We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is not everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location is not everything”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel itself has basically a fantastic location at the seawalk of Santa Barbara close to the wharf, the marina and downtown. Unfortunately many rooms face the mountains and you will find an uninviting environment with close by train tracks, industrial zone with lots of construction activities and the main parking lot of the hotel. As we had already a not so pleasent experience at this hotel a year ago this time we asked for a room on the upper level to the ocean side (more than 6 months in advance for 7 nights!). When we arrived they had only a room in a 2nd floor to the industrial zone directly besides the main access to the hotel entrance. It can't be worse. The rooms and the amentities are a bit run down and outdated compared to what the hotel claims to be, which at present is only reflected by the high price.
After this experience for the next years convention we will look for someting better.

Room Tip: Avoid the mountain side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Germanix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay with our hotel. We are very sorry that the guestroom did not meet your expectations, since the comfort and safety of our guests is our highest priority. While we can't meet room type requests every time, we have shared your comments with our front desk team so they are aware of the situation. Your feedback regarding the presentation ofr our guest rooms and property will also be kept in mind when we update our property. We hope you will consider giving us another try, if your plans include a visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    985
    640
    304
    139
See reviews for
1,029
1,081
90
532
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our one year old lab/mix. We were looking for a dog friendly hotel close to Santa Ynez for wine tasting. The grounds are perfect for dog walking and the hotel restaurant with outdoor patio was perfect for dining with the dog. It was a warm lovely evening and we sat by the patio fire pit and ate a lovely dinner. The jacuzzi was a great way to start the day and the pool was lovely (although we took turns so as not to leave the dog alone in the room). We stayed on a Sunday night and the grounds were very quiet. The best part was that management upgraded our room to an ocean view with a spacious patio. It was my birthday and I was grateful for the upgrade. We didn't interact much with staff but we're very happy with our choice. It's not the Biltmore, but you get a lot here for what you pay for. We will stay again! Room service breakfast was outstanding too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 72Teri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We are so pleased you selected our resort for your birthday celebration! Thank you for the details you provided that will surely help our friends with pets when they are considering our resort for their visit to Santa Barbara. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here - four of us - overnight on a recent holiday. The hotel is impressive, very spacious and well located. We were given a room upgrade upon arrival with superb ocean views. The room was very spacious and clean. The staff were great with suugestions for dinner and even picked us up from the restaurant after dinner - thank you for the splendid service. They also made a great suggestion for breakfast. All in all, a great place to stay in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teerex100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for selecting Fess Parker's Doubletree Resort for your holiday stay in Santa Barbara.
I was very pleased to read that our team provided you with the outstanding level of service we strive so hard to provide each and everyone of our guests. We greatly appreciate your compliments and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Beautiful setting. Great location. Less than stellar housekeeping. Great service from front desk. The heavy wooden sliding doors kept coming off the track. Maintenance responded quickly, but what an annoyance to deal with. Breakfast buffet was good. Went down the street to the Hyatt for Happy Hour, which is a great deal. Probaly would stay here again if I got a deal, but was not blown away by our experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eubie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review of our resort. It's great to know you enjoyed our location, breakfast buffet and service from our front desk team. I do want to apologize for the problem you experienced with the sliding door. We want you to know plans for a major guestroom and corridor renovation are underway and the project will begin in 2013. We hope you will consider us for any future visits to our area. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Santa Barbara and the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary. We were given the romance package. The room was a suite, big and the bed was comfortable but dated. I expected for the money we'd have a pillow top bed at least. The sliding door to the patio was so hard to slide we barely could. Maintenance needs to repair it. The windows were not clean but rather cloudy. The plant in our room was half dead so I gave it some water myself. The couch had snags in the upholstery. Our room came with a large spa tub. The service was very nice and courteous but the rooms need a little TLC. Short walk to the beach. Nice stay overall.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We appreciate your candid comments and will have our maintenance team check the sliding doors in our suites. I apologize that our staff did not catch this prior to your arrival and thank you for giving me the opportunity to use your remarks as a learning tool for our staff. I hope you will consider us for any future trips to Santa Barbara and will give us the opportunity to not only meet by exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

By far I think this is the best hotel in town. Perfect location across from the beach and for the price it is not bad considering where it is. The grounds are nice, tennis courts and pool areas are great! The fitness center has the latest equipment and roomy enough to workout in. Parking is plenty and reasonably quiet despite being next to a major street.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the upper floors its quieter. Upper floors give you a better view of the grounds a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BedBuggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is in a great location. Other than that, it was a poor performance. This was my first visit to Santa Barbara and the Fess Parker. My guess is that when you have such a large hotel the service goes out the window. The concierge was not helpful. They never called me about the information I requested. They didn't tell me there was a waterfront bus when I told them I was looking for something to do with my two kids while my wife was busy with the car. I walked almost a mile to the pier with my 4 year old and carrying my 2 year old. I'm glad I stopped by the visitor center so they could inform me of the bus or i would have walked back after visiting the pier and Sea Center .No room service between 11:00 am and 5;00 pm, even though the menus in the room say all day in room dining. The shower handle fell off and we had to wait for the repairman to come and fix it. The bar that locks the sliding door in our room would not lock in place, so every time we opened or closed the sliding door to our patio it would fall down and hit the floor. My two year old son had it fall and hit him in the head right after we got into our room. The wifi that cost an extra $15.99 was very slow. The service at the bar was slow. They claim to be child friendly, but they are not. It just seemed that most of the people working here (concierge, bartender, restaurant employees) didn't want to be bothered. They were very smug. The area is very beautiful and the location was great, but I will never stay at this hotel again. It was a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chunter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. We are very sorry your experience at our property wasn't up to our usual high standards. We have addressed the problems you mentioned with the appropriate manager and team members. Thank you for alerting us to this issue and we hope you will give us another chance to better serve you, if you have the opportunity to return to Santa Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,334 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,019 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
111 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Property: The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing