We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service!”
Review of Belmond El Encanto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond El Encanto
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed August 10, 2014

When we drove up, there were staff waiting out front to greet us and get everything arranged. They gave us a walking tour of the property and showed us to our room, which was very nice and even had our last name first initials on the pillows on the bed! Bathroom was huge and great! Used the outdoor pool, which was nice but had kids so be prepared for that. During sunset the kids went away and it was more relaxing. Had dinner at the restaurant of the hotel and service once again was top notch (breakfast was great as well). Even when we left they had our valet car ready with our luggage inside and gave us cold water for our road trip up the coast! If you really appreciate great service this would be a place you should stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AS5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,032)
There are newer reviews for Belmond El Encanto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

695 - 701 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2014

After a long drive from Big Sur we pulled up at El Encanto and immediately felt welcomed by the lovely check in staff.
We had a gorgeous Premier Bungalow Suite that had a small patio out the front with a table and chairs. The room was well appointed with heaps of storage space. The bed and pillows were so comfortable.
Dinner in the restaurant on the balcony was superb. I had the best desert of my life - a "floating island". True it - you will not be disappointed.
The a la carte breakfast was delicious with loads of options. The staff throughout the hotel were courteous, helpful and very friendly.
The pool was very nice with good service for drinks etc.
They provide a limo service into State Street where we did some serious shopping.
It was a pleasure to be a guest at El Encanto and I really enjoyed Santa Barbara. I only wished we had stayed longer but will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jane02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Nine years ago I stayd with my cousins at that place and I was so happy to visit it again. This time it was only for lunch but we could see the wonderful changes in that place after the remodelling.
The restaurant has a fantastc view over the city and the ocean. The service is irreproachable, the cuisine - amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smily53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The service of this hotel is fantastic...Attended a wedding on July 26, 2014. Everything from the Valet personal to the service we received at the reception. Staff is top notch. From the servers to the bartenders. Would like to add a very special thank you to Vemelin Valev for great service and taking care of our needs as we packed up to leave the reception... Thank you El Encanto.... I would like to add this is a expierence we will never forget and your staff made this all possible...

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Cedar240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We went there for a weekend getaway and it was perfect! The hotel is on top a hill so it has the most gorgeous view. The pool feels like it's floating in the sky. The area is calm and serene but not far from downtown. The staff will happily drive you to and from the downtown area on a shuttle (free) and you can also borrow the hotel's electric bikes which are lots and lots of fun. The note has a magical garden. The room are spacious, well-decorated, quite luxurious and very comfortable. Their service is great - people are nice, pro-active and there's 24 hr in-room dining.
At the restaurant, the food is good and the atmosphere is just incredible. Makes you not want to leave. Because the restaurant is so popular and people come from all over town to eat there, even the hotel guests are advised to make prior reservations (even for sunday brunch) - that part wasn't super cool but since we were only a party of 2 we never had too much problem when we decided to just walk-in.

Room Tip: If you book early try asking for a bangalow with a view. And older people that have trouble walking...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carol123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We love this hotel and have stayed here twice in one year. It's beautifully nestled in the hills overlooking Santa Barbara. And because it's up on the hill, I think the weather is better - you can see the sun and look down at the fog near the beach. It's a short drive into downtown Santa Barbara or Montecito.
The rooms are all bungalows that are decorated in a soothing, calm palette. The best part is we were able to bring our dog! They set up a bed and bowls for her along with a note addressed to our little VIP (very important pet)! They even have a dog room service menu! The staff is amazing and very accommodating. Mario at the restaurant treated our son to special treats and addressed us by name when we ate there.
The pool is beautiful and not too crowded. The grounds are lovely for an evening walk (with or without your dog) - they even have a koi pond that my son loved. It doesn't have golf or tennis but if you're looking to just relax in a lovely environment, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joybg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I returned to Encanto to celebrate a birthday weekend with a couple of girlfriends and it was perfect in every way. Our room was lovely with a patio, fireplace and generous living area. The bathrooms are luxurious and made for indulging in a deep soak tub complete with bath pillow, bath salts and heated floors! Better yet, we took the professional relaxation route and enjoyed The Spa with half day packages that sent us much further away than our little trip up the coast to Santa Barbara! Dinner was unforgettable on The Terrace - fabulous food, an exquisite view complete with a full moon rising, and celebratory dessert delivered with song! Does it get any better? Yes - we also enjoyed a concert at the SB Bowl with the added convenience of being driven to and from by the hotel's Mercedes shuttle (a nice plus - complimentary service anywhere within 5 miles). My friends and I have decided to make this our Birthday celebratory destination - it's truly a gem!

Room Tip: I really enjoyed the Premier room!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 121KathleenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.3 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,067 reviews
1.1 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
427 reviews
2.0 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,316 reviews
2.4 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond El Encanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond El Encanto

Address: 800 Alvarado Place, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-2176
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $446 - $1,155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond El Encanto 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond El Encanto, a Forbes Five-Star luxury hotel, has been meticulously restored to capture all the romance and glamour that endeared it to both the local Santa Barbara community and visitors alike. As part of Belmond, this is the company's first excursion to the American west coast. Ninety-two quintessential, California-styled suites and bungalows dot the lush, terraced grounds featuring seven-acres of gloriously landscaped gardens with sweeping views of Santa Barbara and the Pacific Ocean. Original architectural features have been lovingly restored, including the historic, trellis-lined Arbor and Lily Pond. Modern additions to the expansive outdoor zero-edge pool and a new beautifully appointed boutique spa enhance the journey for today's luxury-seeking guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Belmond, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond El Encanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Encanto Hotel And Garden Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing