We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confusion at the Front Desk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Santa Barbara
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pacific Grove, Ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Confusion at the Front Desk”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2009

We made reservations for three days over Thanksgiving about three weeks in advance. I specified that we wanted a room that looked out on the lagoon (almost all the rooms do). "Sarah" assured me that we would have such a room. When we arrived, the clerk attempted to give us a room out near the freeway, looking out at the back of the breakfast room. My husband refused to accept it, despite the clerk's insistence that the room was all that was available (this at 3 o'clock in the afternoon). Another clerk heard the discussion and gave us the room we had been promised. The next day we discovered that the tub drain plug did not work. The desk sent someone to fix it, but it was merely tightened and still leaked. Over the three days, we noticed that the motel was not at all full. Strangely, when we checked out on Friday after Thanksgiving, another man was arguing with the desk clerk about not being given the type of room he had requested. This place needs some management intervention.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWWPacificGrove_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa_Barbara_Ramada, Director of Sales & Marketing at Ramada Santa Barbara, responded to this review, January 5, 2010
JWWPacificGrove_CA

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent trip to Santa Barbara. We would like to respond on a few of the points that you brought up and answer a few questions you had.

Some of our rooms do have a partially obstructed view of our “Award Winning” Freshwater Lagoon which sounds like the one that you were originally booked into. We do our best to make sure that our guests are always happy, and it sounds like we were able to accommodate your request of a room with a nicer view of the grounds.

Concerning the maintenance issue with the tub, we are VERY sorry about the inconvenience that it may of caused you. Most times those things are simple fixes and a “tightening” is all that needs to be done by our on staff maintenance department. However, it sounds as if this was not the case with your particular tub. Had you informed the front desk that this issue still was not been resolved you can be assured by the other reviews that our great staff would have taken it to the next level promptly.

Thanksgiving week is one of the busiest weeks of the year here at the hotel. We have been the primary hotel sponsor of the National Horse show for many years now and due to our accommodations, great value, and excellent service, they pay for their staff members and presenters to stay at our property for the entire event. The workers, vendors, and staff are usually out at the show grounds by 5am and do not return until late in the evening. So while the hotel is completely sold out, our guests who are not associated with the horse show get the nice feeling that they have the entire hotel to themselves.

While we can’t be sure about the conversation that the other guest was having while you were checking out, I can assure you that their needs were met in a courteous and professional manner. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    721
    321
    130
    71
See reviews for
781
524
131
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

Pity the nice Ramada Limited in Santa Barbara that must compete against all those not-so-nice Ramada's. This Ramada is quite a find, if dated. The grounds are beautiful with a lagoon, ducks, geese and beautiful plantings. The hotel is clean and kept up reasonably well. A complementary breakfast and free newspapers (USA Today and Local Santa Barbara paper.) The rooms are small, but reasonably quiet. I always use ear plugs when travelling, so I did not hear noise from the 101 Fwy.

Reception staff could do with a bit of customer service training, but otherwise I would say, use the hotel. Room is a little cramped for businessperson using a computer. But, it's easy on and off the FWY. Not in the center of town, but less than 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlackerBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa_Barbara_Ramada, Director of Sales & Marketing at Ramada Santa Barbara, responded to this review, November 19, 2009
Thank you so much for your kind words concerning our beautiful hotel. We take great pride in our “Award Winning” freshwater lagoon and tropical grounds. Our guests constantly remark about how much they enjoy seeing the 15 ducks that seem to have their run of the grounds. We have also added another 35 turtles to the lagoon which complements the Koi and gold fish.

Thank you also for mentioning how clean and well kept our rooms are. Our housekeeping staff is always striving to make sure that everything part of the hotel is clean and sanitized for our guests stays. We do provide a complementary Deluxe Continental Breakfast every morning which includes fresh pastries, fruit, hot and cold cereals, as well as made to order waffles.

Our central location does make it easy for all of our guests to either get downtown for some shopping, or to the beach for the sun within a 10 minute window. We are also just 5 minutes from UCSB and the Santa Barbara Municipal Airport.

We look forward to your return, and of course hope that you will bring along a friend when you do return to beautiful Santa Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

I only write reviews for two reasons: 1) If the place exceeds expectations 2) The place/service is absolutely horrible that I want to warn every person in the world from giving the company any more business. Ramada Limited is one of those terrible experiences that I regret. Having a dirty outdated hotel with BEDBUGS on their sheets is unacceptable. The first night, I thought the itching was due to allergies. The second night kept me awake as I was being eaten alive by the bedbugs that festered in the room. The walls were paper thin also and every time the neighboring room runs their water (bath, sink,etc), it makes this loud piping sound between the walls that reminds you of being in the engine room of a steamship. Spend $50 more dollars for a good night's sleep at hotels near State st.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank is7and3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa_Barbara_Ramada, Director of Sales & Marketing at Ramada Santa Barbara, responded to this review, November 19, 2009
While we take these accusations extremely seriously there was no one who stayed at our property for 2 nights that alerted anybody on the staff that they may have had an issue with bedbugs. After seeing this review, we had our housekeeping team inspect all of the rooms for any signs of bedbugs. They turned up nothing. In addition we have regularly scheduled inspections & preventative treatments performed by Ecolab Pest Control. They also have not found any evidence of bed bugs at our hotel. While we sympathize with the guest, we feel it is highly unlikely the bites occurred at our hotel. Many people have delayed reactions to bed bug bites that may not manifest themselves until up to six weeks later. We always receive outstanding grades for cleanliness during our quality assurance inspections. We take great pride in our property and always attempt to exceed expectations for our guests with clean, comfortable accommodations coupled with great service and value.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deadhorse, AK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

The staff of the Ramada was very attentive to all our family needs from the first day to the seventh day of our stay. The front desk personnel made excellent suggestions for local business contacts and family activities. Once our family saw the wonderful hidden gardens at check-in time, we kindly asked if a room with a better view of the ponds, pool and gardens was available. The staff accomodated us once they had reworked some of their other regular clients' booked rooms. The second level garden/pool/ponds view rooms have the best views with vaulted ceilings. The first level garden rooms open directly out into the gardens and ponds area. The ducks living on the grounds were actually raised from 2 day old chicks this past spring. They are an added delight to see swimming in the ponds and walking through the gardens. There are barriers to keep them out of the pool area. Out family will be spending more of our future trips at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deadhorse_Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa_Barbara_Ramada, Director of Sales & Marketing at Ramada Santa Barbara, responded to this review, November 20, 2009
Thank you for your comments concerning our great staff. We work diligently on customer service and making sure that each and every guest is treated as a VIP. It sounds like your 7 day stay with us was extremely enjoyable. Santa Barbara truly is one of the great destinations in America.

I am so glad to hear that we were able to provide you with an upgrade from our Standard Mountainside Room to one of our Deluxe Gardenside Rooms which look over the Award Winning freshwater lagoon and tropical gardens. It is true that the Upstairs does have the vaulted ceilings which provides for a feeling of an even bigger room. The upstairs also provides every guest with a balcony where the downstairs rooms all of their own patios.

It seems that all of our guests really enjoy seeing the ducks enjoy their grounds. They seem to just go where ever they want and enjoy everything to the fullest. We did raise them since they were just 2 days old and thought that we had 12 little ducklings. It turned out that once we started cleaning their cage and we counted them, we actually had 13.

We hope that when you return to beautiful Santa Barbara that you will again choose to stay with us here at the Ramada limited.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

Just wanted to say thank you to the staff at the Ramada Limited in Santa Barbara, for their hospitality and service. Drew Wakefield was very helpful in setting up our golf outing and would highly recommend anyone to stay there and visit the Glenn Annie Golf Course.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latinogolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa_Barbara_Ramada, Director of Sales & Marketing at Ramada Santa Barbara, responded to this review, November 2, 2009
Dear Latinogolf,

We were delighted when the LGA decided to host their monthly golf tournament at Glen Annie Golf Course and stay with us here at the beautiful Ramada Limited. As a former golfer, I always look forward to putting together “Golf Packages” for our wonderful guests. Since the Ramada and Glen Annie have such a great partnership, it made it easy for the two of us to help the LGA have an incredible event.

We also want to thank you for giving us such high marks on our “Value, Cleanliness, and Service”. We are known as the “Best Value” hotel in Santa Barbara/Goleta and always want to treat all of our guests as VIP’s.

We look forward to the return of the LGA next year and know that your tournament will be even bigger and more successful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

We spent 4 nights here and would recommend the Randa as value for money to anyone . Our room overlooked the lagoon, was spacious and comfortable with the added bonus of a fridge & microwave. The breakfasts were good with a reasonable choice. The hotel staff were excellent whether advising on restaurants or helping us sort out the roof on our convertible! We ate at Cody's a 10 minute walk away, you can pick up a card in reception which gives you 20% off your food bill, the food was absolutely fine in fact I had the scampi (cooked in garlic and wine) twice! A decent bottle of Savingon Blanc was $16 so it will not break the bank.The pool was good plenty of towels and chairs loungers etc and the lagoon had fish, turtles, ducks and a visiting heron! Santa Barbara and the surrounding area was beautiful well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veggiegolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa_Barbara_Ramada, Director of Sales & Marketing at Ramada Santa Barbara, responded to this review, November 2, 2009
Dear Veggiegolfer,

Thank you for choosing to stay 4 nights with us here at the Ramada Limited. We also want to thank you for recommending us as “Value for the money to anyone”.

Since we recently remodeled the entire hotel, we added refrigerators, microwaves, irons, and ironing boards to all of our rooms. The beautiful “Deluxe Gardenside” room that you stayed in does overlook our “Award Winning” freshwater lagoon with our 15 ducks and 30 plus turtles.

We are glad that you enjoyed our “Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast” in the mornings. Everything is brought in fresh every morning, and people really love the made to order Waffles. Since we have the 20% off discount cards to a few local restaurants, it really seems to help our guests a bit on their budget when they are trying to decide where to go for lunch and dinner.

It was our pleasure to assist with the convertible top, sometimes those can be a bit tricky. Since the weather was perfect and your rental car company provided a convertible, we had to figure out how to open it.

Thank you again for all of your kind words, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2009

This place was clean, nice pool, decent continental breakfast included and was $100 a night (through hotels.com)!!!!!! Considering most of the places we looked at in downtown SB were going for at least 3 and 4 times that amount, the Ramada was perfect for us. The only downside is that it's located about 15-20 minutes from the heart of SB. I didn't drink, so it was easy for us to drive home at night, but for people who might want to stay out late partying it might be an expensive cab fare home.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kab1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#27 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
5.8 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Santa Barbara

Property: Ramada Santa Barbara
Address: 4770 Calle Real, Santa Barbara, CA 93110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Santa Barbara was awarded the Top Ramada Hotel in all of North America by Ramada Worldwide in September of 2016. The Ramada Santa Barbara was awarded the Best of the Best for 6 continuous by Ramada Worldwide. Green Certified by Santa Barbara County Green Business, Gold Certified by Audubon International, Environmentalist award from California Green Lodging Program. The Ramada Santa Barbara is Locally owned and Operated, Centrally located, known as the Best Value Hotel in the Greater Santa Barbara/Goleta area, and can often times save you hundreds of dollars over competing hotels in the downtown or beach areas. We pride ourselves on only offering VIP Service throughout your stay. The Ramada offers all guests, a Free Deluxe Continental Breakfast with made to order waffles, Free Wi-Fi-, Free Parking, Three Electric Car Charging Stations, free shuttle to and from SBA, Amtrak, and SB Airbus, and a magnificent Year Round Solar Heated Pool & Whirlpool where the water temperature is always perfect. Every room offers a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, premium cable and Free HBO, personal safe, comfortable high quality bed, iron & ironing board, voicemail, hairdryer, work desk, Free local calls, and private patio or balcony. Plus the Ramada offers a full business center. The Ramada Santa Barbara is just minutes away from everything in the Santa Barbara/Goleta area. Santa Barbara Airport (SBA) and University of California Santa Barbara (UCSB) are just 6 minutes away, downtown and the Santa Barbara beaches are just 10-12 minutes away. Rest, Relax, or Unwind around our lush tropical gardens and lagoons that are home to ducks, turtles, KOI, & goldfish. The Ramada Santa Barbara Value Pass let's you to Feel Like a Local by saving you up to $650.00 when you take advantage of all the discounts we offer. 2 for 1 Wine tasting, 2 for 1 to the Santa Barbara Zoo & Maritime Museum, Discounts to ATV Mountain Rides, Santa Barbara Helicopter, Museums, Attractions, Beach Horseback rides, Chumash Casino, Restaurants, and much more. Some discounts might change or be discontinued so please check with front desk staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramada Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing