We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest staff ever!”
Review of Inn by the Harbor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn by the Harbor
Ranked #4 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The friendliest staff ever!”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We loved this hotel! Great location, nice rooms and most importantly, a staff that gets it, especially William and Lauren.

Because the hotel provides breakfast, happy hour and a nighttime snack, we had plenty of time to interact with the genuinely warm and friendly staff, who graciously structured our entire three day vacation for us. We were directed to the best restaurants, wineries, tours and activities. Their enthusiasm was a key component of our wonderful Santa Barbara vacation.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjbfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    274
    70
    28
    7
See reviews for
164
436
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

It´s all, nice place, nice people and nice city. Good value. Good location, Bikes, pool, wine, and more.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PauloRFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

When we arrived at this location it looked so different to the photos on the website that we almost didn't recognise it. This is very much a motel and not a hotel, but once we got inside we were pleasantly surprised. Our room (42) was very large with a huge bed, dining area and small kitchen. It is also one of two rooms with a private balcony which is great as you don't get people walking by at night. The rooms do need updating, but it is very clean. The pool is small but lovely and clean and warm. One great bonus is that there is a small laundry room with washing machine and dryer which is really great when you are on a long trip and both machines only cost one dollar to use.

The breakfast was surprisingly good for complimentary - best banana bread I have ever tasted! The compliemntary wine was also a treat.

This place is defintely not a hotel - more a motel, but although it is really close to the freeway, the traffic noise didn't really bother us at all. Be prepared for a good 10 minute walk into the main shopiing/restaurant areas, but only 5 minutes to the beach and pier.

Santa Barbara is really lovely - visit The Mission and try the lobster in the restaurant right at the end of the pier!

Room Tip: Request rooms 41 or 42 for more privacy - although they are on second floor (first floor to us from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Over priced and VERY poor value. Rooms clean but desperately need modernising. Breakfast in hotel foyer - if you can find a table - and paper plates and plastic cutlery. Not what you expect for $270 per night ! Glorified low class motel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francophile32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at Inn by the Harbor, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Greetings Francophi, please let me offer my apologies for your disappointment with our hotel. Our wonderful team works diligently to maintain a fresh, warm, and comforting environment for our guests so it is disappointing to hear you were less than satisfied with your guestroom. We value the opinions of our guests as well as cherish the beauty of our natural environment so please know have recently replaced our paper goods with reusable dishware. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve the services and offer our guests the true meaning of our hotel experience. Warmly, Greg Broussard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Stayed here on the first night of a California road trip so didn't really have the opportunity to make the most of the facilities here. Really great welcome, great tip on where to eat, reasonable sized room with comfortable beds, pretty decent continental breakfast for what we paid. Overall good value for money. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HCT120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights on 13th & 14th September. I had emailed the hotel prior to our arrival to ask for a room on an upper floor and that is what we got. Inn by the Harbor is a charming motel style hotel and the rooms overlook a quiet palm tree lined inner courtyard, really picturesque and quiet. We arrived in the early evening after a day's drive down the Pacific Highway from Santa Rosa so the complimentary wine and cheese served each evening between 4.30pm & 6.30pm was a welcome treat. Our room backed onto the car park at the rear of the hotel. It was very well equipped with a microwave and coffee machine, very comfortable. Frank checked us in, he was very friendly and later gave us a recommendation for a great bar down the road, the Brewhouse, and a Mexican Restaurant/Take Away, Rudy's, It was a little rough round the edges but the food was very tasty, albeit in true american tradition, the portions were huge. The following morning we had the Continental breakfast which was described as "deluxe" and it certainly didn't disappoint. This was our 4th stop of a 2 week vacation around the west coast and this breakfast was by far the best so far. We enjoyed Santa Barbara and found life centres around State Street, parts of which, were nicer than others. We had a great meal at Spice Avenue and were lucky to be there on Wednesday evening when they hold the buffet for $12.95 per head. This certainly wasn't like the traditional buffets we're used to in our local restaurants at home, the choice of food and flavours were fantastic and lots of Indian people eating there too, which is always a good sign. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Santa Barbara and were so pleased that we chose the Inn by the Harbor a fantastic hotel in what, we felt, was the best location in town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuskyLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed for two nights at this very nice beach hotel. The front desk staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. Our room, which was an upgrade with a full kitchen, was very bright and sunny and overlooked a restful flower garden, as do all rooms. The complimentary breakfast had a much nicer array of pastries and fruits than the standard continental breakfast. We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room, to avoid having other guests walk past your windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
398 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,051 reviews
1.6 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
764 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Harbor

Property: Inn by the Harbor
Address: 433 W Montecito St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3880
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn by the Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among tropical gardens beneath the swaying palms, the Inn by the Harbor is an enchanting Santa Barbara hotel and resort escape. Built in the Spanish Colonial tradition, the white adobe inn features red tile roofs, inlaid tile staircases, wrought iron embellishments, and a heated pool. The Inn is just a short walk from Santa Barbara's golden beaches, yacht harbor, and oceanfront restaurants. The guest rooms at our Santa Barbara hotel and retreat are decorated with Spanish Mediterranean style furnishings. Many also feature full kitchens, which make them ideal for vacations and extended stay lodging. The Inn serves a deluxe continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese, and evening milk and cookies.The Inn by the Harbor hotel is within walking distance of many Santa Barbara attractions including West Beach and the beachfront bike path, the yacht harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the vibrant shops and cafes lining State Street. Golf courses, wineries, and the Santa Barbara Mission are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn by the Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Harbor Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing