We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy. Don't go for the pool.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfy. Don't go for the pool.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2009

The rooms are large and the beds very firm, which I like. Breakfast service is exceptionally slow. The jacuzzi is a joke. This would be a good option for families - definitely not a romantic destination.

Would recommend to a group on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agentangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    245
    101
    33
    15
See reviews for
282
196
34
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lincs UK
Level Contributor
419 reviews
215 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2008

This was the second BW we stayed in on our recent trip to the west coast of the US. We were somewhat dissappointed on the whole, although the staff were friendly & the room was fine - albeit we had noisy neighbours (also there was constant noise from the adjacent building's fans) - it was relatively expensive. Notwithstanding the cost, car parking was in short supply & in our case not easy - we were asked to park in the underground car at the rear of the hotel, where our room was. Maybe it is the size of US cars but I found it difficult!

The hotel is in a residential area some distance from the centre of Santa Barbara, so we had breakfast in the restaurant on the complex (although it is not part of the hotel). We cannot recommend..

Whether we would stay here on a return visit to SB would be dependant on what other options were available - particularly if we could find somewhere nearer to the centre.

We had a wonderful evening meal with an American friend at Elements - would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

Having spent two weeks touring California, I can honestly say that this was the most disappointing and over-priced hotel we stayed in.
Sure ,the rooms are large but with paper thin walls and little or no sound proofing, we could hear every word spoken by our neighbours who chose to arise at 5.30am in the morning !
The hotel is in a residential part of Santa Barbara and not very conveneient for State St , the main area for shopping, restaurants etc.
We paid about $275 for one night , and given it's poor location and build quality, I think it's grossly over-priced. Look elsewhere.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Noisy, overpriced.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IndiosEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in Copenhagen
Level Contributor
96 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2008

One of the better Best Westerns, for sure. It's a good 20 minute walk away from the action on State Street and the opposite end of town from the beach, but it's a pleasant and cosy property set in a quiet residential area in the north end of town.
We hadn't booked in advance so were lucky to get a deluxe room with balcony and two double beds during the high season for around $260 per night. The room on the second floor was spacious with a large desk (free wireless internet), 2 reasonably sized and comfy double beds, a large corner sofa, small kitchenette and reasonably sized bathroom. Also, plenty of storage space, which was important for our family of four. All clean and in good condition, although we managed to block the toliet on our last day.
Check in was fast and friendly and the lobby area provides plenty of information as to where to go and what to do as well as a small gift shop. There's a good restuarant and bar on site (great service at the bar, slow service at breakfast) and an excellent pool area next to the restaurant /bar with several tables, chairs, sunloungers and parasols set in a well kept garden area. There's even a bird aviary which sort of added to the cosy and friendly surroundings. Also a jacuzzi hidden away just around the corner.
We would definitely consider the Best Western Encina again if visiting Santa Barbara, although we'd probably spend the extra on a slightly larger suite. It's not cheap (and remember that their prices don't include breakfast) but not over the top by any means when compared to similar properties in Santa Barbara.
Definitely worth considering for both leisure and buisness.

  • Liked — Pool/Bar area. Front Office
  • Disliked — Few local alternatives for breakfast so you need to use the on site restaurant. Slow!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JENSBritinCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2008

I'm afraid to write too glowing of a review - if this place gets too popular, I might not be able to book again!

I stay here every April for a long weekend with my sisters. There are 3 of us, so we get one of the two bedroom suites/apartments for three nights.

The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean (if dated), and the location is wonderful. For our purposes, it works out perfectly.

A few things that would be nice improvements: a new/better sofa bed - we take turns using it, and none of us have ever gotten a good night's sleep on it; dual-paned windows for the traffic noise down Bath Street; blackout curtains for the living room and dining room windows for the person trying to sleep on the sofa bed.

The suite had new carpeting since last year, and new wallpaper in the bedrooms - but not the hallway and living room. Hopefully by next year that will be done.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Sofa bed is very uncomfortable!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCashCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE LONDON
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2008

This was a lovely hotel, the room was clean and the bed comfy. The staff was very nice and helpful

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank AUTISMSMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2008

This is not your cute Santa Barbara B&B experience, but a good choice none the less as long as you know what you're getting. Nice property in nice residential area of SB, about a mile from the main downtown area. Rooms have a cottagey feel with some lace, etc. Great covered parking. Pool looked nice.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Jay82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
2.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
2.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
2.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
Address: 2220 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-4322 (Formerly Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a quiet residential street lined with turn-of-the-century homes, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites in Santa Barbara offers all the amenities of a small luxury hotel with the charm of a bed and breakfast inn. Relax by the garden pool, enjoy the aviary, book a massage, or simply unwind on your own private patio or balcony. Ideal for extended stays or family vacations, Encina Lodge offers a variety of accommodations, including guest rooms, suites, and apartments. Quilted bedding and floral accents lend the rooms their quaint country charm. Many of the units have full kitchens; plus Las Aves Café is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with room service available.Located in midtown, the hotel is adjacent to Sansum-Santa Barbara Medical Foundation Clinic and Cottage Hospital, and is just minutes from historic downtown, the Red-Tile Walking Tour, Mission Santa Barbara, golf courses, beaches, wineries, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Encina Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Encina Hotel
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing