We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go somewhere else”

Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #43 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Oakland,ca
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Really can't find anything to recommend about this place. Room too small for 2 beds, thin walls and ceilings so you hear every tread of your neighbours, pathetic breakfast, yellowing sheets, clunky room heater. Not a good way to enjoy this lovely town

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard_in_Oakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonySantaBarbara, Owner at Cabrillo Inn at the Beach, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and comments. We have two types of rooms with two queen beds. One is a limited ocean view at approximately 225 square feet and our full ocean view at approximately 325 square feet. Our limited QQ rooms can feel small given that we made a choice to have queen size beds versus the smaller double or twin size. The majority of our guests prefer the queen size beds rather than the smaller types as they do not spend a lot of time in the room but also want more room for a better sleeping experience especially when two persons are in a queen. For extended stays or guests that want larger rooms, our premium full ocean view rooms are their choice. Our walls are typical for small Inns, Hotels and Motels that were constructed in the 1950's and 60's. When we remodeled in the past we dry walled over existing plaster walls to improve sound proofing. We have additional plans in the near future to improve noise issues from guests in rooms above or next door. I am sorry that our continental breakfast was not up to your expectations. We get good reviews from many guests about our continental breakfast. We serve flavored croissants, quiches, danish, bagels with flavored cream cheeses and many other baked items from local bakeries catering to hotels. Our linen is supplied to us by a local reputable company. We would have gladly inspected and changed the sheets if we would have been notified of your concern. Our in wall room heaters can sometimes make un-necessary noise due to guests accidentally banging them with their luggage. A simple adjustment of the fan corrects this issue. We have been operating this Inn for over 36 years and will always do what ever is necessary to correct problems or guests issues if we are informed of them while the guest is here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    135
    75
    37
    38
See reviews for
82
148
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

PREFACE: We had never visited Santa Barbara, but had heard raves about what a neat town it is. Decided to go after travels to Orange, CA. Went on the Internet looking for a hotel ... cost was important, and we wanted to be on or near the beach. We booked the Cabrillo given favorable Trip Advisor reviews, rates, and claimed excellent beach location. Which it was!

CHECK-IN: Our drive up from Orange didn't take as long as we expected, so we got to the hotel quite early from published check-in times. I decided to "just ask" if we could get our room early so we could get settled, and then go out and tour the town. The young man running the front-desk was extremely accommodating ... friendly ... and gave us a room.

ROOM: Our booking was for a room with a "partial" ocean view. In our opinion, what we got had a full view ... we could hear the waves rolling in! There was a little patio with a table and chairs in front of our room ... and an open lawn/garden area ... both of which were a delight. The interior was humble, but acceptable. We're more "cot and a pot" travelers, so fanciness, at costliness, isn't worth it to us. The king-bed was good; the room clean; cable TV. The bathroom and shower were small. The hotel, and our room, are not "spring chickens" ... so be prepared for the dating. But this doesn't render it dysfunctional.

PARKING: We were able to park our car just steps from our first-floor room. This was nice!

FACILITIES: The ice machine worked. Yahoo! There is a decent pool, but we didn't use it. The continental breakfast was pretty standard ... coffee, juices, and some rolls. Neat that it was included in the budget-friendly rate. The location was superb ... just across the not-too-busy street from a long stretch of beautiful beach. We laid on the sand for hours sipping cocktails and fading in and out of naps. I could walk back to the room for re-fills in minutes.

FOOD: We had to drive for food. Wish we would have done lunch at the marina, not the pier. It was marginal and spendy at the restaurant we chose ... and not the "ambiance" of the marina. We had dinner on State Street ... which was about a 10 minute drive. This is a way-fun part of town, and we had a great meal.

Our summary opinion is the Cabrillo Inn is an excellent value. We will use it again if we go back to Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thinkntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonySantaBarbara, Owner at Cabrillo Inn at the Beach, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about your experience with us and our beautiful seaside town of Santa Barbara. Yes our Oceanfront "East Beach" location cannot be beat and with our surprisingly affordable rate, allows us to say that we are the best value at the beach. Yes our rooms are fairly standard and but cleanliness and functionality are our primary goal. We have future plans to renovate the interior of all rooms with exterior renovation projects currently in the works. When complete we will continue to offer the traveling public the best oceanfront value along Santa Barbara's pristine beachfront. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again and make sure you try one of our popular "Spinach or Ham" croissants or our quiches served in our continental breakfast ocean view lounge each morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Second time we have stayed here and the location cannot be beaten! The pool area is great, and proximity to beach and Grill cafe perfect for families. Very relaxed feeling to the place, you seem to be able to 'bring your own' anything! Front desk were quick to respond when we had a noisy neighbour. Am not a fan of blankets on beds but otherwise this is a good hotel and great value.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roscopcoltraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights during August. This hotel is very good value for the excellent location but the rooms could do with a little up-dating. We asked for a sea view which was a little extra but well worth it as we had a very large (shared) terrace which was a lovely place to have breakfast or sit with a drink in the evening. Breakfast was included in the price but I must admit we only had drinks as it wasn't that great. Having said that the lady serving the breakfast was lovely - very friendly and helpful. All in all it was a great place as it was such good value.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little extra for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The rooms were typical motel rooms, nothing spectacular, but clean, but the location of the Cabrillo is excellent. Lovely pool and garden in front of the hotel. No restaurants close by (except at the Hyatt next door) but no hardship to take the nice stroll along the prom or the 2 minute drive into town or the Wharf to eat. Tony extremely helpful. Breakfast included, standard fayre. So if you are only staying a couple of nights as we did, good value, standard motel, great location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The rooms are clean, quiet, and good sized. The pool was enjoyable. The hotel's location is across the street from the beach. The breakfast is typical. The hotel is a bit pricey, but reasonable for Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomas29144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I've stayed at the Cabrillo Inn several times over the last 6 years. Now, I'm a low maintenance girl, no need for fancy stuff, so this place is perfection to me! A view of the ocean across the street, a pool kept at a comfortable temp for those cool Santa Barbara evenings, clean, great staff, funky beach vibe that I love! Parking is free, a plus, breakfast is free, a plus, views outstanding. I've stayed in at least 6 of the beach hotels along Cabrillo, and I keep coming back here. It's the best value in town; East Beach is beautiful and I can just walk across the street to East Beach Grill and grab a beer and hit the beach. Nice! When you're in town, make sure to hit Brophy's in the Harbor, Shoreline Grill at Leadbetter Beach for lunch in the sand...literally, State Street for shopping and fine dining, the Original Sambo's for mimosa's and pancakes and the beach! A great biking town too, biked the 13 miles to Carpenteria and hung out there for a day, not a bad ride at all. The location of the Carbrillo Inn is great, and I will return every year for many years to come!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor pretty much all have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzannees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonySantaBarbara, Owner at Cabrillo Inn at the Beach, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you Suzannees for being one of our valued returning guests and your supportive comments. Yes our Ocean front "East Beach" location is in a class of its own. I have been involved with this 36+ year family owned and operated Inn since 1987 and always like enjoying the bike and rollerblading path that runs in front of the Inn. East Beach Grill across the street is a great place for food and drink while soaking up the sun or for just enjoying the spectacular ocean and Channel Island views As stated by many guests like yourself we do offer the best value along Santa Barbara's beachfront. And as stated many times by the Los Angeles Times "Rates as low as you will find along Santa Barbara's beachfront" Thanks again and look forward to the many renovation plans we will be embarking on in the near future. Even after we complete our exterior and interior renovation projects we will still offer our guests the best "Oceanfront" value at our pristine "East Beach" location for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#31 of 52 in Santa Barbara
877 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
947 reviews
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
370 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabrillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabrillo Inn at the Beach

Property: Cabrillo Inn at the Beach
Address: 931 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabrillo Inn at the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cabrillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabrillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Cabrillo Hotel Santa Barbara
Cabrillo Motel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing