We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
dallas, texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overall great experience”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

The Pepper Tree Inn is a 3 star Best Western a few miles from the main "hub" of activitiy on State Street. It is affordable, clean, and safe plus has some nice perks. The reception area has a gift shop...actually managed to purchase some cute "boutique" type purses/scarves within my first 20 minutes of arriving! Fruit, Coffee and Tea were available for guests in the reception area as well, and there was a small cafe on site, although I did not check it out. The room was just fine, clean and with good bedding. The gardens in the middle of the property were very nice, and although I did not go into the pool or hot tub, it looked clean. There was also a fire pit in the far end of the garden area which would have been nice to enjoy with friends if I had not stayed out so late!

Although this hotel was truly just a place for us lay our heads at night and crash after a long day of wine tasting, it was a great experience overall, and would recommend it especially for people who are planning on spending most of their time exploring the wine country and fabulous Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    517
    187
    45
    27
See reviews for
417
456
38
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights on business, and have also stayed here in the past. In my opinion, it is completely average. The rooms are okay, but outdated. The pool areas have a pool, but little else. The location is also less than ideal. If you need to be in the SB area on business, this isn't a bad option, but I wouldn't stay here otherwise.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatUNH1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Only stayed 1 night on a heavy duty tour but it was heavenly to step into the cool and calm reception area of the inn and be spoken to civilly by the staff. The rooms were lovely; fruit, sweets, dressing gowns, huge tv and great beds. Wished we could have stayed longer, especially in Santa Barbara itself which just looked so inviting...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheekychubbychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Easy-going personnel, room very big with comfortable bed, room with all needed facilities. Just a few minutes drive from the wharf.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marty10tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed here for one night and quite frankly that was enough. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable but the decor is very dated. The staff at the front desk are friendly enough but dont expect them to go that extra mile for you. I get the impression that this place is used for more than just sleeping and indeed one of my daughters had a very unsavoury experience as she came out of her room during the evening. The pool area is very pretty and well maintained, its just a shame the rest lets it down. I think it's safe to say i would steer very clear of here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluecheez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Paid $219 for a room that was comfortable enough and well stocked however entirely average in all respects and didn't look much like its web pictures.

Bathroom was large but very poorly laid out with a disproportionately minute area for basin and make-up with extremely poor lighting and had to apply make up on in the bedroom by the window. No bench space at all for cosmetics whereas rest of bathroom could have housed a small family. Ended up putting cosmetics etc on the floor as there was no space. Several light bulbs missing, very annoying.

We only stayed one night, arriving in the dark and leaving early morning so didn't have time to look around. The staff were pleasant, the gift shop was nice and the amenities were fine however at $219 it was not good value for money. Other similarly rated properties may well be the same price, not sure, but if so, they would also be overpriced - it was a 3 star motel at the end of the day and probably worth more like $150 per night but being Santa Barbara, maybe that's just what you have to pay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fandangoMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This hotel does not look that spectacular from the roadside but if you think this is just another typical motel then you are wrong. It is beautiful. The gardens and the pools are superb. the entire place was spotless and so beautifully maintained in Spanish style. Our room was huge with fridge, microwave, DVD player, Very comfy beds and our own patio doors to the gardens and pool. the laundry facility was welcome especially as we were on a long road trip. we loved it so much we just stayed by the pool for most of our stay. Lovely shopping centre opposite and also down the road. did not eat in the restaurant but it looked very nice. It is a short drive to lovely downtown Santa Barbara but worth it to stay in such luxurious surroundings at a budget price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBristol234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
3.9 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
959 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
3.8 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
702 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
Address: 3850 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on five acres of tropical gardens, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn is a Spanish-inspired resort hotel with ornate tile and wrought-iron embellishments. The lush gardens feature pathways lined with palms and cascading bougainvillea. The hotel offers two heated tile pools, two whirlpools, an exercise room and massage facilities, conference facilities, complimentary parking and free high-speed wireless Internet service.The hotel's spacious, well-appointed guest rooms feature private decks or balconies overlooking the gardens and pool courtyards. The Treehouse Restaurant and Lounge offers casual dining for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and provides room, patio, and poolside service.Located on upper State Street with easy access to 101, the hotel is adjacent to the shops and restaurants at La Cumbre Plaza, and is just minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, world-class golf courses, award-winning wineries, glorious beaches, and the Santa Barbara Mission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing