We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly clean and comfy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn by the Harbor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn by the Harbor
Ranked #4 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly clean and comfy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Lovely place to stay, were surprised to find our twin bed room also had a small kitchen with recently refurbished bathroom. Room very comfy and clean and quiet. Parking right outside our room although we came in on Amtrac. Very short walk from the station. Staff made us very welcome. Wine and cheese in reception in afternoon and milk and cookies in evening. Nice heated pool and hot tub. Lovely gardens well maintained. Free use of Cruiser cycles from sister hotel across the car park. Breakfast also available consisting Yogurts, cereals, pastries, fresh fruit, toast with tea/coffee/fresh juice. Would definitely stay again, well recommended. Short walk to Harbour and pier. Great pub close by Brewhouse. Excellent meals and friendly including dogs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    261
    68
    27
    6
See reviews for
149
417
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Lots of character traditional feel and a sister hotel adjoining it that has a useable (better) reception. Cheese & wine free daily early evening plus a large DVD selection also complimentary. Nice short walk to the marina. There's a great bar nearby called The Brewhouse which had live music.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmytheshoe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at Inn by the Harbor, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Greetings James T.

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Inn by the Harbor and for taking time to share your experience with TripAdvisor viewers. With so much to see and do in Santa Barbara we are delighted to hear you were able to take advantage of our complimentary treats such as our afternoon wine & cheese reception and movie rentals. As you mentioned, many of our guests enjoy our convenient location to State Street, the waterfront, and nearby spas, attractions, and restaurants. We look forward to seeing you again.

Warmly, Greg Broussard, and the Inn by the Harbor team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
371 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Tricky little place to find off the highway, but once there we were suitably impressed.
We arrived fairly early in the day from Los Angeles and were unable to check in. (Around noon).
We had our details checked and were advised to return later to check in properly.
We just headed into town to check out the vibe there. Once back, nothing was an issue and we were welcomed properly, given a plan of the Inn, a parking permit, a list of timings for the front desk, pool and spa. Pool towels, bike cruisers and dvds were also available should you have needed them. Little eating sessions in the foyer of the hotel to grab wine and cheese were also laid on for the guests, followed up with milk and cookies. Difficult to imagine, however, it works! The foyer/reception is not particularly large but, but it's an innovative use of space. Free internet access for guests and a printer for your convenience. Great touch!!
We spent some time there both inside and out, as there were tables and chairs outside to munch on your cookies if that's what you want to do.
The jacuzzi at The Inn was literally outside our room and the night before we left, we spent a good hour relaxing in it with no disturbances.
For us, there was a quaint yet functional feel to the Inn.
Would return!

Room Tip: All rooms surround the tropical garden area, and the pool. Seemingly, all the rooms are quiet. That...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank domidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at Inn by the Harbor, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Greetings from Santa Barbara Domidge!

Thank you for visiting us all the way from London. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and are appreciate your sharing your experience with other TripAdvisor guests. Please visit us again should your travels bring you back to Santa Barbara. We would love to see you again! Warmly, Greg Broussard and the Inn by the Harbor team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

This was a lovely little stopover hotel for our trip up the coast. The harbour was only a few minutes walk and the shops too were only a few minutes in the other direction. It is more of a motel but it's well kept. You can park outside your room and there are only two levels of accommodation. There is a walk way in the middle of the accommodation block which can get a bit noisy with people passing. The shower did not get particularly hot but it was fine for me. We loved the Jacuzzi and pool and only wished there was more sunlight for an autumn evening.
The free wine and cheese followed by cookies and milk was a lovely treat for the weary traveller. It's worth a walk down to the harbour and onto the pier.
Breakfast is continental and there isn't a great deal of seating as you're basically eating in the reception but we were only there for one day so it didn't bother us too much. I don't think it's suitable for a long stay but is a perfect place to stopover.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

A slight notch above a road side motel with a dressed-up front facade. The hotel is sandwiched between a couple apartment buildings. A gas station with mini-mart can be found within a short walk but you'll probably want to drive to get to other destinations in the area. Rooms face a courtyard with a shared walkway overlooking a swimming pool. It can get a bit noisy from the shared walkways running on both sides of the room (one facing the parking lot of adjacent apartments and the other into the courtyard). Noise also crept in from adjacent guest rooms during our stay. The room was clean though aging. The staff was polite. Everything was of average quality like you'd find at other motels and there are plenty of options in the area.
If you set your expectations for a roadside motel, you'll find this place satisfactory. The marketing photos and description of the Inn set our expectations higher and left us disappointed

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdLucero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Whoever took the photographs of this property for the website is a genius. Another reason I should read more reviews before I choose a place for the night.

It might be possible to think that this is a quaint Spanish style Inn with character and a host of pleasant views. That would be incorrect.

Its a standard motel on a busy street. You park your car facing the door of your room. Its a motel.
The free stuff they offer in the lobby - OK why don't you guess, does it seem likely to you that the cheese, wine, cookies etc are lovingly handcrafted in an extensive organic farm kitchen attached to the property. Or do you think they went to food 4 less and got the cheapest stuff they could buy? Honestly, just because its free doesn't mean its worth your time.

If I wanted to hang out at a Super 8 for my social time, I would. Come to think of it, I would probably see my doctor first.

Its clean. The one staff member we saw the whole time was friendly. Its easy to park your car.

I could forgive most things if this was cheap, but it wasn't really. The one thing I cant forgive, at 8.30 in the morning there was no hot water. Come on kids, there aren't too many cardinal sins for hotel owners but this is one of them.

Room Tip: rooms entered from the courtyard are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Traveler2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Although a few weeks since we returned, this hotel was one of the best (and best value) we stayed in with good sized rooms with kitchen and good facilities. As stated in other reviews, the addition of wine, cheese and biscuits in the afternoon is a nice touch and good buffet continental breakfast. The room and bed extremely comfortable and would thoroughly recommend. The front desk staff also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MB51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#23 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.2 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Harbor

Property: Inn by the Harbor
Address: 433 W. Montecito St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn by the Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among tropical gardens beneath the swaying palms, the Inn by the Harbor is an enchanting Santa Barbara hotel and resort escape. Built in the Spanish Colonial tradition, the white adobe inn features red tile roofs, inlaid tile staircases, wrought iron embellishments, and a heated pool. The Inn is just a short walk from Santa Barbara's golden beaches, yacht harbor, and oceanfront restaurants. The guest rooms at our Santa Barbara hotel and retreat are decorated with Spanish Mediterranean style furnishings. Many also feature full kitchens, which make them ideal for vacations and extended stay lodging. The Inn serves a deluxe continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese, and evening milk and cookies.The Inn by the Harbor hotel is within walking distance of many Santa Barbara attractions including West Beach and the beachfront bike path, the yacht harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the vibrant shops and cafes lining State Street. Golf courses, wineries, and the Santa Barbara Mission are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn by the Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Harbor Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing