We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (816)
Filter reviews
816 results
Traveler rating
446
279
62
17
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
446
279
62
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookies and milkwine and cheeseking suitecontinental breakfaststate streetfree dvdscomplimentary champagnedressing roomfull kitchenwalk in closetliving roomfree parkinglate afternooncrackersdvd playerfew blocksfront desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
661 - 666 of 816 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2009

As a frequent traveler, I was quite nervous about booking a hotel in Santa Barbara... no recognizable large hotel brands; mostly boutique styles with a large range of prices. I was pleasantly surprised by the Brisas Del Mar. The hotel service was great and the amenities they offered were good (free wi-fi; bike rental; continental breakfast)... the small things do count. I feel the name is a bit misleading; it is not at the beach... BUT... none of the hotels are on the beach (regardless of what they claim). This hotel is about a half-mile from the beach; easily walkable. If you are used to staying in large hotels like I am (I just came from a week of traveling for business staying at Intercontinental, Hyatt and Marriott) this hotel is different. Not a lot of modern decor or updates like granite, but clean and comfortable. FYI: All the hotels in Santa Barbara that I saw are external style doors, motel style. There was a bit of noise from the parking lot, and the train as mentioned in other reviews, but it was manageable. Overall, a good experience.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
3  Thank FrequentFliers2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

My husband and two teens stayed at the Brisas Del Mar this Oct and had a fabulous time. The hotel and grounds are very well kept, you can tell they take pride in their establishment and it shows. Our room, two queen beds, was very spacious. The beds were incredibly comfortable, I'm very picky. The bathroom set up was perfect for having three girls in the room. A separate vanity and dressing area totally added to the comfort of staying for three nights and being able to spread out our things. We were able to check out a variety of DVD's from the front desk when we wanted to, even though we all fell asleep from too much sunshine and fresh air during each film. When reading other reviews of this hotel no one mentioned being able to rent for free the cruiser bicycles- such an added bonus for seeing the sites. You can take the bikes for up to 4 hours, a true Santa Barbara experience! We loved staying here. The staff was always very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was very good, especially being able to sit outside on the cozy porch. And we always looked forward to a cookie in the afternoon- nice touch! We love Santa Barbara for the beaches, the shopping, the dining, the hiking, biking, sight seeing- there are endless things to see and do. Definitely recommend visiting the courthouse, make sure you get there well before 4:45pm, that's when the tower closes, you need to see the amazing view! Looking forward to planning our next trip back some day soon I hope!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love2ski2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Selecting a hotel via the internet is always a risk. But, in this case we were really pleased with our choice. The location is one of the best in Santa Barbara for walking the waterfront and the city, as well as convenient to good restaurants and the freeways.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DUXBAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

I agree with all other reviews here. Rooms are well appointed, but bathroom outdated. Breakfast is a step above regular continental. Fresh fruit is outstanding. We were in Room 27, which has an outstanding view, but is up 2 flights of stairs. Not sure the A/C would make it to the bathroom in really hot weather, but we were there during a cool spell. Our stay was quiet. Staff/housekeeping friendly and attentive. Not a bad walk to the beach, but State Street is a little further. We used taxis for dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilive4sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Stayed for one night on Fourth of July weekend. Room is just like my apartment. Staff is very friendly and helpful, and the best part is all the free food they offered: wine and cheese in the afternoon, home baked cookies in the evening, and continental breakfast in the morning. By the way, they have a great movie collection, but we spent most of our time at the beach, which is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jssum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews