We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, United States
1 review
“Great Accomodations”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I have been running in the Santa Barbara Wine Country Half Marathon for the past 3 years. I always stay at the Encina Lodge. Great accomodations, and 2 bedroom suites, which are perfect for me and my family.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your nice review of our hotel; what a great thing for you to run in the marathon each year. Hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    261
    109
    36
    15
See reviews for
317
208
34
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed two nights here in April 2014. At first they tried to put us in one of the lower ground floor units in a building near the very rear of the property (there are several buildings), but we insisted on something upstairs, and closer to the lobby, pool, cafe, etc. and thankfully they were able to oblige. The rooms in the main building are very nice, not fancy, but well appointed. One day the front office staff was a bit snarky, but the next day they were very friendly (different staff each day). The best things about this property are the lovely little finch aviary, the clean pool, and the wonderful cafe (they even served us poolside for lunch one day!). The big drawback, is that the hotel is quite a long walk to the shops and beach (they said it was 10 minute walk to Alameda Park, in fact in took us closer to 20 minutes). We had come by amtrak to Santa Barbara, and if we had a car ourselves, this would not be an issue.

Room Tip: Request an upstairs room to avoid foot traffic noise of other guests. If you're planning to swim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pomegranate99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

An attractive charming room on the 2nd floor of Building 7. Easy access from covered parking. The property is wonderfully maintained and the room was Spotless. Even the shelf in the closet was dust free. The attention to detail was obvious, with a well placed makeup mirror and toothbrush holder in the bath. Bottled water, apples, and small candies daily and a small frig near the coffee maker. There were 2 easy chairs with a floor lamp for reading and the bed was very comfortable. On the small balcony were 2 chairs and a small table. The weather was hot enough to require using the A/C in the late afternoon on our 2nd day. We ate very tasty, well presented, well priced breakfasts in the on-site restaurant both mornings. It is freeway close and convenient to State Street for the local shopping and restaurants. We will definitely return soon.

Room Tip: Building 7 has the Hot Tub. Another set of buildings faces the very nice pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clint B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share comments on your recent stay with us. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and our location. We appreciate so much the comments on our cleanliness, our housekeeping staff works very hard and we will make sure to share your comments. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

This place was perfect setting, quiet relaxed, rooms near the pool were great.
We rode bikes to wineries downtown about 3 miles.
Breakfast at Mexican restaurant on site was very good.
Rooms were good size, clean, hotel had a hit tub, but we didn't get to use it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cstechman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2014

adequate facility. Significant effort to provide a quality experience. Housekeeping was good. Rooms were quiet. sufficient parking. More employees could enhance the stay for patrons. Meets expectations for domestic and international patrons.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 71edwardm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
So pleased you chose to stay with us when visiting Santa Barbara; thank you for sending in a review of our property. We do hope you will come see us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twain Harte, California, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The hotel was very convenient as to location from the hospital where my dad was having surgery. We could easily walk to it. Even my 85 year old mother. The hotel was extremely accommodating when my parents had to stay an extra day. The rooms were nice, clean and quiet. Whether for business, fun or medical I would recommend this hotel. All of the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank VALERIE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We do hope your dad has healed nicely; and life is back to normal for you all. Thank you for being our guest; and for your nice comments about our hotel. We hope you come see us again; maybe for a vacation this next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paso robles, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Showers are from the dark ages. the location close to med services is great, but the showers are so terrible it is hard to believe they haven't been changed. also hard to believe that they meet BW standards.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
I’m so sorry you were not completely happy with your accommodations here at our property. I wish I knew what room you occupied so I could check the shower accommodations. We do hope you come visit us again; and please remind us you need a room with a combination shower/tub. Thank you for reviewing the Encina Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
2.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
950 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
1.2 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,036 reviews
2.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Address: 2220 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-4322 (Formerly Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a quiet residential street lined with turn-of-the-century homes, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites in Santa Barbara offers all the amenities of a small luxury hotel with the charm of a bed and breakfast inn. Relax by the garden pool, enjoy the aviary, book a massage, or simply unwind on your own private patio or balcony. Ideal for extended stays or family vacations, Encina Lodge offers a variety of accommodations, including guest rooms, suites, and apartments. Quilted bedding and floral accents lend the rooms their quaint country charm. Many of the units have full kitchens; plus Las Aves Café is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with room service available.Located in midtown, the hotel is adjacent to Sansum-Santa Barbara Medical Foundation Clinic and Cottage Hospital, and is just minutes from historic downtown, the Red-Tile Walking Tour, Mission Santa Barbara, golf courses, beaches, wineries, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Encina Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Encina Hotel
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing