We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem in Santa Barbara”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A little gem in Santa Barbara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2007

We stayed at this small hotel for 2 nights during July.
The location is excellent for the major highway and access to the waterfront. With a short walk many good restuarants were accessible. The ample undercover parking was a real bonus in a residential area. The accommodation was roomy albeit a little dated in style and upkeep but the added extras of free bottled water and nice toiletries were appreciated.
The service at reception was attentive and very efficient - the hotel's restaurant recommendations book and in-room information booklet very well presented.
The extra touches extended to a lovely continental style breakfast each day which we enjoyed outside watching the birdlife. The cheese and wine and the freshly baked cookies and milk were a welcome start to the evening.
The swimming pool is somewhat small but as we used it fairly late in the evening we had it to ourselves. The gardens are well tended and attract hummingbirds and acorn woodpeckers.
Noise was never an issue during our stay and the view from our top floor room very pretty.
If we were ever lucky enough to re-visit Santa Barbara we would go back to this hotel.

  • Liked — the attention to detail
  • Disliked — some of the decor was startign to show its age
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BerkshireStewarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    248
    53
    15
    9
See reviews for
188
363
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua Kona Big Island Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2007

My wife, daughter and I stayed there 4 nights. As has been mentioned in previous reviews, it is just off the highway and only a few blocks from the water. Our suite was spacious with a br/lr, small kitchen. They have a nice little fitness room that no one ever uses (except me). They always have food or juice or wine out to drink. Wireless internet, and a computer in the lobby. We had two very minor problems and they took care of them right away - one was run-down batteries in the recumbent bike. I don't remember the second but it was taken care of quickly.

On the down side, the sofa bed pullout was old and not very comfortable and really needs to be replaced. Another issue to be aware of is that the car wash was behind our br. I believe it closed at 10pm so it was not a problem for us. However I would check on that with regards to what suite you get. Our in-laws stayed in a smaller suite and it was clean, and nicely furnished.

We would stay there again, no problem. Price seems to be very competitive.

Amy, Rick & Jennifer Decker
[--]

  • Liked — service and cleanliness
  • Disliked — sofa bed pullout
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank chxirhcdicd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2007

This inn is a couple of blocks from the waterfront and is relatively quiet despite being about one block from the freeway (US101). The inn was formerly the Flamingo and has obviously been renovated fairly recently. Despite the renovations, it still looks like a motel built in the 60's. Nevertheless, there were numerous amenities that were excellent and somewhat unusual.

The amenities included complementary wine and cheese in the reception area in the evening, complimentary DVD's including many recent releases among their extensive list, a nice pool with hot tub, free exercise room and underground parking. My wife (an interior designer) felt that the decorations in the room were in poor taste but I did not mind them at all. The mattress in the room was excellent and my wife, a poor sleeper, felt it was one of the better beds she has ever experienced.

The staff were most helpful and accommodating. They were friendly and efficient. They answered questions about the area and made numerous recommendations to us. There were several good restaurants within walking distance of the inn. It is an easy drive to the major shopping areas of Santa Barbara.

Our son is a student at the University of California, Santa Barbara and we made reservations for a repeat stay at the Las Brisas Del Mar for his graduation in June, 2007. Those reservations were made directly at the hotel with a very helpful staff member. For our visit in May, 2007, the reservations were made directly with the hotel website very easily and efficiently. The hotel website also gives the same rates as the best rates you can get with other online travel agencies.

This location is probably better suited for tourists and leisure travelers than business travelers.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2007

For our first time in a Hotel in Santa Barbara, we chose the Brisas Del Mar because it was advertised as quiet and a short walk to the beach. It was just as promised! In addition to meeting those expectations, we also found the staff to be friendly, the little extras like botteled water in the room and Q-tips and cotton balls to be above and beyond, and the rooms to be just perfect in every way. Granted, it was the off-season and perhaps the area can be noisier during the busy summer months... but the room seemed to be quite sound-proof. The walk to the harbor took about 10 minutes. The only down-side was that there really weren't a great deal of restaurants within walking distance (perhaps more open up in the summer?). But we will happily stay there again!

  • Liked — Extras (breakfast, mini-refrigerator, wine and cheese)
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank YoungLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsoz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2007

The rooms were spacious, yet very dated. The room had an old musty smell. I requested a quiet room and was given a room at the end of the hotel. The hotel is surrounded by apartments, it was noisy and the rooms are dark. The front desk people were focused on the computer and ignored the guests. I would not reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jsoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2006

This place was just what my wife and I were looking for. A small hotel in a charming residential area. The location was about three blocks from the nortn end of the beach. The main shopping district is within walking distance if you are walkers, about 15 blocks. The location is very quiet, we had no trouble at all with noise.
Our room had a bedroom with king sized bed and a TV, a small bathroom, with a tub/shower, FULL kitchen, and a sitting area with another TV, reclinner and couch.
The included breakfast was good, not special. They had afternoon cheese and wine and milk and cookies in the evevning.
Our stay was very enjoyable and would recomend this place to anyone.
Watchmaker

  • Liked — The attractive and comfortable suite
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — If you like small intimate hotels this is the place
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Watchmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2006

We arrived at this beautiful hotel after a week touring California and Nevada and stayed 2 nights but wished we could have stayed much longer. The service was excellent and rooms lovely and clean and very homely. It was also refreshing to stay somewhere that was so personal, had character and was not too big so you felt lost (ie Las Vegas hotels awful for this). Tea and coffee always available and cookies every evening. Childen loved these plus the free DVDs to watch. Hotel only two blocks from beach and some lovely restaurants. Complimentary breakfast was lovely as well - nice choice. Pool was lovely and only got slightly busy at tea time otherwise we had it to ourselves.
We stayed here in the middle of our holiday and, like I said, would have loved to stay longer. No other hotel we stayed at matched Brisas for its friendliness and individuality. If I am lucky enough to get back to California I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — the personal service, individuality and homliness of the rooms (suites beautiful)
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Tips/Secrets — stay longer!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ACARR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
1.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#22 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach

Property: Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach
Address: 223 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3811
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and elegant, the Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach is a romantic Mediterranean-style villa just two blocks from Santa Barbara’s glistening palm-lined beaches and scenic yacht harbor. Brisas del Mar beckons guests with its cascading fountain, sparkling pool, and refined old-world ambiance.A Santa Barbara classic, Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach offers spacious guest rooms, suites, and penthouses, some with full kitchens and fireplaces. The hotel serves a fresh continental breakfast each morning, hosts a wine and cheese reception each afternoon, and provides milk and cookies in the evening.Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach is within walking distance of beautiful West Beach and the oceanfront bike path, the Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the vibrant shops and restaurants lining State Street in downtown. Santa Barbara’s world-class golf courses and renowned wineries are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Brisas Del Mar Hotel
Brisas Del Mar Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing