We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Area, Nice Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This property is pretty. It's right across the street from the beach and it has a backdrop of the mountains. Upon driving up to the valet, the Fess Parker has a beatiful entrance. We had a ocean-view room. It was pretty, had a patio to eat breakfast or just people watch. The screen door fell off when I tried to close the screen door. The two sinks in the room were slow draining. We called the front desk to fix it, they said they would send an engineer, but not sure if they ever did because the problem continued. The pool was open for only one of the days we were staying. We used it for 20 minutes. It had perfect water temp, though. And the jacuzzi was awesome. But then they drained the pool that evening to do some end of summer repair work. Even though it was a nice place, had a decent room, bed too soft. I just don't get the price. I think it's overpriced. For that matter, I don't get why anyone would pay 300 for a room regardless, when you don't even spend time in the room but to sleep. We were there for a wedding. The outdoor area for the wedding is outstanding, just what I'd imagined a beach setting would be like. The area has grand archways that open up to a backdrop of the ocean. Cocktail hour was at the top of archway/wall. Again, superior location for wedding. The reception was in one of the banquet rooms next to the outdoor patio. It was nice to move indoors after cocktail hour. The room was laid out thoughtfully, and with each location there was a seamless transition from one place to the next. We would have stayed for a few days after the wedding had they honored the block of rooms price, but I guess they'd rather have an empty room, than sell a room. It was end of summer afterall. We had brunch in the hotel, and the bread pudding is awesome. Skip the french toast and get the bread pudding instead. I did love their soap and shampoo/conditioners. Though they only gave us one bar. But the housekeeping cart seemed to be parked right outside our room most of the time; so I helped my self to an extra soap. I figure for 300 bucks and up a night, they can give me 2 soaps. There is also a beach-front trail for runners and it has a well-equiped gym. A must for us.

Room Tip: If you like using the gym, as we do, the gym is in the main building; so get a room in the main buil...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CADK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you very much for your extensive and detailed review of our resort. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful location and the venue for the wedding. I apologize, however, for maintenance issue in the guestroom. We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to Santa Barbara and the resort real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,355)
There are newer reviews for The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,508 - 2,514 of 3,356 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

What can I say but this hotel is beautiful! Location, staff, service! Santa Barbara is such a warm, welcoming place! From our tour of California this was our favourite. We all loved watching the skateboarders on the seafront in the skatepark. RestaurAnt on pier is delicious. Couldn't fault a thing.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wellsbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Beautiful hotel, beautiful grounds, nice rooms, nice people, but management lacks the I"M SORRY WE MESSED UP page in their employee handbook.

Tried for over 20 minutes to order room service....finally got through...called front desk and ask for a manager...NOT helpful at all...even passed us off to the In Room dinning manager...WHO was far more helpful and full of I"M SORRYS ..even sent us a bottle of wine to make it up.

Our poor rating is mainly for the hotel manager...MORE TRAINING NEEDED HERE!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank dkillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

We again thank you for bringing this very important issue to our attention and for giving us the opportunity to discuss this with the appropriate parties on our team. I hope that the phone call from our Director of Food & Beverage and his follow up with you is helpful. I want to personally apologize for the inconvenience and frustration as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed here for a girls wine weekend getaway and let me just say....save your money and stay somewhere else. It is not worth the price!!! The resort is in bad need of a facelift and mush better amenities for what they charge. I wil not stay there again!

Stayed: September 2012
3  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are very sorry you had an unsatisfactory experience during your time here. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we will be using it as we update our amentities to better accommodate guests. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The good thing about this hotel is its location. Big rooms with old furniture and smelly. Santa Barbara is one the holiday destinations in California. You may ignore some disturbing features of hotel since you are in S Barbara, but mosquitos never let you forget it. Hilton should think twice to keep its name there. Breakfast is a bad expreince too. Compared to your payment you get less at breakfast. Some staff is very polite. It is another good thing to remember.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levend E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. We appreciate your candid review of our property. new perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience from guest rooms to breakfast on an ongoing basis. Please feel free to share any additional comments or suggestions with us any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for five nights while attending a national conference. Excellent hotel, outstanding staff and service. Very inviting grounds and surroundings.It is an easy walk to downtown Santa Barbara and to the pier. The local shuttle service is very inexpensive if you don't want to walk. We will return to the Fess Parker. Can't miss with this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view room on second or third floor, best views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

We are very grateful for your wonderful review of our resort. Thank you so much.
Look forward to welcoming you back real soon!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hotel's location is great, right on the beach. The rooms were decent sized. No major complains - upon check in my room was not ready so they gave us drink coupons. Also one night we ordered room service and over 2 hours later I had to call back. They claimed that the food was ready but they didn't know what room it belonged to (?). So they remade it and didn't charge - so I guess not a huge complaint just a little annoying for the price paid.
We valet parked but ended up self parking two nights since it is just as convenient.

Room Tip: I would advise getting an ocean view room. The location is just about the nicest thing about the ho...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahmad a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at our resort. Even though our staff made the effort to make you comfortable while you waited for your room and did not charge for the room service due to the extraordinary delay, I can imagine how frustrating this must have been for you. I sincerely apologize and assure you this is not the high standard of service we strive to provide our guests. The view from our ocean view rooms is stunning and we hope you have the opportunity to return to enjoy the view and give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Santa Barbara and the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,067 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,445 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
152 reviews
1.3 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $246 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing