We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The hotel location is fabulous, right across from the beach and near Stearn's Wharf. The grounds are lovely, the pool is very nice. We had breakfast in our room both days and it was quite good and the server very pleasant.

The room was very nice - I didn't think it was as spectacular as I would expect for the premium price, but it was certainly large and attractive and well maintained. The bathroom was large and nice. The bed was very comfortable!! Our patio was lovely. - Would really like free wifi in the room.

The check-in woman was cool and didn't seem particularly excited to see us. Otherwise, the help was uniformly friendly and nice.

Overall, very nice. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,582 - 2,588 of 3,423 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great location right on the Santa Barbara beach front! We stayed in a standard room which was great value, very spacious and comfortable bed. The room had a small ourdoor balcony area overlooking the hotel gardens. The pool area is nice with a cafe overlooking the gardens. Great food at lunch time.

The staff on front desk were some of the least friendly we had experienced in our 5 week trip to the USA which was disapointing for such a nice hotel. They seemed a little robotic, like it was an inconvinence to check us in or answer any questions.


Love the Double Tree Cookies!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your spacious guestroom and lunch poolside. However, disappointed to see our front desk service was not up to the high level of customer service we strive so hard to provide each and every guest. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and giving us the opportunity to review this important matter with our staff. We hope to welcome you back real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Beautiful grounds in a great location - right across from beach, walking distance to the wharf, shops and restaurants.

Hotel needs to provide more services...,only one restaurant was open and it had a limited menu. there was another restaurant in the hotel, but it was closed the day that we were there. they do have a starbucks, but, the hours were very limited, thus it was closed. if you want a late-nite snack, bring your own food, or, go out.

Free Wifi connection in the lobby area, but, would be a plus if there were free Wifi in room. They also should not charge guests to park - especially for what you pay to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at our resort. We take the comments of our guests very seriously and often implement the suggestions of our guests. We do want you to know that we just finished reviewing our menus and have made several changes which will be implemented by the end of this month. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back during your next visit to the Santa Barbara area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

l love staying at the Double Tree Hotel, also, known as the Fess Parker in Santa Barbara.
They are located 1/2 a mile from the pier, walking distance which is always a plus. State Street same distance, great restaurants along the way. The hotel has a great bar, outdoor sitting with a fire-pit, and the beach across the street, the heavenly beds and bedding, the HOT chocolate chip cookies...amazing! And Starbucks within....why stay anywhere else!

Enjoy your stay!!

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tish O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed here while visiting the area for a wedding. This is a large property located right across the street from the beach and a short walk to the wharf.

The common areas are very nice and quite impressive. The grounds are well maintained with lots of beautiful flowers and greenery everywhere. There is a Starbucks in the hotel along with two or three other restaurants and a gift shop. The breakfast buffet was just okay. Starbucks always had a long line, but service was quick and friendly.

The pool is great and has food and drink service offered right from your lounge chair. Service was friendly and prompt. We enjoyed margaritas and lunch one afternoon as we took in some sun and splashed around in the pool a bit. There are plenty of chairs with and without shade available and everything is nicely spread out so you don't feel packed in. One annoying thing we observed on two different days while swimming is that people who are not guests of the hotel will stroll onto the grounds and use the pool and it's facilities. They were easy to spot as they would bring coolers and bags with their own food and drinks. They park along the road near the beach and come in through the back side of the resort. Some of the people that came in were rather surly and their kids were not very well behaved. I think the hotel ought to do something to monitor this a little better, like perhaps put gates with key access only.

Our room was clean, but there is a lot of wear and tear on just about everything from the carpet and furniture, to the fixtures, walls, and baseboards. The room was spacious, the bed was comfy, and it was nice having a second sink outside of the bathroom. We had a nice patio with a great view of the lush grounds and the ocean. I think with some renovations and updates to the rooms, this could be a top notch hotel.

The walk from the hotel to the wharf is delightful and leads you to restaurants, wine tasting, and shops. State street is not far either, but if you are not into walking or are not in good physical shape, it might be better to drive to get to the abundance of dining and shopping located up and down State Street. The hotel rents out bicycles, but we didn't feel that it was worth the price, so we walked everywhere. There are other places to rent bikes that may be a cheaper alternative. Pretty much anywhere you venture you will see that there are a lot of homeless people roaming around the area. Just something to be aware of if you are traveling alone or walking around at night.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. It's got a lot of potential and is located in a beautiful spot. One word of caution, however, is to check your credit card activity after your stay. Our trip was booked through a prepaid package, so the only charges upon checkout were the incidentals from lunch and drinks at the pool. Several weeks later, when we received our credit card statement, we found that they had double charged us for the entire stay. It took several phone calls and persistence on our end over the course of about a week and a half to finally resolve the issue.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a better view. Mountain views are of the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationhereIcome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

We appreciate your extensive and very detailed review or our property and thank you for the numerous compliments about our location, amenities and service. We do apologize for any frustration we created due to the billing issues and will share this with our management team. A major renovation project is underway which will begin later this year. We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and hope you will return real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We spent 17 nights in California staying at 8 different hotels and this was the worst. Garden view room on the ground floor. Windows all had shutters which meant the rooms didn't get sunlight and hense smelt absolutley awful. I could not wait to leave and checked out before breakfast. We complained and was told that rooms were to be refurbished next year. I would say though that the location is fabulous - just across the road from the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djcWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for your review of your experience with your guest room. We are happy you chose out hotel during your California trip, however apologize for the smell you encountered. We intend to utlize your review to help us improve our hotel operations and have reviewed your feedback with our hotel team. They are now taking the necessary steps to freshen our guestrooms. We appreciate your time in reviewing our hotel and look forward to seeing you during your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Garden View Room: Very nice, recently updated, clean, comfortable, and modern; it didn't smell as some reviews have noted, but the hallways did.

Disappointing Check-in/Front Desk Service: Had to stand in line three times (for a total of 35 minutes) to get our room. The first time was only 1 hour prior to the official check in time but our room wasn't ready. When we returned at the designated time, it still wasn't ready. There were only 2 employees working the front desk. They need to employ more housekeepers and front desk people during the busy summer season.

Huge Property/Grounds: What makes this property "resort" status other than its huge size? It has only one pool, too small for laps. The grounds are pretty, the restaurant where we had daily breakfast was good and the wait staff, especially the host, was friendly. But when I think of resort, I picture multiple pools & jaccuzis with at least one pool designated as adult-only.

We stayed on Hilton Points and didn't have to pay the $285/night. Guess we've become spoiled, though, as we expect more even with a reward stay. If you're paying to stay here, it may not be such a great value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
490 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,506 reviews
1.3 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $194 - $572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing