We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hospitality in characterful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Northants, England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous hospitality in characterful hotel”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The approach to the hotel is past a pond with fountains and dolphin statues. The hotel itself is of interesting architecture and seemed very welcoming with a few tables and chairs outside. We were greeted by William who explained everything to us. He then carried our luggage to our large, well furnished room with a huge king bed that turned out to be one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in. We had our own front door to the room which we always like rather than having to walk down endless indoor corridors. The hospitality was exceptional and included a bottle of champagne in the fridge and free water, red and white wine with cheese and biscuits in the reception from 4.30 to 6.30, cookies and milk after that, and free use of bicycles. We enjoyed our cheese and wine on sofas by the gas log-effect fire in the lounge part of the reception, chatting to two American couples who move in to apartments within the hotel for the whole of the winter to get away from the bad weather in Washington where they came from. They had been coming here for 13 years which certainly says something about the hotel! There is a heated swimming pool and jacuzzi, and a very small gym for the residents' use. All in all we really loved this hotel, and the location was excellent being a short stroll to the marina and seafood restaurants in one direction, and to the town in the other. We would definitely recommend it. The only thing we can find to say that is slightly negative is there was no hot food at all at breakfast, although there was a good selection of continental-style cereals, fruit and breads. The space to eat breakfast could also be very limited if everyone chose to come at the same time.

Room Tip: It's really up to how much space you need and how much you want to pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rose-of-the-Shires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    260
    54
    17
    10
See reviews for
198
379
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Adequate rooms, but main features of the hotel are friendliness of personell and lobby where they serve wine, cheese (between 4.30 -6.30) and cookies and hot chocolate (6.30 a 8.30). They provide a very good (and free) breakfast. Good location, with beach and Main Street at wlking distance. We had a very pleasant stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. The service was very good. We really enjoyed the added touch of wine and cheese in the evening, a chance to meet other travellers and our kids enjoyed the milk and cookies each evening! Though the complex is older, it is well cared for. The suites have a kitchen and though dated, have the basics. The location is okay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz1778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Victoria
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Brisas Del Mar as we were travelling from San Francisco to LA by car. We did not book ahead so when we walked in to see if there was a vacancy for us the staff were very helpful and friendly and were able to accommodate us for the night. The room was very nice, spacious and very quaint. The lobby smelt like cookies as they were serving them, when we checked in we were able to enjoy some. The staff were excellent from everything to where to park, info on Santa Barbara and what to see and do. Very professional the whole time, lovely to talk to. Breakfast in the morning was fantastic, a buffet that was replenished and always fresh. The only thing I found was that in the rooms you could hear a lot of what was going on outside eg: cars moving around and doors from both cars and other rooms, and also people walking around talking. I think this was due to the shutter windows, I am a light sleeper so it probably affected me more than the usual guest (it didn't bother my husband) but I would definitely stay again as you cannot go past the wonderful service and overall the property was fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaFreestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had our block of hotel rooms for our wedding guests through the Brisas Del Mar (some also stayed at their Lavendar Inn and Inn by the Harbor properties), and our guests could not stop raving about how great their stay was!

To begin with, the staff is incredible. They really go out of their way to make sure each guest is taken care of and enjoying their stay. For example, we had last-minute room changes that they easily accommodated, they placed our guest's welcome gifts in each room before they arrived, and they extended the deadline for our wedding block since we knew some guests had not made their reservation yet. One clear example of them going above and beyond was how they left home-made cookies (they have them each evening in the lobby with milk) in guest rooms the night of our rehearsal dinner with a note saying "You may have missed the cookies since you were at the rehearsal, so we thought we would save some for you to enjoy." How nice it that?! Greg, the manager, is a joy to work with, and he is super responsive and helpful with explaining the various options we had for our wedding block.

Okay, so that is about the staff who is clearly great, but the rooms and grounds are also great! The rooms are huge, clean, and up-to-date. The suites have kitchens which was helpful for many of our guests who were staying multiple days. The girls got ready in one of the penthouses and the guys got ready in another. There were about 15 girls in the one penthouse and there was more than enough room (we probably could have fit 30 for getting ready) especially since we also had our own private patio that the makeup artist used since it provided natural light. The lobby is inviting and we had guest congregate there on the Friday for the wine and cheese reception (they hold this each night just like with providing the home-made cookies) as well as breakfast the Sunday after the wedding. There is amble space outside for people to enjoy too.

I could go on and on about the positive attributes about the Brisas Del Mar, but it basically boils down to them having superb staff and great accommodations. I highly recommend people stay at the Brisas Del Mar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leanaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My girlfriends and I visited Santa Barbara for the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer. There was absolutely nothing that I didn't like about this place and although the entire staff was great, one man stands out in the crowd. That would be William. He made sure that we had everything we needed. He made or reservations for us, gave us great recommendations and even took care of cancellations too! They have milk and cookies in the evening and we found our favorites which William made sure we had every night. Then after walking a lot of miles on Saturday we came back to our rooms to find Bubble bath and roses in our room that had been left by another staff member. I would absolutely stay at this hotel again! My friend who travels quite often mentioned that she wished every hotel had a William. Go visit, you wont regret it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeAnna4681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I would definitely stay here again. The staff is very friendly, welcoming, and helpful-- they truly make you feel glad you chose this hotel. Don't expect the latest in design -- this is obviously an older hotel, but it is clean, tastefully decorated, and well-maintained inside and out. The rooms are spacious. The suite includes a full kitchen (the appliances are a bit dated, but all in working order) and the living space made a nice place to relax. The many outside patios were welcome during the unseasonably-warm 70+ degree Christmas, and others who were more prepared in their packing had swimsuits to enjoy the pool and spa. But the highlight of the stay was the staff and their willingness to make our stay pleasant: Great referrals on good places to eat, great pastries in the free continental breakfast, plus wine and cheese before dinner, cookies and milk after dinner, free DVDs, free internet, free parking. We were VERY satisfied with our stay, and would love to return for another trip!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,051 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
398 reviews
1.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
763 reviews
1.4 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach

Property: Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach
Address: 223 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3811
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and elegant, the Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach is a romantic Mediterranean-style villa just two blocks from Santa Barbara’s glistening palm-lined beaches and scenic yacht harbor. Brisas del Mar beckons guests with its cascading fountain, sparkling pool, and refined old-world ambiance.A Santa Barbara classic, Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach offers spacious guest rooms, suites, and penthouses, some with full kitchens and fireplaces. The hotel serves a fresh continental breakfast each morning, hosts a wine and cheese reception each afternoon, and provides milk and cookies in the evening.Brisas del Mar, Inn at the Beach is within walking distance of beautiful West Beach and the oceanfront bike path, the Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the vibrant shops and restaurants lining State Street in downtown. Santa Barbara’s world-class golf courses and renowned wineries are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Brisas Del Mar Hotel
Brisas Del Mar Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing