We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Belmond El Encanto

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond El Encanto
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had such an amazing stay at El Encanto. The staff are amazing, very friendly and professional. People we hadn't met before greeted us by name. They truly do pay attention to every detail. The rooms are sparkling, the grounds are gorgeous and the Sunday brunch is unreal. I can't say enough good things about our stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    121
    61
    25
    14
See reviews for
160
593
31
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Genuinely one of the best places I have ever stayed in. Classy, elegant, luxurious, exclusive, relaxing.....the list goes on. If I didn't live so far away (uk) I would already have booked a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTEBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic property with breathtaking views over city and sea. The sunset cannot be believed. The staff are solicitous and highly welcoming, the atmosphere is serene and service is attentive but, in the restaurant slow. The bistro food far more imaginative and appealing than the restaurant itself.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank akurohouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful and relaxing getaway! Incredible views with excellent service. You are made to feel welcome and special from the moment you step out of your car. Definitely a 5 star experience. A bit pricey but worth it. Try their salmon appetizer!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZTonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at the remodel of the hotel I can understand why it took 7 years to complete no details were left out with 5 star quality the grounds are beautiful on our day to depart my husband and I took our time leaving enjoying the beautiful view that is most spectacular on a clear day with relaxing lounge chairs scattered in all the right places to relax and the pool is amazing heated as well for this time of the year we cant wait to return soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We had a great one night stay here last month. The room was lovely with a very luxurious bath and comfortable bed. Grounds were beautiful and the restaurant view and food awesome for dinner. The only complaint was that the breakfast(room service) needs major improvement. We had it included in our package and would not choose to do that again. Service was friendly, if a bit unpolished. The hotel was virtually empty during the week when we were there, might have been nice to have received an upgrade but all rooms seem to have been refurbished nicely. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sctraveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, General Manager at Belmond El Encanto, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear sctraveler05,

Thank you for your review of El Encanto. I am glad to see your overall stay was wonderful, and very much appreciate your feedback regarding breakfast service. We will certainly take your comments to heart and look at ways to improve in that area.

I do hope to see you again in the future for another Great Getaway!

Best wishes,

Laura M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The hotel is located in the hills above Santa Barbara with 270 degree views of the hills, harbor, ocean and city. The restaurant has a great patio with heaters so that you can enjoy the view during your meal or while enjoying a drink.
The wines and food are excellent. The appetizers are very unique and delicious. The service is excellent as well.
I heartily recommend it for a romantic occasion, or for a meal with a great view and wonderful food. Sunset is the best time to enjoy the view.

Room Tip: I am writing a review of the restaurant only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillandfried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,033 reviews
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,236 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
No photo provided
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
124 reviews
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
370 reviews
3.8 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond El Encanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond El Encanto

Property: Belmond El Encanto
Address: 800 Alvarado Place, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-2176
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond El Encanto 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond El Encanto, a Forbes Five-Star luxury hotel, has been meticulously restored to capture all the romance and glamour that endeared it to both the local Santa Barbara community and visitors alike. As part of Belmond, this is the company's first excursion to the American west coast. Ninety-two quintessential, California-styled suites and bungalows dot the lush, terraced grounds featuring seven-acres of gloriously landscaped gardens with sweeping views of Santa Barbara and the Pacific Ocean. Original architectural features have been lovingly restored, including the historic, trellis-lined Arbor and Lily Pond. Modern additions to the expansive outdoor zero-edge pool and a new beautifully appointed boutique spa enhance the journey for today's luxury-seeking guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Belmond El Encanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Encanto Hotel And Garden Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing