We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view. Loud neighbors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #43 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Elk Grove, California
1 review
“Great view. Loud neighbors”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Great view. Comfortable room. But LOUD upstairs neighbors. Sound of hammering and remodeling work so figured it was a private apartment. They did stop at 8pm. But I could still hear a rocker, some one pacing, etc. could hear every little step. But they partied hard and loud on Sat. I could hear everything and it lasted well into the night. Didn't want to deal with it so managed to sleep eventually. No sound proofing.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    134
    75
    37
    38
See reviews for
81
148
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
297 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Some mixed feelings here. Location awesome given it just across from the beach but a good 15 min walk from the pier. Pool very good as as it the patio areas. But.....rooms are ageing, albeit clean, and no aircon (instead a fan wedged on a chair and window sill.....pretty sloppy actually). No glasswhere, plates etc but this seems standard form US. Would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank StewWoodend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonySantaBarbara, Owner at Cabrillo Inn at the Beach, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and guest comments. Yes our Oceanfront "East Beach" location is pristine with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and the Santa Barbara Channel Islands. Yes we do not have air conditioning so we put fans in the windows to capture the natural cool breeze from the ocean especially at night. Your comment that this is sloppy is well received but this is the only way we can keep the rooms cool. If we did not do this the rooms would be warmer which is not what we want. If we just left the window open it would take far too long to cool the room. Our guests appreciate that we do what is necessary to keep our rooms cool and comfortable. We do have major renovation projects in the future with air conditioning on the top of the list. We are not a full service 5 star hotel with the accompanying rate but are a small family operated Inn since 1976. This is why we do not have glass or plate ware for our rooms or our continental breakfast. Having this amenity requires kitchen staff and equipment to clean and disinfect glass and plate ware and would substantially increase our operating costs which we would have to pass on to our guests. Our wrapped plastic room cups are standard in the industry and are clean and protected for guest safety. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again. Oh, make sure you inform us that you are a returning guest when setting up another reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located right across from the beach, and the room had a great view. It needs a bit make-up, although the room was clean and comfortable.

One thing unexpected was the fact that you enter the room from the front sliding doors which opens to a common balcony area. So, be careful with the curtains!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hakan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

It's a darling little old-school beach motel right across the street from the beach. We weren't expecting anything fancy and didn't get it. However, a word of warning, if it's an especially hot weekend, consider someplace else. This place doesn't have air conditioning, and the floor fan was loud, so I couldn't sleep at all. Even though the air temp outside had cooled considerably by bedtime, the floor fan did nothing to circulate that cool air into the room, despite the open window.

By "great location" I mean across from the beach in a quiet area. You really need a car if you want to reach a restaurant or pub nearby (except maybe the Hyatt next door). Facilities are average, and it's got the average motel setup, meaning the walkway is next to the window, so if you want any privacy, you have to close the curtain and lose any view you may get.

I'd consider returning anyway if the weather were cooler, as it usually is. Service was very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pezworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Lovely little hotel overlooking the beach! Clean, reasonably priced, lovely location and VERY friendly, helpful staff . Dined at the Fish house near the pier on the evening on the hotels recommendation , it was perfect !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I shopped and shopped for an affordable room on the beach for a special trip to get engaged (she said YES by the way!) and wanted to stare at that beautiful Santa Barbara ocean. After looking at $700/night rooms at the fancy hotels and some just off the beach, we booked at the Cabrillo Inn. And will go back over and over. Book room 228 for the best view, King bed looks right out over the beach to the ocean. Close to the zoo, about 1/2 mile stroll to the Wharf and touristy-type things but more of a local feel at the east end of the beach. Can't beat it for the bucks and they even allowed a late check-out so that we could go horse-back riding in the morning then grab a shower later. Book it. Great staff, yes, not the modern luxury hotel but view can't be beat and the included breakfast was yummy.

Room Tip: Room 228 has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bignewfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2014

It is at the end near East Beach, so there's not as much traffic as near Stearns Wharf. We ate our breakfast on the patio staring right at the beach. The motel is quite old, but it's very clean and rooms are nice and large. Coffee was available all day in the lounge. Only negative is there is construction on the hotel next door which caused noise pretty early in the morning. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was a "partial view of the ocean" but really I thought it was more than that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMahoney2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#31 of 52 in Santa Barbara
875 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
116 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
334 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabrillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabrillo Inn at the Beach

Property: Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
Address: 931 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabrillo Inn at the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cabrillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabrillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Cabrillo Hotel Santa Barbara
Cabrillo Motel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing