We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandy A "great place to stay"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2014

we recently went up for presidents day weekend and last minute we got in. It was great the rooms were big and the beds very comfortable! In the room was a bottle of champagne to greet us what a great way to kick off the holiday! The staff especially William was so helpful with everything recomendations of activities, resturants ect...We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandyA59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 781 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

Decent place to stay. Rooms are clean and comfortable. I think I remember they served milk and cookies in the evening!
We just used it as a stopover after driving down the coast on the way to LA. Managed to walk to a local restaurant for dinner. Good option.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Travellingbear44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Greetings from Santa Barbara Travellingbear44!

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Yes, your memory is correct! We offer our guests freshly baked cookies and chilled milk every evening following our daily afternoon wine and cheese reception. As you mentioned, many of our guests enjoy the convenient location to the Santa Barbara waterfront and down town State Street with many restaurants and attractions within walking distance. Should our travel plans bring you back to Santa Barbara, we hope you come visit us again. Warmly, Greg Broussard and the Brisas del Mar team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed here overnight on our way north. We checked in around 6pm and found a busy lobby with wine and cheese waiting to greet us. The check in was great! The lovely lady that assisted us was knowledgeable and filled us in on every detail...even where to grab a brew and bite.
The room was ultra clean. Even though this was an older hotel it is kept up to the minute detail. Big rooms with a bottle of champaign waiting didn't hurt :) Location was great and the atmosphere was wonderful. They have milk and cookies after 6:30 and a really nice breakfast spread. The reason for 4 and not 5 stars is the bathroom was small and no shower light. Other than that I would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Booked a room with king bed for two nights in the dead of socal winter and when we arrived were upgraded to a suite by the great staff (win!).

We stayed Sunday and Monday night's so truth is that they most likely had plenty of available rooms, but we enjoyed the free upgrade.

The room is well furnished and comfy. Full fridge, stove, sink, oven...it's a full blown suite not one of those junior suites!

They include a free breakfast which includes hard boiled eggs, pastries, fruit, jams and peanut butter and of course coffee. All of which were good, not great but hey it's complimentary and not a full fledged restaurant.

The stay also includes the use of bicycles which we enjoyed. The inn is located a few blocks from the shore and there is a nicely marked bike path all around the beach area of Santa Barbara.

We explored the city's urban wine tour and the beach areas both of which are within a short bike ride or walk from the inn. There are also convenience stores nearby for you if you need to pick up some items and/or would like to have drinks in your room...which brings me to wine time!!

The inn hosts wine hours from 4:30-6:30!! They have a nice merlot and a white wine that they generously refill (we made sure they had a reason to refill;) ) the decanters and ensure there is plenty of cheese, almonds, and grapes to compliment the wines.

The staff is very accommodating and the amenities are great all within a good location in the town.

A strong recommendation for folks wanting to explore Santa Barbara!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank mannygoesplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The bf and I decided to do a quick jaunt down to Santa Barbara to round out our vacation weekend. We wanted something that was easy to get to so we decided to take the train down to Santa Barbara. There are a lot of options but after looking online I decided to go with Brisas because the reviews were great. So glad I did!
The inn is a very short walk from the Amtrak station which was perfect for us. The property looks much bigger in the pictures online but it was still a great little inn. Check-in was a breeze, and they let us know about the wine and cheese in the afternoon as well as cookies and milk at night. We also had a very good bottle of champagne that was waiting for us in the room which was a nice little touch.
The room was a good size for our 2 day stay and was quite comfortable. It is a little loud because all the rooms face the walkway and the doors tend to slam rather hard when they are closed. So when people are leaving their rooms you can definitely hear it. Overall though, it didn't deter us from our stay. If you are looking for quiet and peaceful and are staying for longer than a couple of days, this may not work for you.
The staff was all amazingly helpful and friendly, the breakfast was great, and the inn even has cruiser style bikes for guests to borrow (for free) to ride around town.
I'd definitely recommend this inn to travelers doing a quick trip to SB!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel_lure79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Brisas del Mar gives you old-fashioned innkeeping and service in a great location just off 101 and a couple of blocks from the waterfront and from State Street. The folks at reception (especially William) really go out of their way to welcome and show you all the wonderful amenities this small hotel offers. Breakfast, wine and cheese happy hour, evening cookies, a fleet of bicycles with which to explore the waterfront and town ... all complimentary. Valuable recommendations for sightseeing and knowledgeable advice for dinner at any time of the day. Nice swimming pool and hot tub. Very comfortable beds. They also have small suites and full apartments for longer stays. This place really has it all, and for a reasonable price. You can pay a great deal more in Santa Barbara but you simply cannot do better for the money than at Brisas del Mar.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Waterloonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The person who answered the phone really tried to get us a quiet room, which I appreciate, but I found out later from another person at the inn that the room we got was probably not the quietest. If you want quiet, I would NOT recommend our room, room 27 on the 3rd floor. While it is away from the road and gas station, the inn as one block from Amtrak. The night we stayed, there were train whistles at least at 10:30pm, 4am, and 6:30am. My husband is a sound sleeper while I'm not, but these woke both of us. Part of the problem in this room is that the windows aren't full panes of glass; they're slats, so they don't block sound as well. The second floor on that side of the building may be better (provided it's not by stairs, ice machines, housekeeping, etc.).

The bed was comfortable but the pillow top was thinner than I expected (compared to previous experiences using pillowtops).

Otherwise, the people at this property were all very friendly and helpful. Upon check in, they provided very helpful information, including a good list of restaurants.

Also, as many other people have mentioned, this property has good perks.

Overall, we would stay here again now that we know how to get a quieter room.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, get a room with windows that have full glass panes (not slats). Stay on the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RooibosDrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
523 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
899 reviews
1.4 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach

Address: 223 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3811
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $202 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and elegant, the Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach is a romantic Mediterranean-style villa just two blocks from Santa Barbara’s glistening palm-lined beaches and scenic yacht harbor. Brisas del Mar beckons guests with its cascading fountain, sparkling pool, and refined old-world ambiance.A Santa Barbara classic, Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach offers spacious guest rooms, suites, and penthouses, some with full kitchens and fireplaces. The hotel serves a fresh continental breakfast each morning, hosts a wine and cheese reception each afternoon, and provides milk and cookies in the evening.Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach is within walking distance of beautiful West Beach and the oceanfront bike path, the Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the vibrant shops and restaurants lining State Street in downtown. Santa Barbara’s world-class golf courses and renowned wineries are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Brisas Del Mar Hotel
Brisas Del Mar Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing