We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, even if it's a mile or so from the beach and downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place, even if it's a mile or so from the beach and downtown”
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed in a huge apartment style room, with 2 bedrooms, sitting room and a kitchenette. Decor was a little dated but quaint. Overall, great value. Lovely swimming pool too. The only downside (and it's a small downside really) is that it's too far to walk to the beach or downtown. But then again everyone drives in USA so perhaps that doesn't matter!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ooty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    256
    105
    36
    15
See reviews for
308
202
33
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed in the hotel for four days. My room was fine. I didnt plan on staying in there all day. I had family with rooms around the pool,and lounged all day. The staff was none stop cleaning the grounds. Everyone at the front desk was great. The only complaint i have is the pool and hot tub hours.. Needed em open later!! The price is a bit steep for what your getting,but its santa barbara what are people complaing about. .. Last but not least Ivan was the man in The Alves Cafe.. Good food,great staff, and one hell of a mojito!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlaxin34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
154 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

My friend and I stayed at this hotel June 25-27, 2010. The hotel is in the middle of a decent neighborhood a few blocks down from State Street (the main drag with many shops, restaurants, bars).

It's an older hotel that hasn't been remodeled in a while. The wallpaper was peeling a tiny bit in a few spots, but it wasn't bad. The upside is that it was clean, quiet and roomy. It also provided one bathrobe and two chairs. The beds were a bit hard. Water pressure in the shower was excellent and the water got really hot, which is how I like it. We ate breakfast at the restaurant one morning and it was fine.

We paid $214/night, which I hear is about the cheapest rate you'll get in Santa Barbara in the summer. If I was willing to spend $300+ per night, I would have opted for a hotel at the beach, but oh well. This hotel was fine if you're looking for a less expensive option.

If you're into wine tasting, check out Cloud Climbers. We had a lot of fun with tour guide Joseph, who was laid back and fun while taking us to 4 wineries and having lunch at a vineyard.

For dinner, Holdren's on State Street was really good. Joe's was great for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beach bum in ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
Greetings from Santa Barbara, Beach Bum in Ohio!

I am happy to hear you and your friends enjoyed your visit to Santa Barbara and especially your stay at the Best Western Encina Lodge & Suites. Please know that based on your comments, our Housekeeping Team has refreshed the wallpaper in your guestroom, providing a lovely environment for our guests. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and hope to see you again during your next visit to Santa Barbara.

Carol Wolford, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Ewwwww!!! We didn't! We left. No refund for our $200 night that we didn't stay cuz it was so disgusting! I don't even know where to begin from the bathroom black hairs to the wallpaper covering up the mold. It is such a rip off !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hadn't seen a Zenith TV in a while...
This place needs a serious makeover!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank artladyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2010
Greetings from Santa Barbara artladyla!

You have many hotels to choose from when visiting Santa Barbara so I am terribly disappointed to hear you were unhappy with the condition of your guestroom. I am honestly shocked to read your review as our entire hotel team takes great pride in the cleanliness of our guestrooms and grounds. We are continually updating our furniture and décor and are in the process of replacing all of our TV’s with flat screens. Please know that I have shared your comments with our housekeeping team and we will do everything possible to ensure all of our guestrooms are cleaned to our utmost standards.

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, giving us the opportunity to better serve all of our guests. If your travels bring you back to Santa Barbara, please feel free to contact me directly and I will personally ensure your next stay will be pleasant.

Warmly,

Carol Wolford
General Manager
Best Western Encina Lodge & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana,Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Where do I begin? I am currently staying at this hotel on spring break. I booked this hotel online for my family vacation. First when we got in the shuttle picked us and told us he would take us back to the airport to pickup our rental car, he told us to check with the front desk. When we did the front desk agent (Akio) acted very strange and said thats not something the usually do but he would do it this time. (Eventhough he had two guest how had just checked out waiting for their shuttle ride to the Airport) We decided to call a cab and he seemed relived .

When we got in our room was'nt quite ready and we were hungry and without our car yet so we decided to go to the restaurant . We arrived at 1:15 pm and the front desk agent said the restaurant would be closing at 2pm . We went directly to the restaurant and they had a wait person sitting in the restaurant and said they were closed.
we went back to wait in the lobby and told the front desk agent and he said the did'nt tell him but he really didnt seem to care.
This was very frustrating as I add specifically booked my hotel based on having a restaurant that was open for breakfast ,lunch, dinner and room service. This is what is posted on their website .

Now to the rooms . First off on the plus side it is quite large with a kitchen which is good for a traveling family of four. But OMG the decor is stuck some where between the 60's , 70's , and 80's. This would be such a great bargain if they spent some money and upgraded these rooms. Floral wall paper on every inch of the rooms, mustard colored tile in the kitchen and bathrooms. 70's plaid sectional sofa in the living room .
Even the nick knack decore in the rooms is old (I had a cookbook printed in 1955? in the kitchen) Nohing matches , this looks like stuff just thrown in the room!!!! And for the icing on the cake POP CORN CEILINGS????????? And how about adding a fitness room?

This place could truly be a jewel if the would THEY WOULD JUST SPEND SOME MONEY AND UPGRADE!
Unfortuately we wre stuck as we had prepaid and they had a no cancellation or refund policy. Frustrating because you only get so many vacation days and since there is not a whole lot to do in Santa Barbara we really wanted to stay in a nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyxmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encinamgr, Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Dear Ladyxmas,



Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Best Western Encina Lodge & Suites. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor and sharing your experience with us. Its guests like you who are the true travel experts.


As you can imagine it disappoints us to read your comments regarding your experience with our hotel and the Encina Café. We take comments such as yours very seriously, because we care about the quality of your experience from the instant you make your reservation to the moment you leave our hotel.



We do offer complimentary shuttle service to and from the Santa Barbara Airport as well as the Amtrak station. I apologize if you were given incorrect information and that we seemed confused at your request. Please know that I have addressed this issue with all of our guest service agents to make sure they understand our policies and pass the correct information on to all of our guests.



You will be pleased to learn that our restaurant, the Encina Café, is now under new management. The new management team is eager and ready to please all of our guests with quality food and exceptional service.



We are constantly updating our rooms and trying to make them comfortable for all of our travelers. I will personally go over the room that you were in and update it as much as I can.



I would like to have another opportunity to make up for the problems you experienced, and earn back your trust. I am certain that we have accommodations you will enjoy.



If you travel to our area again, please call me direct so I can personally assist you.



Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel and for giving us the opportunity to better serve all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2010

We were tired from driving, and didn't want to spend a lot of money for just a few hours in a hotel room, and that is the only reason we stayed here. The rooms are like a collection of flea market items all thrown in a room with flowered wallpaper, painted paneling, outdated tile and shag carpet. I truthfully felt that they should pay me to stay here! The beds were hard and not well made. All the mirrors in the room are overwhelming and actually a little freaky. I have looked at past reviews and have noticed the trend that the owner responds to the ratings, and I appreciate that they seem to care about the comments they receive, so hopefully they will consider remodeling after reading this.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, March 18, 2010
Greetings Penna!

Please let me begin by apologizing for your dissatisfaction in your guestroom. We are fortunate to have wonderful staff who take great pride in the condition of our hotel grounds and the décor in each guestroom, which is why it is disappointing to learn that you were extremely unhappy with your guestroom.

I can assure you that we only provide the best carpeting for our guestrooms. We don’t believe in shampooing carpeting, rather we replace them as often as necessary. We’ve recently purchased new furniture for selected guestrooms as we are constantly updating our décor and furnishings. The mirrors in each guestroom were installed per AAA requirements and many of our guests like the added light they bring to the rooms and the convenience of their location. Please be assured that our housekeeping team will diligently inspect every bed and replace them as necessary.

If your travels bring you back or through Santa Barbara, I truly hope you would consider giving us another try. Please feel free to contact me directly and I will be happy to accommodate your reservation and select a beautifully decorated and comfortable guestroom to meet your needs.

Kind regards,

Carol Wolford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washougal, wa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2010

This was our second stay at the Best Western Encina Lodge . The grounds are hand swept each day, the rooms are quiet- no thin walls here! There is someone at the desk 24/7 to assist with concerns, make restaurant reservations or offer information. The "Daily Grind" is a 21/2 block neighborhood walk for great espresso and "downtown" SantaBarbara is a 5-10 min. drive. The on site restaurant was about to change management and was without merit on our most recent stay. This may change . Fortunately there is a great I HOP about half way between the Encina and town for a great breakfast! There is a Salon on site that seems popular.
We will stay here whenever we visit Santa Barbara.








9

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watraveler009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
2.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
924 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
1.2 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,020 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Address: 2220 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-4322 (Formerly Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a quiet residential street lined with turn-of-the-century homes, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites in Santa Barbara offers all the amenities of a small luxury hotel with the charm of a bed and breakfast inn. Relax by the garden pool, enjoy the aviary, book a massage, or simply unwind on your own private patio or balcony. Ideal for extended stays or family vacations, Encina Lodge offers a variety of accommodations, including guest rooms, suites, and apartments. Quilted bedding and floral accents lend the rooms their quaint country charm. Many of the units have full kitchens; plus Las Aves Café is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with room service available.Located in midtown, the hotel is adjacent to Sansum-Santa Barbara Medical Foundation Clinic and Cottage Hospital, and is just minutes from historic downtown, the Red-Tile Walking Tour, Mission Santa Barbara, golf courses, beaches, wineries, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Encina Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Encina Hotel
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing