We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, friendly and perfectly safe!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Only stayed here a night but we liked it a lot and would definitely return.

The thing we liked about it is that it had some character and didn't feel like a generic hotel room. Some people may think it might look a bit dated and it does but it's clean and tidy so it came across as quaint to us.

Just one thing I thought it was worth raising from another review is that we felt perfectly safe. We even had a drunk couple trying to get into our room which they thought was theirs but we just rang reception and they moved them on for us but this was just a random incident!

All the rooms seem to have balconies which look onto the pool and at the other side you can park your car near to your room.

There's a shopping centre right across the road, complimentary tea/coffee and fruit in the reception and we drove downtown in about 10 minutes and parked at the large car parks near the sea front/harbour. There's lots of parking at the roadside but it seems to be only for up to 2 hours. If I stayed again I'd probably catch the bus as it's probably easier and quicker.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if I was in Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fightingfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

590 - 596 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights in April 2014. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The hotel is located outside downtown, so you need to drive there (parking is difficult) or take a taxi. The room was spacious and clean and bright. We had a balcony looking out to the pool and garden which was lovely in the evening to enjoy a drink on. The hotel gives you complimentary mineral water in the room and fruit in the lobby which we thought was a nice detail. The pool and garden area is very pretty with a lot of grass and flowers. There is a launderette in the complex. We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant on site. Especially the breakfast was very good in there.

Room Tip: We preferred having a room in the first floor rather than ground floor. It has a bit more privacy, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudiamP5195WD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Great price for a family of 4 including great breakfast, hotel is close to the Santa Barbara downtown (10min drive), and with a convenient shopping center across the street. Clean bedrooms with nice beds however not so roomy, tiny closet and limited space for storing luggage. We couldn't ask more for the reasonable fare and we enjoyed the pool and hot tub accessible from the room easily.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Juan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChivaunC, General Manager at Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Juan 1 – I am so pleased that you found our hotel to be of such value. We certainly are delighted in offering a good product at great rates. Our staff takes great pride in providing well maintained guest rooms. I welcome you and your family to return as our guests soon. Best regards, Chivaun Clark – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is a beautiful property in a great location away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. Lots of restaurants nearby and a mall right across the street with a Macys:)
Gotta love the personal touches- fruit, water and mini choc bars in the room and our car windscreen was cleaned while we were sleeping, Clean and updated rooms. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DV14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Good stay overall :
- located 10 min. outside the downtown area, the place offers complimentary parking. This means you'll have to drive to downtown : good luck finding a spot!
- rooms are clean but tiny
- Swimming Pool is OK

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great hotel with fab pool and jacuzzi set within tropical gardens, peaceful and relaxing.
Room clean and comfortable with patio, wish we could have stayed for more than one night.
Staff were welcoming and friendly, with maps, directions and an early check in!
Would definitely recommend for anyone wanting a good value stay. Onsite restaurant was also very good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorksTraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Was unfortunate enough to spend one night in this MOTEL. Noisy and dirty with rude, unhelpful staff. Have never felt unsafe anywhere but this place managed it. Would have checked out same day if another hotel was available but sadly had to wait until next day. Fair to say will not be making a return visit.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank EJAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChivaunC, General Manager at Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear EJAF – Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments. I am very concerned that you mention rude and unhelpful staff as well as not feeling safe. We pride ourselves on the kind and helpful actions our entire staff. We consistently receive comments from our guests commending our staff. It would be helpful if I knew of specific actions that you found unacceptable which would enable me to address directly with the appropriate staff. Although one can never guarantee, I do assure you that our hotel is located in a very safe, respectable area of Santa Barbara. We strive to provide a safe environment for all guests, at all times. If you do plan a future visit to Santa Barbara, I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to invite you to return as our guest. Best regards, Chivaun Clark – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
3.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
455 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,080 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn

Address: 3850 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $164 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on five acres of tropical gardens, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn is a Spanish-inspired resort hotel with ornate tile and wrought-iron embellishments. The lush gardens feature pathways lined with palms and cascading bougainvillea. The hotel offers two heated tile pools, two whirlpools, an exercise room and massage facilities, conference facilities, complimentary parking and free high-speed wireless Internet service.The hotel's spacious, well-appointed guest rooms feature private decks or balconies overlooking the gardens and pool courtyards. The Treehouse Restaurant and Lounge offers casual dining for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and provides room, patio, and poolside service.Located on upper State Street with easy access to 101, the hotel is adjacent to the shops and restaurants at La Cumbre Plaza, and is just minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, world-class golf courses, award-winning wineries, glorious beaches, and the Santa Barbara Mission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing