renovation project is in the planning stage and includes all guestrooms and corridors. It is true the property is unique. . . designed to host large conferences and at the same time offer the amenities and recreation facilities that our leisure guests expect. Again, thank you for providing your candid comments. The feedback from our guests is extremely helpful to us and to anyone considering our property for a visit to Santa Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

There for a conference and I would highly recommend conference services and facility. Lovely hotel, incredible staff, the food was fantastic.Easy walk to the beach and gorgeous beach view from the outside patio(s). As a conference attendee, the rate was as expected and in line with the quality of the room, food, etc. The room was a bit dark but no complaints as it was very comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trottindaglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

We appreciate your very kind compliments about the resort and service you received during your recent stay and hope you have the opportunity to come back to visit us real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

After reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor I really was excepting a lot less from one of the most famous hotels in Santa Barbara. I am glad to say we were pleasantly surprised! The location is so perfect right across from the beach and a short walk to the wharf.Check in went smooth. They even let us changed our room to one with a nicer view. Friendly and helpful. You have to love those warm chocolate chip cookies after a long drive. The room was clean and updated with plenty of space. Pretty views of the pool and gardens. Very comfortable. I would probably skip the the downstairs bar.Very relaxing outside patio area but not the nicest staff we encountered. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CruzView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your candid remarks about the service you received on the patio at Barra Los Arcos. I have already reviewed this with our Director of Food & Beverage. Your valuable input will assist us in improving the service to our guests. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Used my points to stay for a long weekend. Staff is over the top helpful. Picked us up from the train station. Rooms are nice. I am not sure how to advise on value since my stay is free, but I would think the service and tremendous location make this hotel a safe bet. There is a bus that will take you to State Street for 50 cents outside of the hotel. However, if you are a walker, State street is a reasonable distance.

Slight downsides are the property is huge, so your room may be very far from the lobby. If you or someone else has mobility problems, bring this up at check in. The other glitch is that we only had two towels upon check in. After a call, more were delivered. My room did not have a refrigerator. There is a Trader Joe's nearby, but I could not buy anything that needed to be refrigerated. Breakfast was free for me, but it is very pricey for those who pay. Did not think it was worth the price advertised.

Again, it is the people that make this place!

Room Tip: Again, it is a large property. If you want to be close to the lobby, make sure you state this.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews