We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beachside Inn, cute atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
GA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beachside Inn, cute atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at the Cabrillo while visiting family for 4 days. The hotel is across the street from the beach so is very convenient if beach fun is in your plans. We arrived earlier than expected from a red-eye from Hawaii and were exhausted. We asked for early check-in so we could catch a nap before meeting up with family. The manager on duty (June 13th, 2014) was extremely helpful and told us he would make sure the room was ready within an hour so we would have the opportunity. We appreciated his willingness to be helpful more than we can say. It made all the difference to be able to have that nap!!

During our stay the room was clean and tidy. I really liked the patio area that was outside the room we had (partial ocean-view). It was a pleasant place to have my tea in the morning while hubby still slept.

The complimentary breakfast is the usual continental fare, but there was plenty of it and a good variety of danish as well as quiche and waffles.

My only suggestion for the hotel would be to reconsider not having hair dryers and coffee makers in the room. Hair dryers are available at the front desk, but it seems silly not to just have one in the room. I was also very surprised not to have an in-room coffee maker. It is inconvenient to have to go to the lounge area to get a morning cup of tea and any refills.

The only actual negative we had was the lack of parking for the hotel. We spent every evening out with family and if you are not back at the hotel early enough, there is no parking available on site. One night we drove around the hotel area for 20 min. looking for parking. This was inconvenient enough to make me think hard about staying at the Cabrillo the next time we go to Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend the Partial ocean view room. It comes with the small patio which is pleasant f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terriette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    131
    75
    36
    38
See reviews for
81
144
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were visiting Santa Barbara for a day and decided to spend the night there, so we booked this hotel last minute. Comparing prices, this was the most decent last minute price for the night on a weekend and we didn't know what to expect. The service was good, there wasn't a lot of parking space but we didn't have trouble finding where to park, we walked to the beach which is just crossing the street from the hotel, the rooms are not the best room, a bit outdated but they looked clean. The pool was good, it was heated! which was nice since it was a chilly day.
I think we would stay there if we're back in Santa Monica.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurar42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had a full view of the ocean. The room was not fancy but clean and comfortable. The pool is small. Continental breakfast was good. Chad at the front desk was very nice and helpful. Great value for the money. The location is close to everything, including bike rental down the street.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AquavistaNoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

The hotel is in a good location opposite the beach so has a lovely aspect. It is a longish walk to the Pier, Marina and town. The room was very comfortable and clean with a nice sitting area outside. There was a reasonable choice at breakfast but a bit hard to find something that wasn't oversweet. A reasonable hotel and a reasonable price for the one night we were passing through Santa Barbara. I wish we had been staying longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elenischoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland & USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

With all the negative reviews here we approached our stay at the Cabrillo with some trepidation. Totally unnecessary as it turns out: we (couple with 6 mth old baby) had a very enjoyable stay. I knocked off a star for the fact that it's old and dated, but perfectly clean and functional in an awesome location. Staff were very friendly and accommodating, breakfast was better than your average continental fare, pool lovely and clean. If you have a hankering, fancy drinks/food are just a 5 min stroll away at the Fess Parker.

Room Tip: Ocean view room was available for $20 extra from our online rate. Was definitely worth it for the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madramor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Don't expect a fortress or upscale accommodations but prime location! That is what SB is about!!! Best view. Walkable distance to anywhere! Been here several times.
Again, you are not paying $600/ night so be realistic but again you can't beat the location

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canuk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Me along with my family stayed here for two nights at the beginning of June. The weather was gorgeous and a dip in the heated pool was just marvellous. Only thing I could possibly suggest would be adding hairdryers in the rooms as there wasn't one. Everything else was perfect.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#29 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#17 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#26 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - Beach
#45 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabrillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabrillo Inn at the Beach

Property: Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
Address: 931 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cabrillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabrillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Cabrillo Hotel Santa Barbara
Cabrillo Motel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing