We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

This is probably one of the best best westerns I have stayed in! Great pool , great rooms and great facilities ! Would stay there again ! Rooms very clean and decent size! Location very central. Heated fire pits a nice treat outside!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starbug33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our flight was cancelled and the airlines sent us here. The hotel is one of those two story drive up to the room type. Everyone was nice, room clean. Strong coffee in the lobby. Not really sure how secure it is due to the design of the property.

Room Tip: Stay of the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fshjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChivaunC, General Manager at Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Fshjill, I am sorry to hear of your flight cancellation, however, I am pleased we had the chance to have you as our guest. Thank you for your comments regarding the clean rooms. Our staff adheres to high standards to maintain the cleanliness of our hotel; inside and out. We hope you had an uneventful flight and that you consider choosing to stay with us next time you visit Santa Barbara. Best regards, Chivaun Clark, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We spent only one night at the Pepper Tree Inn having travelled from LA on our way to San Francisco. Santa Barbara is a beautiful city and the Pepper Tree Inn is a very good place to stay, only a few minutes by car from the Mission and downtown SB (State Street). Check in was very straight forward and we were able to enter our room early, where a bottle of Champaign had been left on ice in recognition of my birthday. The amenities were very good although sadly we weren't there for long enough to take advantage of them. There is no breakfast but hot drinks and fruit is available in the lobby area, and there is a diner right outside the lobby entrance. All the staff we encountered were extremely pleasant and helpful and I would definitely stay there if I have the good fortune to visit SB again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The room was perfectly presented and you cannot fault the cleanliness and the comfort of the bed. We had a comfortable little patio which over-looked a nice garden, which near our room, had a fire pit, and further down the way was the pool.
My only complaint was that there was no door dividing the bedroom from the kitchen/bathroom area. A sliding door would prevent light and any noise coming in to the bedroom area. Because the light comes in from sun rise, this can disturb you and wake you up earlier than you would like when on holiday.
Also, the air conditioning was extremely noisy but we needed it on to keep the room cool as having the windows open let too much noise in and certainly did not give us the same cooling effect.
The gardens and overall greenery from the plants and shrubs gave this hotel a relaxing feel and almost oasis like. A lovely place to come back to and have a swim and relax in the garden.
This hotel is about a 15 minute drive into Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: If you have a room at ground level you get a little patio to sit on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineSilver10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChivaunC, General Manager at Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

CarolineSilver10, Thank you for taking the time to provide your nice comments. We appreciate hearing from our guests and I am so pleased you enjoyed your experience at the Pepper Tree Inn. I do hope you come back to have a swim and relax in the garden. Best, Chivaun Clark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We are a Young couple from Germany and were amused that we found a hotel like this. When we arrived the room was not ready but it was early in the morning so we let our luggage at the office. 20 mins.later they told us room is ready. All the staff at the front desk, the cleaning women and also the valets were so friendly and helpfully as we've never seen.
Water and Fruits on the room were complementary. Price was a little bit higher than the other hotels.
Unfortunately, there was a big confusion regarding our booking but the front desk clarified this problem and was so sorry about that confusing booking that we got a free breakfast. We thank you so much for the nice stay and would be glad to be your guests in future on our next trip.



Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

When I booked this hotel, I was concerned that I would have to drive to eat, drink, or do anything. The hotel is very close to 101 which is very convenient, has a diner on the premises, a Panera right across the street, a few other restaurants and a mall all within walking distance. The main area of State St is a few miles so you may need to drive or take a taxi if that is where you are headed.

The hotel was very clean, the staff is very friendly, and I felt very safe. The only reason I gave he hotel 4 stars instead of 5 was the thin walls and being able to hear people outside. Luckily the next room wasnt noisy and there wasnt yelling kids running around, but I could pretty much hear the people in the next room and if someone walked by the front door talking, it sounded like they were in my room. Again, no crazy parties or yelling so my stay was great and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bsearched
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Clean, pleasant, pool, fire pit, gift shop, centrally located, walk to GOOD shopping. Plus, I am happier when traveling with my standard poodle, and she loves going there too. There is bottled water in your room with NO EXTRA charge. I was there for business but because of the location of the hotel, I was easily able to walk to shopping, restaurants. Internet with no extra charge. Fruit and goodies for no extra charge. Love this place and I continue to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Vickie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChivaunC, General Manager at Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Vickie H. I am so pleased that you appreciate all of the complimentary amenities we offer our guests as well as our location. All of these factors contribute to why our hotel is such a great value with enjoyable accommodations. Thank you for continuing to choose the Pepper Tree Inn during your visits to Santa Barbara. We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your poodle as our guests sooner than later. Kind regards, Chivaun Clark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
3.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
451 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,079 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn

Address: 3850 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $166 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on five acres of tropical gardens, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn is a Spanish-inspired resort hotel with ornate tile and wrought-iron embellishments. The lush gardens feature pathways lined with palms and cascading bougainvillea. The hotel offers two heated tile pools, two whirlpools, an exercise room and massage facilities, conference facilities, complimentary parking and free high-speed wireless Internet service.The hotel's spacious, well-appointed guest rooms feature private decks or balconies overlooking the gardens and pool courtyards. The Treehouse Restaurant and Lounge offers casual dining for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and provides room, patio, and poolside service.Located on upper State Street with easy access to 101, the hotel is adjacent to the shops and restaurants at La Cumbre Plaza, and is just minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, world-class golf courses, award-winning wineries, glorious beaches, and the Santa Barbara Mission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing