We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Plus Encina, Santa Barbara, CA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best Western Plus Encina, Santa Barbara, CA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

A very nice, clean, and well appointed hotel run by a caring and attentive staff. The cost was amazingly low considering that it is in Santa Barbara. The location was freeway convenient and in a quiet neighborhood. There were many amenities available which surprised us. A restaurant, spa/massage room in addition to the pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 994phillipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel; we are pleased you enjoyed your recent visit with us. We do hope you will come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    225
    98
    29
    15
See reviews for
263
177
34
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here due to the proximity to the hospital, but found it to be a wonderful vacation spot. My kids played in the pool all day. It is quiet, the staff is friendly, and the food at the restaurant is surprisingly very good. My kids and I loved it! It is a little off the beaten track for SB, but you can get anywhere you need to go via car quite quickly. Adults could easily walk to downtown, but I am not sure I would do it with my kids (ages 5 & 7).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Edward & Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments; we are happy you enjoyed your visit with us; and will surely look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This will remind you of a hotel from the 60's but it has been kept up, the rooms are big and have kitchens. The pool and jacuzzi are nice and this is a traditional family hotel. The staff work hard to accommodate and the rooms are very clean. Considering hotel prices in Santa Barbara, this is a great value. I would not recommend this as a stay for couples.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MasonsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review; we are happy you enjoyed your visit with us; and hope you come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
475 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived after a long drive and found we had booked on he wrong day! Staff were very understanding and found us action and upgraded us to a two room suite which was great as we were travelling with two teenagers. However, the suite was disappointing although clean. The decor was part 70s and part Little House on the Prairie. If we had not been so tired we would have tried somewhere else. Staff very good but the facility is in need of a real good makeover.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart_Away_Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We hope you had a nice vacation in the States; and come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My son and I showed up on their doorstep without a reservation at 1am, on a night when everything else was sold out. Motel 6 in Santa Barbara had screwed us over by giving our "guaranteed" room away when our flight was late (and yes, we called them to let them know). Anyway, Mark was working the desk and he recognized my frustration and not only gave us a great rate on the room, but since their last room only had a single bed, he personally set us up with a floor futon (which was actually very comfortable), additional bedding, free bottles of water, and help with parking (the lot was full). My 17 year old son was so impressed with the service that he tried to dig out some money from his own meager wallet to give Mark, who refused to take it. Despite the evening starting out all wrong, we ended up getting a great nights sleep, as it was quiet and comfortable and roomy. Btw, they actually have Q-Tips (the nice ones, not the cheapos) in an enclosed jar in the bathroom. I don't ever remember that in any hotel I've ever stayed at, even the posh downtown SF hotels.

We will most certainly return. I only hope they aren't sold out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review; and I will certainly let Mark know what a great job he did. Hope you come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in this hotel while attending a family function. It is close to the downtown entertainment area on State St. Our room was spacious and clean. The hotel has a restaurant on site so there isn't any provided breakfast. The restaurant was fine but alittle pricey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OETEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel is located about 1.5 miles away from downtown Santa Barbara. It was quiet, clean and well run. The hotel provided complimentary bottles of water, fruit and cookies in the room. The hotel is off the street, so you did not hear any street noise. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: As for a room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NYGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#22 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 599 reviews
2.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#36 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
Address: 2220 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-4322 (Formerly Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a quiet residential street lined with turn-of-the-century homes, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Lodge & Suites in Santa Barbara offers all the amenities of a small luxury hotel with the charm of a bed and breakfast inn. Relax by the garden pool, enjoy the aviary, book a massage, or simply unwind on your own private patio or balcony. Ideal for extended stays or family vacations, Encina Lodge offers a variety of accommodations, including guest rooms, suites, and apartments. Quilted bedding and floral accents lend the rooms their quaint country charm. Many of the units have full kitchens; plus Las Aves Café is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with room service available.Located in midtown, the hotel is adjacent to Sansum-Santa Barbara Medical Foundation Clinic and Cottage Hospital, and is just minutes from historic downtown, the Red-Tile Walking Tour, Mission Santa Barbara, golf courses, beaches, wineries, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Encina Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Encina Hotel
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing