We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for spring break!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #43 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
detroit
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel for spring break!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Booked this hotel online, only going by reviews and pictures found here. Pleasantly surprised when we saw it in person. Check in was smooth and easy, desk clerk was courteous and friendly. The room was ground floor, right near the pool. It was clean and didn't have any questionable issues - smelled fresh, good plumbing, adequately furnished. We set this room up for my daughter and her friends to spend their spring break "away" while we stayed with relatives a few miles away. What can be said about Santa Barbara? It's a great town, beautiful, the people are friendly, it's clean, welcoming and easy to get around. State street, the Pier, the Paseo Nuevo mall, the Santa Barbara Zoo, and other fun points of interest are within walking distance ( a little bit of a walk, wear comfy shoes ) of this hotel. Right across the street is the ocean...the picture-perfect beach and ocean. Would definitely book a room there again - very affordable and conveniently located. Onsite parking is available but spaces fill up fast if the hotel is full.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilyofthevalley4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    135
    77
    38
    38
See reviews for
82
151
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our family (kids 6,5,3) stayed at Cabrillio Inn for two nights. We started in the cheapest room but moved to the ocean views as they are much bigger and better appointed. The hotel itself is a little run down and no frills but the rooms were clean and for being ocean side in SB for around $250 all in a night, can't complain. The proximity to the ocean is amazing and the free cont. breakfast although lacking any real healthy options is a nice feature. I would spend a couple nights here again, I wouldn't however spend much more than that at a time.

Room Tip: The ocean rooms on the second and third floors are worth it if you are travelling with kids or a lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travillindad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonySantaBarbara, Owner at Cabrillo Inn at the Beach, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and comments. Our Premium Full Ocean View rooms with two queens are much larger than our standard two queen rooms. For 4 persons and an infant this is the better choice. Our Oceanfront "East Beach" location cannot be beat and with our moderate rates for a beachfront property we have a good value for the traveling public. Ocean view rates for two queen beds at large beachfront hotels can run in excess of $400 on weekends before the busy summer season which starts in June with even higher rates. Our rates for our type of property are appreciated by many of our returning guests and new guests that know how expensive the beachfront can be. We have many exterior and interior planned upgrades in the near future but will always offer the traveling public a good value for their traveling dollars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My wife bought an online special coming directly from the motel's website: pay 2 nights and the third is free! Nothing is free in this world a total of $376 breaks it to $125 /night, which is the advertised rate anyway. Well, the surprised or gimick was the thiny room and it's location, next to the swimming pool entry gate and adjacent to the laundry room. The room was too small for 2 beds, thin walls and ceilings so you hear every single step from your neighbor, including the laundry room occupants, breakfast was ok. Smelly sheets, and filty carpets, old furniture. A sad way to enjoy this beautiful and lovely town.

Room Tip: Maybe rooms with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonySantaBarbara, Owner at Cabrillo Inn at the Beach, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and comments. Based on your comments and room location cited we located your reservation and have the following response to your comments. The regular room rate for a partial ocean view room with two queen beds in March 2013 is $179 midweek and $229 on Friday and Saturday. You booked a room on our online website which had extended discounted room rates of $149 and $179 respectively. Based on this your average net room rate with one free night for 3 nights is $109.34 before 12% occupancy tax and other minor fees. This average nightly rate for two queen beds during a Spring Break/Easter week period most likely could not be matched by any other oceanfront property along Santa Barbara's beachfront. Larger beachfront hotel ocean view rates with two queens run in excess of $200 and $400 on weekends. We have other two queen bed rooms but most likely since the reservation was made for arrival within 3 days the room you were allocated to happen to be by the pool on the ground floor. All of our limited view rooms with two queen beds are located by our heated pool either on the ground or a few on the 2nd floor. Our larger Full Ocean view rooms are located on the other side of the property overlooking our garden terrace area on either the second or third floor. We choose to put two queen size beds in all of our two bedded rooms since our guests prefer to sleep in a queen bed with two person versus sleeping in a smaller bed either Double or Twin size which can be uncomfortable for 2 adults. Its a trade off of larger beds and smaller room or smaller beds and larger rooms. With 4 persons and luggage the two queen limited rooms can become small. Most of our guests do not spend considerable time in the room given all that Santa Barbara has to offer. Our sheets are provided to us by a local linen supplier. It there was a problem with the sheets we would have inspected and replaced. I will forward your comment about the sheets to our housekeeping department and the local linen company. We vacuum and clean with an extraction machine our carpets on a regular and needed basis. If the carpets were dirty we should have been informed of this and we would have either moved you or corrected it the next day with our maintenance department. Insurance and local health code laws required us and other properties with pools to be fenced with locking entry gates. We do our best to quiet the closure of the gates but sometimes you will hear the gate close. We have many future exterior and interior upgrade projects planned in the future. We will continue to offer our traveling guests a good value for their traveling dollars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

orange
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We wanted to experience a typical American Motel, and after some weeks in large hotels, this was just the place. Our check in man was very friendly and recommended an excellent restaurant for dinner. I loved our king bed and the two boys loved a queen bed each, so thanks for not having those hated double beds we see so often. The pool was nice and warm for our January swim before breakfast. The only downer is the unhealthy breakfast - we are fruit and cereal eaters, and with no milk at all supplied, not even for the coffee (coffee mate is not milk) and only raw oats, we ran back to our room and grabbed our cereal and then went and bought milk and came back down for breakfast. The table of sweet cakes and pastries is not good enough for children as a breakfast. The ladies in the breakfast room must work for a different company than the front of house, their pr skills need a brush up!

Room Tip: Select a room overlooking the pool toward the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kasparorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland,ca
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Really can't find anything to recommend about this place. Room too small for 2 beds, thin walls and ceilings so you hear every tread of your neighbours, pathetic breakfast, yellowing sheets, clunky room heater. Not a good way to enjoy this lovely town

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard_in_Oakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonySantaBarbara, Owner at Cabrillo Inn at the Beach, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and comments. We have two types of rooms with two queen beds. One is a limited ocean view at approximately 225 square feet and our full ocean view at approximately 325 square feet. Our limited QQ rooms can feel small given that we made a choice to have queen size beds versus the smaller double or twin size. The majority of our guests prefer the queen size beds rather than the smaller types as they do not spend a lot of time in the room but also want more room for a better sleeping experience especially when two persons are in a queen. For extended stays or guests that want larger rooms, our premium full ocean view rooms are their choice. Our walls are typical for small Inns, Hotels and Motels that were constructed in the 1950's and 60's. When we remodeled in the past we dry walled over existing plaster walls to improve sound proofing. We have additional plans in the near future to improve noise issues from guests in rooms above or next door. I am sorry that our continental breakfast was not up to your expectations. We get good reviews from many guests about our continental breakfast. We serve flavored croissants, quiches, danish, bagels with flavored cream cheeses and many other baked items from local bakeries catering to hotels. Our linen is supplied to us by a local reputable company. We would have gladly inspected and changed the sheets if we would have been notified of your concern. Our in wall room heaters can sometimes make un-necessary noise due to guests accidentally banging them with their luggage. A simple adjustment of the fan corrects this issue. We have been operating this Inn for over 36 years and will always do what ever is necessary to correct problems or guests issues if we are informed of them while the guest is here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

PREFACE: We had never visited Santa Barbara, but had heard raves about what a neat town it is. Decided to go after travels to Orange, CA. Went on the Internet looking for a hotel ... cost was important, and we wanted to be on or near the beach. We booked the Cabrillo given favorable Trip Advisor reviews, rates, and claimed excellent beach location. Which it was!

CHECK-IN: Our drive up from Orange didn't take as long as we expected, so we got to the hotel quite early from published check-in times. I decided to "just ask" if we could get our room early so we could get settled, and then go out and tour the town. The young man running the front-desk was extremely accommodating ... friendly ... and gave us a room.

ROOM: Our booking was for a room with a "partial" ocean view. In our opinion, what we got had a full view ... we could hear the waves rolling in! There was a little patio with a table and chairs in front of our room ... and an open lawn/garden area ... both of which were a delight. The interior was humble, but acceptable. We're more "cot and a pot" travelers, so fanciness, at costliness, isn't worth it to us. The king-bed was good; the room clean; cable TV. The bathroom and shower were small. The hotel, and our room, are not "spring chickens" ... so be prepared for the dating. But this doesn't render it dysfunctional.

PARKING: We were able to park our car just steps from our first-floor room. This was nice!

FACILITIES: The ice machine worked. Yahoo! There is a decent pool, but we didn't use it. The continental breakfast was pretty standard ... coffee, juices, and some rolls. Neat that it was included in the budget-friendly rate. The location was superb ... just across the not-too-busy street from a long stretch of beautiful beach. We laid on the sand for hours sipping cocktails and fading in and out of naps. I could walk back to the room for re-fills in minutes.

FOOD: We had to drive for food. Wish we would have done lunch at the marina, not the pier. It was marginal and spendy at the restaurant we chose ... and not the "ambiance" of the marina. We had dinner on State Street ... which was about a 10 minute drive. This is a way-fun part of town, and we had a great meal.

Our summary opinion is the Cabrillo Inn is an excellent value. We will use it again if we go back to Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thinkntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonySantaBarbara, Owner at Cabrillo Inn at the Beach, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about your experience with us and our beautiful seaside town of Santa Barbara. Yes our Oceanfront "East Beach" location cannot be beat and with our surprisingly affordable rate, allows us to say that we are the best value at the beach. Yes our rooms are fairly standard and but cleanliness and functionality are our primary goal. We have future plans to renovate the interior of all rooms with exterior renovation projects currently in the works. When complete we will continue to offer the traveling public the best oceanfront value along Santa Barbara's pristine beachfront. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again and make sure you try one of our popular "Spinach or Ham" croissants or our quiches served in our continental breakfast ocean view lounge each morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Second time we have stayed here and the location cannot be beaten! The pool area is great, and proximity to beach and Grill cafe perfect for families. Very relaxed feeling to the place, you seem to be able to 'bring your own' anything! Front desk were quick to respond when we had a noisy neighbour. Am not a fan of blankets on beds but otherwise this is a good hotel and great value.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roscopcoltraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#33 of 52 in Santa Barbara
886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,406 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
140 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
398 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabrillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabrillo Inn at the Beach

Property: Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
Address: 931 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabrillo Inn at the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cabrillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabrillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Cabrillo Hotel Santa Barbara
Cabrillo Motel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing