We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Nearby Hotels
Santa Barbara Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara Downtown(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$229
$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kimpton Canary Hotel(Santa Barbara)
$288
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$309
$297
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$282
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Franciscan Inn & Suites(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wayfarer(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
$227
$164
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (900)
Filter reviews
900 results
Traveler rating
431
288
123
40
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
431
288
123
40
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssansum clinicbird aviaryon site restaurantresidential areafull kitchenbedroom suitestate streetbest westernswould stay here againbottled waterquiet locationclose to downtownbit datedwalking distancebath streetnice stayhome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
674 - 679 of 900 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Santa Barbara is such a beautiful town to visit. It's easy to navigate and quite kid-friendly. But hotels and B&B's are on the expensive side so one must really be discriminating to get the bang for your buck, especially when traveling with family with children.
We were very glad we chose this property over others for these reasons:
(1) it's clean, comfortable, though furniture and interior are dated.
(2) location is ideal amidst a residential area. Glad we didn't opt for those properties right on the beach.
(3) the kitchen met our needs. We were celebrating birthdays with many meals we planned to cook, and all the amenities we needed were available.
(4) The children enjoyed the pool and enjoyed the ample space when it was time to cool out. It didn't hurt that the WiFi worked.
(5) Towels and closet space were abundant; pool towels were provided.
(6) Staff at front desk were friendly and accommodating. housekeeping staff were thoughtful.
All in all, what stood out was the cleanliness and quiet while we stayed there. And when everyone's content, it pleases me to know we made the right choice.
Looking to staying there again on our next family get together.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EWWSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The hotel is very dated and does not match the pictures shown online. But the worst feature of this hotel is the staff. They were unwilling to accommodate such a simple task as storing our two bags for a few hours. When asked why they did not have room, a crabby manager showed me a room about the size of the broom closet that was taken up mostly by boxes of office supplies. She was rude and told me "there's the door" when I expressed my concern that we had no place to store bags in the four hours between checkout and our departure on Amtrak. The other receptionist was dismissive and rude as well. If you read the online reviews on Yelp, there is a clear theme showing that staff are unhelpful. They need to fire a few of these folks who obviously hate their jobs and are sick of working with the public.

Room Tip: Don't stay there. There are much better values closer to the beach.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DPinkstaff, Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Thank you for writing your review about the B/W Encina Lodge; and your recent stay with us. It helps hearing from our guests; whether they are happy or unhappy....and I appreciate your comments.

I am disappointed you felt we were unwilling to help you with your bags and your bike on the day you checked out. I purposely came out to the lobby to assist you with your items; and to take you to a near-by store room to put your bike. I also was trying to show you a railing by the office we could lock your bike on; but you said you didn't have a bike lock. You didn't mention that it was only a short time for storage before we took you to the Amtrak Station. The bags could have just sit in the lobby; we do that all the time for our guests. I rarely say no to any guests requests.

Our job here is to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable; and reading our reviews; you will see we are very successful at that. Unfortunately we failed to accommodate you to your satisfaction; and for that I am truly sorry.

Carol Wolford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

.
The Encina Lodge and Suites is tucked away in a beautiful neighborhood. It is steps away from the main hospital in Santa Barbara. I have been traveling for business and staying at the BWELS for the past two years. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. There is a free shuttle to and from the train station which makes it easy to get to. It is also a great hotel to stay at if you are traveling with a family. They have apartments and two story town homes available for larger groups. There are rooms with kitchens and kitchenettes that are fully equipped to prepare mealsl. The La Aves Restaurant that is located on the grounds of the hotel is excellent. Every meal I have had at Las Aves has been delicious. It is a family owned business. The service is top notch and there is a different special every night. If you are looking for a place to stay in Santa Barbara I would recommend the Best Western Encina Lodge and Suites.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Encina Lodge is steps from one of California's foremost health care facilities; the accomodations are clean, comfortable and convenient. Some staff have been on board for 20+ years, which points to consistent management. A well cared for establishment speaks to pride of ownership, with reasonably priced accomodations including two bedroom suites all of which are maintained by professionals..they want you to be satisfied and feel at ease....try it you will like it...a well kept hotel...ease of access to all points of interest in Santa Barbara

Room Tip: Suites with two bedrooms are upstairs and downstairs....and have two doubles and and one king, plus full kitchen
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at the BW Encina Lodge almost by accident, it was Fiesta Weekend and almost everything was booked . . . lucky for us as it turned out. We came in by train and the Lodge's van picked us up at the station less than ten minutes from our call to the hotel. The driver was our first hint that the staff was very well trained and very customer friendly. From that point until our departure three days later every one at the hotel we had contact with was friendly, informed, and delighted to be of service. Our room (with twin queen beds) was spacious, clean, and complete with all of the little things that made our stay so satisfying; lots of mirrors well placed, lots of electrical outlets for our iPads and iPhones, several wastebaskets (has any one else noticed the "vanishing wastebasket" problem in hotel rooms across America?), and plenty of drawer space for our things. The Aves Restaurant on the premises was a delight, from it's Happy Hour and friendly servers to its marvelous breakfasts. We much prefer a "real" restaurant to a free buffet and The Aves was perfect. As far as being off the beaten track goes, we're walkers and found that we could be anywhere in the greater downtown area in thirty minutes or less. At night going out for dinner to celebrate my seventieth birthday, a cab ride cost about seven dollars, hardly prohibitive. In sum, the BW Encina Lodge is a terrific place to stay if you value comfortable lodgings, friendly staff, good food, and convenience to Santa Barbara's major attractions.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank ElParaguayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews