We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roadside Motel”
Review of Inn by the Harbor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn by the Harbor
Ranked #4 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

A slight notch above a road side motel with a dressed-up front facade. The hotel is sandwiched between a couple apartment buildings. A gas station with mini-mart can be found within a short walk but you'll probably want to drive to get to other destinations in the area. Rooms face a courtyard with a shared walkway overlooking a swimming pool. It can get a bit noisy from the shared walkways running on both sides of the room (one facing the parking lot of adjacent apartments and the other into the courtyard). Noise also crept in from adjacent guest rooms during our stay. The room was clean though aging. The staff was polite. Everything was of average quality like you'd find at other motels and there are plenty of options in the area.
If you set your expectations for a roadside motel, you'll find this place satisfactory. The marketing photos and description of the Inn set our expectations higher and left us disappointed

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EdLucero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 781 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

Whoever took the photographs of this property for the website is a genius. Another reason I should read more reviews before I choose a place for the night.

It might be possible to think that this is a quaint Spanish style Inn with character and a host of pleasant views. That would be incorrect.

Its a standard motel on a busy street. You park your car facing the door of your room. Its a motel.
The free stuff they offer in the lobby - OK why don't you guess, does it seem likely to you that the cheese, wine, cookies etc are lovingly handcrafted in an extensive organic farm kitchen attached to the property. Or do you think they went to food 4 less and got the cheapest stuff they could buy? Honestly, just because its free doesn't mean its worth your time.

If I wanted to hang out at a Super 8 for my social time, I would. Come to think of it, I would probably see my doctor first.

Its clean. The one staff member we saw the whole time was friendly. Its easy to park your car.

I could forgive most things if this was cheap, but it wasn't really. The one thing I cant forgive, at 8.30 in the morning there was no hot water. Come on kids, there aren't too many cardinal sins for hotel owners but this is one of them.

Room Tip: rooms entered from the courtyard are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Traveler2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Although a few weeks since we returned, this hotel was one of the best (and best value) we stayed in with good sized rooms with kitchen and good facilities. As stated in other reviews, the addition of wine, cheese and biscuits in the afternoon is a nice touch and good buffet continental breakfast. The room and bed extremely comfortable and would thoroughly recommend. The front desk staff also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MB51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Inn by the Harbor is a great little hotel. Good clean rooms and within walking distance of Santa Barbara's foreshore and shops.
One of the great extras is the wine & cheese gathering for guests in the afternoon. This is a great idea and a chance to share travel stories and meet others. This is followed by milk and cookies before bed. Great idea!

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

On a two day holiday trip to Santa Barbara choose this hotel on strip advisor recommendation.We were not disappointed This is an old style hotel a short pleasant walk from the harbour . Beds were really comfortable bathroom a little small but perfectly adequate .The pool is excellent car parking is free Wine white and red are provided free each evening The Merlot was lovely Continental breakfast also free is more than adequate Reception was excellent The young lady was very friendly and knowledgable about the area and gave helpful advice I would stay here again

Room Tip: Choose deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rory80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our base for touring Santa Barbara and the Channel Islands. Easy access to Ventura Harbor for the boat to Santa Cruz. Really have to emphasize the cheerfulness and ability of the Inn staff. Wine/cheese on arrival 10/12/2013 smoothed rough edges. Breakfast buffet is quite good - includes options such as boiled eggs, fresh-fruit yogurt, and muesli. Coffee available just about all the time. While we didn't use them, bicycles are available and the Inn is easy walking distance (like three blocks - and no having to cross highways or busy roads) to the beach. Frankly, we felt pretty fortunate to have found the Inn by the Harbor, thanks to other TripAdvisor reviews. One evening, we dined by the swimming pool. The pricing for two nights was competitive, with helpful staff. [Note: we appreciated Liz's ability to multi-task by checking in multiple guests at once. After a long trip to get to the hotel, quick check-in was truly welcome.]

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor open directly onto a very pretty shared courtyard. If being on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrademarkTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in September 2013. We're in our 50s, and we like our home comforts!! This place is a little oasis. There is free parking, free wi-fi, free wine and cheese (didn't try the free milk and cookies), huge room (very clean and tidy), very friendly and helpful staff in Reception, free internet access and printer in Reception, lovely continental breakfast (to eat indoors or out), and only 10 minutes walk to the harbour - what's not to like? Actually, we LOVED this place - it was certainly one of the nicest hotels we stayed in on our road trip. It we return to Santa Barbara, we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: In our ground floor room there was some noise from people walking around in the room above - so an u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolBoy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
899 reviews
0.2 mi away
Franciscan Inn & Suites
Franciscan Inn & Suites
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Eagle Inn
The Eagle Inn
#2 of 18 in Santa Barbara
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Harbor

Address: 433 W Montecito St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3880
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $181 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn by the Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among tropical gardens beneath the swaying palms, the Inn by the Harbor is an enchanting Santa Barbara hotel and resort escape. Built in the Spanish Colonial tradition, the white adobe inn features red tile roofs, inlaid tile staircases, wrought iron embellishments, and a heated pool. The Inn is just a short walk from Santa Barbara's golden beaches, yacht harbor, and oceanfront restaurants. The guest rooms at our Santa Barbara hotel and retreat are decorated with Spanish Mediterranean style furnishings. Many also feature full kitchens, which make them ideal for vacations and extended stay lodging. The Inn serves a deluxe continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese, and evening milk and cookies.The Inn by the Harbor hotel is within walking distance of many Santa Barbara attractions including West Beach and the beachfront bike path, the yacht harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the vibrant shops and cafes lining State Street. Golf courses, wineries, and the Santa Barbara Mission are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn by the Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Harbor Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing