We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome return”
Review of Inn by the Harbor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn by the Harbor
Ranked #4 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A welcome return”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just spent a lovely 6 night stay at the Inn by the Harbor. After my extended stay last year due to my Dad's hospital stay, it was good to return with my husband and have a relaxing break. As before, the staff are very welcoming and helpful. The bedrooms have the most comfortable beds and a big bonus is the complimentary breakfast, tea and coffee available throughout the day, as well as the cheese and wine hour and milk and cookies in the evening. Also a special thank you to Antony who sent his regards to my Dad, and a big thank you to the staff for the lovely bottle of champagne and chocolates awaiting us in our room on arrival.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road. It will be quieter. We had a 2 queen bed deluxe room with ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    266
    69
    27
    7
See reviews for
152
425
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for one night in a Queen Queen Deluxe room (second floor room no.226), and as others have said ignore the rather delapidated motel next door, and enjoy the way this motel makes the most of things- lots of flower tubs to brighten the outside up, a well kept garden area in the centre, a bench for every room on the shared balconies, a nice pool area (more loungers maybe though) and a welcoming reception area too.
Check in time is 3p.m. and we arrived at midday so did find that we had to leave our luggage in the car as they have no facilities to keep it on site, and no customer toilet either although we were allowed to use the staff toilet in the kitchen- not brilliant but better than nothing! The receptionist on duty was a bit brusque but did supply a map and directions so we could head off to explore Santa Barbara until check in time - on our return Lily was on duty and she was as different again- so welcoming and helpful, and all other staff after that were also lovely.
The hotel is very convenient, and although the name may suggest otherwise, it is about a ten minute walk to the start of the harbour/beach area, and a fifteen minute walk by a different route to State Street with all it's shops and restaurants- would recommend Chase Restaurant and Lounge on State Street (Italian with loads of atmosphere and great staff) and Santa Barbara Shellfish Co. at the end of the pier ( specialise in crab, watch the cooks at work, very casual just turn up and wait for a table, great atmosphere), and for a great view of the town visit the Historic Courthouse on Anacapa Street, it's gorgeous, make sure you go to the roof for that 360 degree view!
Back to the hotel now, and our room was surprisingly large with two very comfortable queen beds, a table and chairs, and a full sized kitchen, which we wished we'd have had the opportunity to use, it would be great for self catering if you were there for several days! The bathroom was a bit dated, but very clean with good water pressure in the shower. You entered the room from the car park side and then had patio doors opening on to the shared balcony/walkway overlooking the central garden area/pool- very pleasant! Hotel was pretty busy but had no problems with noise day or night.
Breakfast was included in the price and you could eat it in the reception area or take it to the outside patio or pool area- it was a good mix of cereals, fruit, cakes and beverages, and my only complaint would have to be the plastic cutlery- ugh! The cheese and wine hour and the milk and cookies in the evening were welcome included extras!
So in summary we enjoyed our short stay here and would have no problem recommending it, or in fact staying there again in the future!

Room Tip: Rooms on car park side more convenient for moving luggage, and would expect second floor rooms to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judyg54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel was delightful. Upon arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome and given a large room/suite with a shared balcony overlooking the pool. Although slightly dated in part, the room was very clean and comfortable.

The complimentary wine and cheese every afternoon is a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at the Inn by the Harbor for one night in Sept. This place has great hospitality and from the moment arrived we felt very comfortable and looked after. There was fresh coffee in reception all of the time (as well as facilities in the room), cheese & wine to sample in the afternoon, homemade cookies and milk in the evening, fantastic buffet breakfast.... the list goes on!
Rooms were very comfortable and a nice pool and jacuzzi to use
Fantastic place to stay and highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dafyddgibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were welcomed at reception by Lily who was the friendliest and most helpful of 9 hotels we stayed in during our holiday. She explained all about hotel and added her own local knowledge recommending restaurants to visit.
Room was large with kitchen (which we didnt use), but all a bit dated. Pool was lovely and the wine and cheese at 4pm was a lovely touch as was the complimentary breakfast.
Thanks Lily for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlMacScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Having just had an awful nights sleep at our last hotel, we pulled up at this one thinking oh no not again!! from the outside it looked like a normal motel, but going in we felt different, we were offered cold lemonade and biscuits,nice touch!! given our key and walked into our room from the car parking area,we were so pleased when we walked in to find we had been given a dulux room with a kitchen!! heaven!! staff very friendly, lovely free wine and cheese and biscuits at 4.30 every day, also milk and cookies about 6, lovely touch, really enjoyed our stay, and would go back, the only downside was around the pool, not enough sun beds.

Room Tip: ask for a king size delux suite, wonderful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisandmuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Spent two nights here. Very convenient location and clean. The room had a full kitchen and was very spacious. Looks like apartments converted to a hotel.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Wine and cheese offered every evening was a nice touch. And the wine was very good. breakfast was also a welcome addition.
walking distance to State St, where all the shops and restaurants are.
Overall, very nice place to stay. Will take the kids next time. We could use the heated pool then.

Room Tip: Second floor as the bottom floor has to deal with noisy walkers above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asanka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.5 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
329 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
670 reviews
1.6 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Harbor

Property: Inn by the Harbor
Address: 433 W Montecito St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3880
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn by the Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among tropical gardens beneath the swaying palms, the Inn by the Harbor is an enchanting Santa Barbara hotel and resort escape. Built in the Spanish Colonial tradition, the white adobe inn features red tile roofs, inlaid tile staircases, wrought iron embellishments, and a heated pool. The Inn is just a short walk from Santa Barbara's golden beaches, yacht harbor, and oceanfront restaurants. The guest rooms at our Santa Barbara hotel and retreat are decorated with Spanish Mediterranean style furnishings. Many also feature full kitchens, which make them ideal for vacations and extended stay lodging. The Inn serves a deluxe continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese, and evening milk and cookies.The Inn by the Harbor hotel is within walking distance of many Santa Barbara attractions including West Beach and the beachfront bike path, the yacht harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the vibrant shops and cafes lining State Street. Golf courses, wineries, and the Santa Barbara Mission are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn by the Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Harbor Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing