We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View, Great Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great View, Great Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2006

We loved it. It's right across the street from the beach and has views from some rooms and the pool area. Our room was very clean as were the public areas. The pool was warm and the bed was firm. Breakfast was very good: ham and cheese croissants, bagels and cream cheese, apple pie, and pastries. The staff was friendly and efficient. The 25 cent trolley takes you to the zoo, the East Cabrillo playground, the Carousel, the Marina, and State Street where there are more shops and restaurants than you could visit in a week. We ate at El Paseo, a mexican restaurant in an historic building with a roof that slides open so you can see the stars. We paid only $109 for Saturday and $79 for Sunday--great off-season rates. (The Motel 6 right behind the Cabrillo was charging $99 for the same nights.)

  • Liked — Close to the beach and State Street
  • Disliked — Close to the road
  • Tips/Secrets — Travel off-season
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliJon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    131
    75
    36
    38
See reviews for
81
144
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2006

Booking a reservation at this hotel was a nightmare, and the manager - Victor actually yelled at me when we tried to confirm the reservation because we didn't have our confirmation readily available. Then they lost our reservation after confirming it twice. If you stay here make sure you get a faxed or emailed confirmation.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank joesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2006

We spent the weekend at The Santa Barabara Inn. Our bedspread had dried blood on it. The bed was very uncomfortable. When we told the owner about the blood stain, he said he was sorry and will tell the maids about it, I will never ever recommend this hotel to anybody. 1st of all, it wasn't cheap $189/night and 2nd of all they're not so friendly there either. The owner even promised that our next stay will be free in which we never received a credit voucher that the owner said he was going to mail. He also try to rip us off on the charges we payed cash and then he charged my card for our stay, when he claimed to have canceled my credit card. TOTAL RIP OFF!!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2006

The service was great, the room was large and location wonderful. I enjoyed the room it was fresh and comfortable. The front desk staff was always available when we nneeded them. The best was the price low enough to enjoy nice restaurants during our stay.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2005

Date: October 28, 2005
Reviewer: Delaware Traveler

This is an older, basic motel with two pools and a great location. They appear to be working on some updating. We arrived early to find the room cleaned and ready with a fan already blowing. The fan was a welcome addition as the weather had turned warm and there was no A/C or back windows for cross ventillation. Closing the sliding door to the room at night was a problem with only a small, screened window for cool air. The room/bath was small but doable. No hair dryer. No real problem with noise other than occassionally hearing children running overhead in the early morning. The motel is located on the main waterside strip right across from the bay and its long walkway. Larger, more expensive, lodgings are lined up all the way down the road.

The continental breakfast was basic with a variety of rolls/pastries, juices, and coffee.

If I visit the area again, I might take the next step up for a little more luxury.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DERetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2005

Definatly paying for the location. Room was old & needed updating. Huge gap under the front door. One swimming pool was going green & very dirty other was heated very nice but be warned of the steep drop if you go with children. Says the water level is 4ft my husband in 5'8" & it came up to his chin then just drops awat to 8ft. Wouldnt use the hotel again would find somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2005

We stayed at the Cabrillo Inn last month. We had read the reviews before booking the hotel but nobody had mentioned how terrible these accomodations were. The was no air conditioning in the room. When we asked the front desk about this and why we were not told about it upon booking our room, they said it was something that they do not advertise. There was an old fan left in the room instead. Our bedspread had dried blood on it. The decor of the room was early 70s. The bed was very uncomfortable. We had paid for "an ocean view" but our view was obstructed and the room was very small. The pools were covered and not available for swimming. This hotel is definitely not worth $209 dollars per night! You are definitely paying for the location. We felt completely ripped off.

Also all amenities that we were used to from a moderate priced hotel (i.e. coffee pot, iron, hair dryer, etc.) were not available here. The front desk did have irons to lend out but it was hard to find a functioning one.

The hotel needs to be renovated. Do yourself a favor and avoid the immense disappointment we felt and stay some where else.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#29 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#16 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#26 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach
#45 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabrillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabrillo Inn at the Beach

Property: Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
Address: 931 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cabrillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabrillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Cabrillo Hotel Santa Barbara
Cabrillo Motel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing