We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for one night in Santa Barbara”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2012

For some reason, most of the hotels in SB have a 2 night-minimum so we chose the Encina because it allowed a Sat night only stay. This was our 2nd stay at the Lodge. First visit was in a 2 BR suite, second in a queen room. Both were clean and spacious. During both stays, there were large groups (student sports teams) staying there so there was noise coming from other guests (late at night) but I'm sure it's quieter at other times. Appreciated the coffee in the lobby. Staff was friendly, room was ready early, easy drive to restaurants on State St., plenty of parking, restaurant on site for breakfast. Good choice for a quick trip to SB given how expensive and limited the options are for hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PearlRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

682 - 688 of 875 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2012

I read a lot of mixed reviews about the Best Western Encina Lodge before booking and am pleased to report a very nice stay. There was a mix up with the initial booking and the staff was generous to upgrade me to the townhouse unit (2 bedroom) at no extra charge. The townhouse was very comfortable and extremely clean. It was perfect for my family of five (2 teenagers and a toddler). The livingroom has a nice sectional sofa with a queen-size pull out bed. They provide sheets, pillows and a light blanket. You may want to bring an extra blanket for the sofa bed. The flat-screen TV was enjoyable. There is a DVD player and a large selection of movies to choose from at the front desk. My kids were very happy about that.

I read on a different review that there were no utensils for cooking, that was not the case for our stay. There is a locked cabinet that requires a key (for an additional fee) to access all the utensils and cookware. We came prepared and brought some paper plates and our own pots and pans for cooking. Saved some money by cooking in the room rather than going out. They do provide a small 4-cup coffee pot with standard hotel coffee.

The upstairs bedrooms were comfortable. King-size bed in one room had a tv, the other room with the queen size, did not. The upstairs bathroom was perfect for us. I like the regular bath mat rather than a cheap towel.

So, overall, it was a very comfortable stay for us. I was very impressed with how clean everything was. Very clean! Also, the staff was very, very polite and helpful.

The only reason it didn't get 5 stars from me is that the free internet was VERY spotty. My husband goes to school online and does most of his homework over the weekend. It was extremely difficult for him to get his work done due to the spotty connection.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

In case you are born after 1969 and wanted to see how things looked if you were living in the '60s, you should stay here. Yes, you'll be paying 2012 prices but the feeling will be of the '60s.

Santa Barbara is an expensive city to stay in. Still, staying on a Saturday night in the middle of February, the notion of paying $173 for a hotel of this age is a bit of a shocker.

The beds are new (and comfortable), there is a large flatscreen TV, the toiletries are of a good quality, and the room was clean. But the rest of the room is just so dated. We couldn't get the heater to put out much heat, so it ran all night with only modest warming effect on our drafty room.

The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood which was a plus. The on-site restaurant is to be avoided for breakfast. It was really bad and not cheap.

All in all, this hotel is more of a testament to the limited number of hotel rooms in Santa Barbara. Don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelGroup, General Manager at Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Greetings tmolta,

I am delighted to read you rested well on our comfortable beds, enjoyed our upgraded 42” flat screen television, and appreciated the Crabtree & Evelyn amenities we provided for you. Although it is disappointing to hear you were not completely satisfied with the décor of your guestroom, your compliments are greatly appreciated. Please know that we value your comments and will inspect our guestroom heaters to ensure they are working properly to provide all our guests a comfortable stay. I have also forwarded your comments about the restaurant to its manager and owner. Thank you for helping us provide the best quality of service to all our guests. Warmly, Carol Wolford – General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Caring for an older family member, I needed a place to stay for a week. Requirements included two bedrooms, a kitchen and not breaking the bank. This did the trick. THe front desk was helpful and responsive. The location allowed me to do all the family business required and was centrally located so i could go our alone or with friends.

The hotel is being remodeled and my room and patio were great. If you need convenience, comfort and good price, this is worth a look.

Room Tip: Good extended stay option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tealight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Hotels in Santa Barbara are NOT cheap. We were so pleased when we found this hotel. It's a few blocks from the main street in Santa Barbara but within walking distance and besides there is plenty of parking in Santa Barbara's downtown area. At first glance, you might not be impresssed. It is not new and the doors open to the outside - actually pretty nice when you can park your car directly in front of the room (no parking fee). The size of the room and the ammenities made the place so great. Mattress and bedding were deluxe. There was plenty of storage. A separate desk area was welsome. The desk had a basket of fruit and candy that was refilled daily. You were also left two free bottle of water each day. The tolietries were Crabtree and Evelyn. There were even bathrobes hanging in the closet. There was no charge for internet connection. My favorite part was that there were two very comfortable chairs - one a rocker and one a recliner and there was room to put them in front of the flat screen TV so you could be comfortable. I would not hesitate to stay here again. The hot tub closed at 9 but that was my only complaint. Rooms were very clean. Management was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I didn't notice an elevator, but I'm sure there was one. We loved staying on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tnpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I lived in the Santa Barbara area (Summerland) for several years. I go back to visit friends a few times a year and stayed at the Encina Lodge twice in 2011. It's a pretty hotel on a quiet, tree-lined residential street, very close to downtown. The staff are kind and friendly, and the property is very well maintained. The rooms - including carpet and upholstered furniture - are spotless. One of the things I most enjoy is coming back to the hotel after a day out, because it feels more familiar and homey than other places I've stayed. During the summer, rates are often out of my price range, but staying here in winter is great - quiet, comfortable and affordable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We needed a suite for a last minute overnight in Santa Barbara (from L.A.) to accommodate our three year old and a private room for us. This hotel fit the bill with a decent price for their "Poolside" suite. We booked directly on the Best Western Website which revealed a hotel promotional price about $20 less than the best deal anywhere else. The stay included free parking and functional wireless internet. (Not the fastest we experienced but good enough to watch something streaming on Netflix.)

Check in was fast and the staff was professional and courteous. The room was very clean and well appointed for a three star with Crabtree and Evelyn products in the bathroom, a basket of fresh apples and candy, Farmers brand coffee for the coffee maker and, "fresh remote" covers for the remote controls. (Honestly not sure if they sanitize the TV remote controls before slipping these back on but if they're going as far as having these at all it's worth mentioning.)

The pull out sofa bed was perfectly fine for our kid. The bed in the bedroom was very comfortable for us...overall, unlike gaudy motels, this suite was tastefully decorated with modern colors and bedding.

We wish the flat screen TV was in the bedroom for us rather than the older CRT Tube model, but we didn't end up using either so it was fine.

Good water pressure in the shower. Attentive and responsive staff (who came quickly to unlock the kitchenette cabinet to retrieve a bottle opener we needed.)

The restaurant was empty when we walked by in the morning but apparently open. (We'd had our hearts set on Tupelo Junction Cafe in town anyway so weren't planning on dining on site.)

We generally like more upscale comfortable luxurious places and we're initially trepidatious about what we'd find here...pleasantly surprised and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
2.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
525 reviews
2 mi away
Franciscan Inn & Suites
Franciscan Inn & Suites
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara Downtown
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
2.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites

Address: 2220 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-4322 (Formerly Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $169 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a quiet residential street lined with turn-of-the-century homes, the Best Western Plus Encina Inn & Suites in Santa Barbara offers comfortable accommodations and a convenient location. Relax by the garden pool, enjoy the aviary, book a massage, or simply unwind on your own private patio or balcony. Ideal for extended stays or family vacations, the Encina Inn offers a variety of accommodations, including guest rooms, one and two bedroom suites and townhouses. Many of the units have full kitchens. The Live Oak Cafe is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with room service available and highlights many of the extraordinary products that Santa Barbara has to offer including: local produce, seafood, local wine, and craft beer. Located in midtown, the hotel is adjacent to Sansum-Santa Barbara Medical Foundation Clinic and Cottage Hospital, and is just minutes from historic downtown, Mission Santa Barbara, golf courses, beaches, wineries, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Encina Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Encina Hotel
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing