We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Clovis, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Motel was nice, clean room with comfortable beds. The beach is just a short walk up the street. One of the most famous restaurants.... Sambo's is a very short distance away. Clean pretty town. The motel is directly across from the Little League baseball fields. Which is perfect if your in a tournament.
Nice staff. Clean pool. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ranchman559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    219
    140
    46
    47
See reviews for
103
263
35
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

When we arrived to spend one night (my husband, 5 year old and I) I was pleasantly suprised by the appearance of the hotel interior. Its amazing what some paint and simple decorating can do. The room was a good size, included a fridge and wi-fi. The location was good, we walked down the the water, but it was a short drive to get to State St.

The next day, things turned for the worse. It was pretty noisy through the night and morning. The breakfast selections were pretty poor, we ended up going out. The mattress does not fit the frame, and I pretty seriously bruised my leg on a piece of the frame sticking out (it had the same thing on the other bed so I assume they are all like that). When I went to check out, I planned on using a different credit card to pay for the stay. They failed to mention that they were going to charge our card when we checked in and wouldn't credit it back. I don't remember a hotel ever doing that before. The lady at the desk could not have been less helpful or uncaring (1/6 at 11AM if the manager is reading this). If you are trying to make customers happy you don't have an attitude like she did.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The property is located within walking distance of the beach and the trolly that takes you all around Santa Barbara. The rooms were clean and the King bed very comfortable. We had a room around the corner from the elevator and were worried that the noise would be a problem, but we never heard it. The free do it yourself breakfast was a nice surprise and the coffee was very good. I would recommend this to anyone not looking for that high end hotel. The management did a good job with the christmas decorations. All and all I give it a two thumbs up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KTK927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We got off to a bad start. On arrival we found that they had a power cut - no lights, no TV no fridge - no nothing. The owner offered us candles! We said unless the power came on within a few hours, we would move out. We went for a walk and found that we were close to beach, shops, cafes and restaurants - good location. When we got back the power was on so we moved in. The room was clean and a good size but dated. The bed was large and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast next day was good. For the price it was as good as can be expected.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussieroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Checked in for a week on the spur of the moment and was pleasantly surprised.
I always ask for a top floor room with a quiet location.

Clean and quiet hotel with breakfast and live in management that is very accomodating.

Rooms are done in Aqua and Chocolate Brown colors. Some are bigger than others so let them know if that's important to you.

I Love the nice park across the street and very neighborhood feel with grocery stores and little restaurants within a few blocks.

Very close to the beach as well as walking distance to State Street Shopping.
Easy 10 minute walk to Amtrak if you have rolling luggage.

Definitely would stay again.

Room Tip: Top floor for quiet and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a really comfortable stay here. The swimming pool and jacuzzi were awesome. Unfortunately our room wasn't in the best location as we were right next to the lobby so we were woken a few times in the morning. Otherwise the owners were really friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again... But in a different room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Inn is in a great location, and easy to find. Rooms are a bit dated but very clean. Free parking is a bonus, easy walk to the pier and town centre.
Included breakfast was good. Overall good value for Santa Barbara, would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulE57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
947 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Mason Beach Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Franciscan Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
748 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avania Inn of Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avania Inn of Santa Barbara

Property: Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
Address: 128 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3810 (Formerly Country Inn by the Sea)
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avania Inn of Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara Hotel is located 1 block to waterfront. Offering a Free Hot Breakfast buffet, Free Wireless Internet. Rooms offer Pillow Top Premium Beds, Fridge/Microwaves in rooms, coffee makers, iron/ironing boards. On site Heated Pool & Spa. Also on site Redwood Sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Avania Inn of Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avania Inn Of Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Santa Barbara
Country Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing