We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Wheaton, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The front desk staff was good but the hotel needs to put back some of the money it charges for the room into refurbishing the place. They did redecorate but the rooms are like the old Holiday Inn's. I know Santa Barbara is expensive but this is an insult. For $270 a night I expect a lot more than this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    219
    140
    46
    47
See reviews for
103
263
35
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rimini, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I paid $ 212 for an ordinary room, a THEFT. Complimentary Internet, it DOESN'T WORKS. Hotel completely renovated, FALSE ( see my photos). The price was really expensive related to the general low quality of the hotel and the cleanness. I can't suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

I would plan on staying here again next time we visit Santa Barbara. I enjoyed the walk (about one mile) into the main town. The rooms were clean and I liked the way they had been decorated. The breakfast choices were rather limited, the fruit bowl could do with jazzing up a bit. We didn't use the pool as it always seemed hectic.

Stayed September 2011
Helpful?
Thank PurdieParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was a great find for the price. Santa Barbara is a fairly expensive city to stay and Avania Inn is affordable, clean, and the pool/jacuzzi are great. Small but great. It's a short walk from the water and about a 15 minute walk to where shops and food is on State St. Our stay was quiet and pleasant.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Theneilsens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Unfriendly staff extremely rude. Rooms were not as I would expect for a $250+ room.Felt like a motor lodge room smelled, was old, cheap, and had beat-up furniture. Broken and dis-repaired bathroom fixtures. Small and ugly room. All around, a bad experience. Will not return. The lady at the front desk has no customer service skills.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mala k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had a pleasant stay here for a few nights and it was neither here nor there really. The staff were friendly, it's a short walk to the ocean and they even throw in a free basic breakfast.

I think Santa Barbara in general is expensive so that kind of explains the lack of anything special at this place given the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I really liked this hotel -- it just got too too price on weekends. I'd go $149 a night for this but it nearly doubled on weekends. Try to do better, price-wise and you should be happy. The rooms were very large and clean. Housekeeping attentive and nice. Aqua and brown decor was not off-putting to me, though some have noted that. Again, it was CLEAN and bed afforded a very good night's sleep. Pool, though small, was heated and open til 10pm. Hot tub also on property and gate is locked after 10. Towels provided for pool use in room off pool. Breakfast was included: Scones, waffles, danish, fruit, eggs. Not terribly creative, but okay and edible. Location is great here and why I booked to begin with. State Street is maybe 6-7 blocks and beach is 2-3 blocks away. We walked and left car parked most of our stay. Desk staff not terribly friendly, but did warm up towards end of our stay. Good choice; I'd stay here again but would want better rate.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies, which is nice place to sit in evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blowdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
947 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
748 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avania Inn of Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avania Inn of Santa Barbara

Property: Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
Address: 128 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3810 (Formerly Country Inn by the Sea)
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avania Inn of Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara Hotel is located 1 block to waterfront. Offering a Free Hot Breakfast buffet, Free Wireless Internet. Rooms offer Pillow Top Premium Beds, Fridge/Microwaves in rooms, coffee makers, iron/ironing boards. On site Heated Pool & Spa. Also on site Redwood Sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Avania Inn of Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avania Inn Of Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Santa Barbara
Country Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing