We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ramada Santa Barbara
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, great price”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at the Ramada for a family wedding in late September 2012 and would highly recommend it for any stay in Santa Barbara. The rooms are clean and well-maintained, the king size beds are comfortable, there are in-room fridge, coffee maker and microwave. Each room has a patio with views of the mountains or of the gorgeous central garden with pond and lily pads. There is a free (and huge!) buffet breakfast each morning in a restaurant with flowers on the table! The coffee was some of the best we've ever tasted. There is also a nice pool and spa, though we didn't use them.
For travelers, it is 5 minutes to the airport, with a gas station next door for that last minute rental car fill-up. The beach and good restaurants are 5 minutes away, with hotel staff offering directions and restaurant coupons. We paid in advance, on line, and got our room for $143/night average for a stay of 3 nights. It was a superior experience all around, and we are pretty demanding and experienced travelers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa_Barbara_Ramada, Director of Sales at Ramada Santa Barbara, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Lori B,

Thank you so much for giving us 5 Stars for Value, Location, Sleep Quality, Rooms, and Cleanliness. We pride ourselves on always offer our guests tremendous value when they choose to stay with us at the Ramada Santa Barbara.

Thank you for mentioning some of the great amenities that you and your family enjoyed while staying with us. Our Free Deluxe Continental Breakfast is something that almost every guest just loves and is a great way to start the day. We appreciate knowing that you had a superior al around experience. Please feel free to give us a call next time you are in the area and we will do our best to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    745
    336
    134
    80
See reviews for
819
538
134
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
CLOVIS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Don't book through a third party site like hotels.com the hotel looks down on you and gives you sub par rooms

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
1 Thank JOE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa_Barbara_Ramada, Director of Sales at Ramada Santa Barbara, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Joe D,

We always encourage our guests to book directly with us to make sure that they receive the exact room type that they are requesting. Unfortunately, when you do book online, you might receive a room type that was not your initial request. However, the 3 Time Ramada Worldwide Award Winning Ramada Santa Barbara does not have any sub-par rooms but we do have Superior rooms that might be a bit more desirable than our Standard rooms. Every room has exactly the same amenities except that our Superior rooms are a bit larger, have an additional sink, and overlooks our lush gardens and lagoons. The beds are the same, as well as everything else.

We do appreciate you giving us 5 stars for Value, Sleep Quality, and Cleanliness. Hopefully on your next stay with us, you will give us a call directly to ensure that you receive that room type that you requested. Plus, you are guaranteed the best possible rate and can earn Wyndham Rewards for every stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORRANCE
2 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The staff was very cordial when we registered. I spoke to Azat when I made my initial reservation. He was very helpful in planning the reservation and helping my friends with their reservations. When I met him, he greeted me like an old friend. I was there to participate in the AVON Breast Cancer Walk; part of the route was down the major street near the hotel. I suggested to Azat that next year the Ramada might be able to send some of the employees to the corner and cheer on the walkers. The encouragement is very helpful and appreciated by the walkers. I look forward to seeing you next year, if not sooner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank KATHLEEN1012Torrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa_Barbara_Ramada, Director of Sales at Ramada Santa Barbara, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Kathleen101 2Torrance,

Thank you so much for giving us 5 Stars for Value, Location, Sleep Quality, Rooms, and Service. We pride ourselves on always offering our guests tremendous value and service when they choose to stay with us at the Ramada Santa Barbara.

Thank you for mentioning Azat who is one of our Shift Leaders and a wonderful and integral part of our Front Desk Staff. We fully supported the AVON Breast Cancer Walk and always encourage all of the walkers who are raising awareness and much needed money to beat cancer.

Please make sure to give us a call once you know the date of the next walk so that we can get you all booked in at the best possible rate. We appreciate all of the walkers and are in full support of the Breast Cancer Walk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ALTOS
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Beds and bedding were super comfortable. Room was clean and continental breakfast was adequate but nothing more. I was worried we would hear freeway noise but our room was on the side and faced the charming lagoon with ducks and was extremely quiet. The AC was a bit noisy so we just turned it off to sleep. A great value--would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank dyingtogetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa_Barbara_Ramada, Director of Sales at Ramada Santa Barbara, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Dyingtogetaway,

Thank you giving us 5 stars for Cleanliness and Service, we are also happy to read how happy you were with our Beds and Bedding. Having a great night sleep is always major plus staying away from home and that is why we at the Ramada Santa Barbara have top of the line Sealy Posturepedic Plush Top beds in every room. Our rooms are quiet, clean, and comfortable and when facing the lush gardens and lagoons, people generally sit outside to rest, relax, and unwind. Thank you for mentioning what a Great Value the Ramada Santa Barbara is and that you will definitely return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Expected a nicer hotel considering the pictures on their website, the brand name of the hotel and the high cost to stay there. The grounds were beautiful but the interior of the hotel needs remodeling. It was very outdated with dirty walls in the breakfast area, the room adjacent to the breakfast area had dirty outdated carpeting. As soon as we opened the door to our room (non-smoking) the first thing we noticed was an old, stuffy smell, it did not smell of cigarette smoke, just a stuffy old smell. The bathroom was ok...the chrome fixtures had water spots on them, even the toilet paper holders had some sort of spots from dried liquid. The shower head was very low which was difficult for my 6' tall husband. In our room and many other areas of the hotel there was paint peeling off the walls. Would not stay there again unless they renovated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharaCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa_Barbara_Ramada, Director of Sales at Ramada Santa Barbara, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear SharaCt,

We are sorry to read that you did not have the great experience that most of our guests receive when they stay with us. Thank you for mentioning how beautiful our lush gardens and lagoons are, we hope that you were also able to enjoy our year-round solar heated pool and whirlpool? We are also surprised to read that you did not find as much value as most of our guests find when staying with us. We hope that you were able to use some of the discount cards to the local restaurants and attractions as well as saving from the high cost of downtown and the beach area of Santa Barbara.

As for the remodeling, a few years ago we went through an extensive multimillion dollar remodeling but decided to keep with our colors of a lush tropical oasis in Santa Barbara. Once you stay with us for a day or so and can experience all that we have to offer and can get outside and feed the ducks, turtles, Koi, Goldfish, and watch the Egret, you will come to appreciate our tropical feel.

As for seeing any paint peeling, musty smell or marks on a wall, that is unacceptable for us and we sure hope that you made mention to our front desk staff immediately for us to take care of that right away. We take great pride in our 3 Time Ramada Worldwide Award Winning Hotel and are on constant watch for anything that we can fix or upgrade to give us guests an even better overall experience.

We hope that when you do decide to come back and visit Santa Barbara that you will give us another shot at exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The rooms were moderately clean. They are small, but we were not in the room much. The breakfast was outstanding. The pillows are very fluffy, which made it hard for us to sleep. The walls are pretty thin too, but overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa_Barbara_Ramada, Director of Sales at Ramada Santa Barbara, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear L B,

Thank you for mentioning that you had an overall good experience, however, it is our goal for all of our guests to have an overall great or excellent experience. We pride ourselves on having a great cleaning staff that makes sure that every room is spotless and clean prior to any guest checking in. We have a supervisor inspect every room once it is cleaned before we ever have a guest check in.

Starting out every day with a great breakfast is always important and that is why we offer our guests a Free Deluxe Continental Breakfast with all types of options, including made to order waffles. We hope that when you come back to visit beautiful Santa Barbara that you will once again give us a shot at exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

When visiting a place for the first time, poor accomodations can put a real damper on the whole experience. I am excited to say that this accomodation choice was right on target. I live in the midwest and visited the state just to drop off a daughter to grad school. The accomodations made my trip so enjoyable. What an exceptional property for the value. The staff was extremely unobtrusive and very professional.Now I know where to stay when I return. How often can you say that about a hotel?

Room Tip: definately want to have a room facing the lagoon worth the extra fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daphynie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa_Barbara_Ramada, Director of Sales at Ramada Santa Barbara, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Daphynie,

Thank you for giving us a perfect 5 Star Review, we really care about our guests and want them to have an incredible experience with every stay. Thank you for also sharing with everyone out there in the internet world that you made the right choice when choosing to stay with us.

We are known as the Best Value Hotel in the Santa Barbara/Goleta area and love to give our guests added value with every stay. It is our staff’s goal to always offer VIP Service to every guests, as well as options and ideas for places to visit and how to get the most enjoyment out of their stay.

We look forward to your return in the future and just make sure to give us a call to get your room ready for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
5.9 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
959 reviews
5.8 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Santa Barbara

Property: Ramada Santa Barbara
Address: 4770 Calle Real, Santa Barbara, CA 93110-1309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Santa Barbara was awarded the Top Ramada Hotel in all of North America by Ramada Worldwide in September of 2016. The Ramada Santa Barbara was awarded the Best of the Best for 6 continuous by Ramada Worldwide. Green Certified by Santa Barbara County Green Business, Gold Certified by Audubon International, Environmentalist award from California Green Lodging Program. The Ramada Santa Barbara is Locally owned and Operated, Centrally located, known as the Best Value Hotel in the Greater Santa Barbara/Goleta area, and can often times save you hundreds of dollars over competing hotels in the downtown or beach areas. We pride ourselves on only offering VIP Service throughout your stay. The Ramada offers all guests, a Free Deluxe Continental Breakfast with made to order waffles, Free Wi-Fi-, Free Parking, Three Electric Car Charging Stations, free shuttle to and from SBA, Amtrak, and SB Airbus, and a magnificent Year Round Solar Heated Pool & Whirlpool where the water temperature is always perfect. Every room offers a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, premium cable and Free HBO, personal safe, comfortable high quality bed, iron & ironing board, voicemail, hairdryer, work desk, Free local calls, and private patio or balcony. Plus the Ramada offers a full business center. The Ramada Santa Barbara is just minutes away from everything in the Santa Barbara/Goleta area. Santa Barbara Airport (SBA) and University of California Santa Barbara (UCSB) are just 6 minutes away, downtown and the Santa Barbara beaches are just 10-12 minutes away. Rest, Relax, or Unwind around our lush tropical gardens and lagoons that are home to ducks, turtles, KOI, & goldfish. The Ramada Santa Barbara Value Pass let's you to Feel Like a Local by saving you up to $650.00 when you take advantage of all the discounts we offer. 2 for 1 Wine tasting, 2 for 1 to the Santa Barbara Zoo & Maritime Museum, Discounts to ATV Mountain Rides, Santa Barbara Helicopter, Museums, Attractions, Beach Horseback rides, Chumash Casino, Restaurants, and much more. Some discounts might change or be discontinued so please check with front desk staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing