We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“First Visit!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was my first visit to Santa Barbara so I was very unsure of where to book lodging. This hotel is located closer to downtown district than the beach area. The staff were very professional and the room was decent. Recently new air conditioning system was installed and we experienced a leak. Staff responded promptly to our call. Overall, it was a positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolLMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    261
    109
    36
    15
See reviews for
317
208
34
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My teenaged son and I stayed here for over two weeks while he was recovering from jaw surgery performed by Dr. Gunson (THE BEST!) at a local hospital. It was a very peaceful and relaxing hotel! It's within walking distance to shops and grocery stores and restaurants. The Daily Grind coffee shop is just a couple blocks away, and the cafeteria at the SB Cottage Hospital across the street has great meal options too! Kitchenettes are available, as are apartments. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The facility and grounds are very well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 976kirstinr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
We certainly do appreciate your wonderful review of our hotel; and that you enjoyed your visit in Santa Barbara and at the Encina Lodge. I realize it was for medical purposes; but I do hope we made the stay more comfortable.

Hope you come see us again………maybe a vacation next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was a walk in last minute so not cheap. Room was nice, beds were OK but pillows were AWFUL. My head bounced off the pillow. Santa Barbara is nice but very dark on a night so difficult to find anything! If like us it is just a single night stop stay outside SB as it is expensive just for a night stop. There is nothing to walk to from the hotel, you will need a car.

Room Tip: It is a Motel and we had the room on the corner by the road - it was fine so I guess most of the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBuffys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We thank you for staying with us; and for writing a review. We do buy the best pillows we can; they are regulation B/W pillows; and most of our guests just love them. I’m sorry they were too fluffy for you.

Hope you continue to travel the Best Western way; and will come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Was in Santa Barbara for a conference for 4-5 days and picked this as not to rob the bank. I did not find the staff very helpful, and the room felt dirty. Even though the temperature outside was above 90 and was very humid, they didn't turn the A/C on so was stifling hot in the room. In addition, the desk chair was a little $29 jobbie from Staples that looked like someone did something nasty on it (use your imagination). I called and said that I would like a different chair, as I didn't really want to get cooties on this trip, and they acted like I was asking for the world. I decided to leave and told the front desk guy that, which is the first time anyone seemed interested in giving good service or caring about me. I left and went to the Hampton Inn, which I knew would at least be more predictable. Patience is running thin on BWs - purely a crapshoot.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
A/C’s are located in each room and operated by guest. Every single room has one.

So sorry about the desk chair; will definitely take note of your comments and do some chair checking.

Thank you for writing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 3 days and it was great. Rooms were spacious and clean. Living room was huge and comfy. Kitchen table small but we didn't use it so not a problem. On site restaurant convenient but would have been great to get a free breakfast to offset the cost of the room a bit. Overall, we will be back next year for the horse show.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank marysL2490FK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We are pleased your enjoyed your visit with us while attending the horseshow at the nearby fair grounds. We do have an extra leaf for the dining room tables in the living room closet; I’m sorry we didn’t make you aware of that.

Hope to see you again soon; or at least next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed at this hotel on my way down the Pacific Coast Highway for one night. I wish I had been able to stay longer! I was given an upgrade to a room with a living area and two queen beds since we were 4 in our party. The front desk was bery helpful in answering our questions on how to find the downtown area, gave us maps etc... the room was beautiful, clean and the beds were extremely comforatable, it offered free parking and there was a small resturant on the property that looked really nice but did not eat there. I would recommend the hotel if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Nieves D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We needed to be near the hospital, so this motel served its purpose wonderfully. First of all, ask for discounts (AAA, visiting Cottage Hospital, etc). With discounts, the price is very reasonable. Without it, it can be quite steep. The motel is clean, with plenty of parking. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It is located in a residential neighborhood only a block or so from the hospital. It is clean, but dated. Facilities are limited (one acceptable restaurant on premise, no place to purchase drinks except for vending machine, etc). This motel is not near "Santa Barbara" (ie beach, shopping center, restaurant, nightlife, etc). If you need to be within walking distance to the shops and restaurants, I would recommend staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: There is a small pool with many children swimming. The lounge chairs are up next to the rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
2.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
950 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
1.2 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,034 reviews
2.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Address: 2220 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-4322 (Formerly Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a quiet residential street lined with turn-of-the-century homes, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites in Santa Barbara offers all the amenities of a small luxury hotel with the charm of a bed and breakfast inn. Relax by the garden pool, enjoy the aviary, book a massage, or simply unwind on your own private patio or balcony. Ideal for extended stays or family vacations, Encina Lodge offers a variety of accommodations, including guest rooms, suites, and apartments. Quilted bedding and floral accents lend the rooms their quaint country charm. Many of the units have full kitchens; plus Las Aves Café is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with room service available.Located in midtown, the hotel is adjacent to Sansum-Santa Barbara Medical Foundation Clinic and Cottage Hospital, and is just minutes from historic downtown, the Red-Tile Walking Tour, Mission Santa Barbara, golf courses, beaches, wineries, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Encina Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Encina Hotel
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing