We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Gateway”
Review of Belmond El Encanto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belmond El Encanto
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Santa Monica
1 review
“Great Weekend Gateway”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Private, exclusive and sophisticated without the suffiness of Four Seasons or the expensiveness of St. Isidro Ranch. From the natural wood floors and floor heated bathrooms to the properly aligned temperature of the swimming pool, everything is well thought through. Not in your face, but always there service makes this one of the best places in the West Coast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    121
    61
    25
    14
See reviews for
160
593
31
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Placerville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We just returned from a wonderful restful stay here. The room was gorgeous with a huge deck under an old pepper tree! The staff is most gracious. Marco was wonderful and saved us a table for dinner with a beautiful view, complete with a blood, full moonrise over the ocean! The bartender/server at lunch, did not get his name, was very accommodating and our server at dinner was great. The food was amazing. My only complaint: on both days of our stay, all day long there were many noisy screaming kids doing cannonballs at what would otherwise have been a very peaceful pool. Probably due to it being spring break, and not the fault of the hotel, just rude parenting.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vlygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear vlygrl,

I am so pleased to see your experience at El Encanto was wonderful. I have already shared your praise of Marco and his team in the Dining Room and Terrace, it always means the world to our team members when their hard work is recognized.

Thank you for staying with us, I hope you are able to return in the near future.

Best wishes,

Laura M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stopped over in this hotel driving from SF to LA. It appeared to be the right choice. It provided the ideal place to relax after a day driving: service; food (excellent restaurant); location (great view); great rooms

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lialis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

My favourite hotel on the west coast of USA. Small but perfectly formed in every way. Luxurious interiors all brand new and a really decadent experience in every way. Incredible views from terrace restaurant and felt like a tiny bit of heaven.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Stunning location. Beautiful pool. Intimate setting. Aqua di Parma toiletries! Staff are exceptional, so accommodating-chef puréed fresh veggies for our baby-no charge. Everybody remembered our names and were just so kind and made the service personalized. We loved every minute of our stay and extra thanks to Marco, Mauricio and the lovely young waiter who misheard my husband and was prepared to fix him a white wine espresso no questions asked (it was a spritzer we were after but shows the unflappable and totally accommodating nature of the wonderful staff!!)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valentina233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

What makes this place is the service extended by a happy staff. Guests feel special the minute they arrive. It's a thin line between being graciously pleased to see and interact with someone and artifice, and most staff here stay on the gracious side. The property is perched on a hill above Santa Barbara and simply beautiful. Our room was quite roomy, the only thing I found lacking was a more comfortable place to sit while in the room. They had a couple of nice chairs, but I felt there was room for a loveseat sofa to make reading and lounging easier. But that's picky-picky. We will return many times!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susafoxSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Unsurpassed service with a genuine approach toward satisfaction with a nuanced & friendly approach - The property has undergone an extensive & incredible renovation with exceptional design authorship & execution - It's sure to please on all levels - We liken it be our home away from home.

R | S

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.3 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,034 reviews
1.1 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
124 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
370 reviews
3.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond El Encanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond El Encanto

Property: Belmond El Encanto
Address: 800 Alvarado Place, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-2176
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond El Encanto 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond El Encanto, a Forbes Five-Star luxury hotel, has been meticulously restored to capture all the romance and glamour that endeared it to both the local Santa Barbara community and visitors alike. As part of Belmond, this is the company's first excursion to the American west coast. Ninety-two quintessential, California-styled suites and bungalows dot the lush, terraced grounds featuring seven-acres of gloriously landscaped gardens with sweeping views of Santa Barbara and the Pacific Ocean. Original architectural features have been lovingly restored, including the historic, trellis-lined Arbor and Lily Pond. Modern additions to the expansive outdoor zero-edge pool and a new beautifully appointed boutique spa enhance the journey for today's luxury-seeking guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Belmond El Encanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Encanto Hotel And Garden Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing