We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel! One of the nicer Best Western hotels that we have stayed at. The hotel is older but is extremely well kept. Staff was very nice and helpful. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Brandon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 552 of 833 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel was located in a residential/commercial area close to the main street with easy access to the highway, restaurants, down town and beach areas. Nicely appointed rooms with wifi and TV. The TV was poor in quality and reception. But fortunately, we did not use that amenity. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Karen93921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for being our guest during your recent visit to Santa Barbara. And do appreciate your comments about your stay. I will certainly try to figure out which room you occupied so that maintenance can check the television. We just recently purchased large screen televisions for all the rooms; so will need to check the cable and the reception.

Hope you come visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The room itself was clean. My only suggestion is that the wallpaper and rug be replaced. The wallpaper was peeling off on the edges and there were stains on the wallpaper in some places. The rug had lots of huge stains. But again, all in all, the rest of the room appeared clean. The food at the café located on the same grounds as the hotel was a tad pricey, but the food was good and it had a nice patio area. ALL staff was friendly.

Room Tip: I was in room 288, which appeared to also be a room easily accessible for a wheelchair, which was fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjcruisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions. Thank you again for your feeback and we hope you come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I realize this is Santa Barbara, but this hotel tried to be too pretentious and did not live up to the Best Western that I choose for my travel needs. It was rather overpriced for no breakfast, a room that looked like it had seen better days, trash outside our room door upon check-in and a bathtub stopper that did not work. Also, people smoking not far from our room that drifted in when we opened our sliding door to our balcony. Hotel staff was "snooty" and a bit condescending.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 856ColleenI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I'm very dissappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I want to assure you that the Best Western Plus Encina Lodge is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness, and quality of its product. Your feedback will help us improve. Thank you again for sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Nice residential neighborhood with easy parking, comfortable pillow top mattress, large room and on site restaurant. Just a few blocks from main downtown. The beach area motels are very crowded together with problematic parking, but this location feels open and relaxing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you so much for you review and we appreciate your very kind remarks. Thanks for staying with us, we do hope you will come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Our room was a good size and poolside which was nice and relaxing. The staff were always helpful and friendly. Parking was easy.
The motel is slightly out of the downtown area but a very easy drive to everywhere.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShowMeTheSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

We loved your review of our hotel; thank you so much!! Certainly hope you will visit us again when traveling to Santa Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have never been to Santa Barbara but can say this hotel was so reasonable and very clean. I originally booked two double beds and was upgraded to a full kitchen upon check in. I can say the kitchen was great. We were able to store our drinks, snacks, etc and have us more room. The hotel was a little way away from the main avenue(state street) but shot a taxi each night for dinner for $10.00 each way which was pretty cheap. There was coffee and pastries each morning and a great whirlpool hot tub that we used each night. All in all I would stay here again especially for the price.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the kitchenette, it really is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
2.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
452 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,079 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites

Address: 2220 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-4322 (Formerly Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $170 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a quiet residential street lined with turn-of-the-century homes, the Best Western Plus Encina Inn & Suites in Santa Barbara offers comfortable accommodations and a convenient location. Relax by the garden pool, enjoy the aviary, book a massage, or simply unwind on your own private patio or balcony. Ideal for extended stays or family vacations, the Encina Inn offers a variety of accommodations, including guest rooms, one and two bedroom suites and townhouses. Many of the units have full kitchens. The Live Oak Cafe is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with room service available and highlights many of the extraordinary products that Santa Barbara has to offer including: local produce, seafood, local wine, and craft beer. Located in midtown, the hotel is adjacent to Sansum-Santa Barbara Medical Foundation Clinic and Cottage Hospital, and is just minutes from historic downtown, Mission Santa Barbara, golf courses, beaches, wineries, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Encina Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Encina Hotel
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing