We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Yacht Club Inn ia a fabulous place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals
Reviewed August 20, 2009

The Old Yacht Club Inn located in Santa Barbara, Ca. is a fabulous place to stay! I have experienced many places in Santa Barbara, and I have to say I was extremely impressed with the professionalism; customer service and not to mention the gourmet breakfast served every morning! My room was very welcoming and quiet and the bed was extremely comfortable.
Each morning I was greeted by Eilene and her friendly staff with a cup of hot coffee and an incredible gourmet breakfast.
I highly recommend the Old Yacht Club Inn if you are looking for a quiet quaint place to stay to enjoy the Santa Barbara beaches and sites.
Thank you Eilene and your staff for creating a wonderful stay that I will always treasure.
Sincerely,
Diana Chase
Photos By Diana

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianachase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old-Yacht-Club-Inn, owner at Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2009

Dear Diana,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write such a rave review of our property! I know this is our second time with us and it's just lovely to hear how much you appreciate the professionalism, customer service, gourmet breakfasts and that you were so impressed.

I know you work very hard and being able to provide a stay that you will always treasure means a lot to us.

Hope to see you again soon!

Eilene/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 198 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2009

This inn was pretty bad!!! the room was pathetically small the shower was as big as a phone both with Cosco shampoo?? The breakfast was not as described still waiting for the baked goods to come out.. I had booked one room on line and they gave us another one. The reason I was given had to do with the fact that someone booked this room for three days???? The so called view was a balcony with potted plants. While it was a block from the beach it also was bordered by Motel 6 and other less than desirible establishments. This inn lokked NOTHING like the photos. The sink was in the room and when you turned on the faucet it made a very loud sound. The only saving grace was that it only a one day stop over. Stay at the Motel six instead

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank urbanphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old-Yacht-Club-Inn, owner at Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2009

I'm surprised you consider our Portofino Room a small room. It was given to you as an upgrade and it is just as pictured on line. I didn't know Cosco had their own shampoo. When I went to double check there was a name brand shampoo, lotion and cream rinse so I am a little confused about this comment. The baked goods are on the plate with the egg dishes. Of course we don't serve baked goods when we serve French Toast or Pancakes. On those days we serve sides of yogurt, fresh fruit, and our home made granola. If you were waiting for baked goods, just ask. We'd be happy to serve you extra. It's our intent to leave guests feeling satisfied with a nice, warm and relaxing breakfast to start their day.

Sincerely,
Eilene/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

My husband went on line to find the perfect place for our 1 yr anniversary. He thoroughly checked out Ye Old Yacht Club Inn. He even downloaded and marked ALL the prices for each room at the summer weekend rate. He called and spoke to a reservationist. They quoted the Santa Rosa room at 249.00 a night. That was the one he wanted. When we got there, they put us into a different room and claimed that he didn't reserve the Santa Rosa. On the internet the room we got was listed at 189.00 a night. When he brought the error to their attention they insisted that he was wrong and commented that the Santa Rosa "only had an old electric fireplace". They argued that their website wasn't updated so it didn't reflect the current prices. It was a complete rip-off. They did a bait and switch on us. Would NEVER recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank satinanddenim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old-Yacht-Club-Inn, Owner at Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

We have checked our records and the confirmation letter e-mailed to you for your reservation was for our San Miguel Room and not for our Santa Rosa Suite. Since the property was sold out we were not able to relocate you to the suite as it was occupied. There is no reason at all for us to "bait and switch" any guest ever. We want our guests to be happy with their room choices and all of our room accommodations sell out on the weekends, especially in mid August, when you stayed at our Inn. There is absolutely no reason to "bait" anyone a block from the beach in Santa Barbara, CA. We've run a very honest business for 37 years and would not last over the decades treating dishonestly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

This Bed and Breakfast offers the best breakfast in town. The rooms are clean and decorated in keeping with the original yacht club feeling. Very charming! This is the second time staying here. We always meet very nice people either at breakfast or at 5pm for wine, fruit, cheese and crackers. It is in a great location close to the beach and downtown. The owner is delightful as well as the staff. This is a must if you are planning a stay in Santa Barbara!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottsdaleBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old-Yacht-Club-Inn, Owner at Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

We so appreciate your 5 star review!
Especially that you enjoyed our breakfasts so much, find our rooms clean and decorated in keeping with the original Yacht Club feeling and very charming!
I see you are return guests and that is a compliment in itself. So glad you appreciate our great location, a block to the beach and close to downtown. You point out that the owner is delightful as well as the staff and that the Old Yacht Club Inn is a must if you are planning a stay in Santa Barbara!! Well that about is the best compliment we could ask for. Thank you again very much. So glad that you enjoyed a 5 star stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

The place was very quaint and charming and had great personality. Our host, Eilene, was so friendly and really made my husband and I,as well as our 2 little dogs feel so welcome. The fact that she was so friendly and welcoming of our dogs was important to us because not many places are that welcoming of dogs.She is also a great cook and used her own special recipes for our gourmet breakfasts, which were delicious. I have to say that if you are looking for a trendy and ultra modern place, this is not a place for you because it is an antique Craftsman home with personality, history and charm, not some bland hotel chain.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovelynomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old-Yacht-Club-Inn, Owner at Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful 4 star review. You found the Old Yacht Club Inn to be very quaint and charming and to have great personality. This is what our Inn is all about. You are right that we are not a trendy and ultra modern place, this is not a place for those seeking that because like you explain perfectly we are an antique decorated, Mission Craftsman home with personality, history and charm, not some bland hotel chain. There ya go! You said it right! Your Innkeeper, Eilene, was so friendly and really made you and your husband as well as your 2 little dogs feel so welcome. Your, two little dogs were the perfect guests, so quiet and well behaved. They were easy to be so friendly and welcoming to. You even found me to be a great cook, using my own special recipes for your gourmet breakfasts, which you found were delicious. Seems like you really had such a good time and I hope you come back very soon. Thank you again for all of your kind words and for taking the time to share them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2009

We absolutely loved the atmosphere and location of this quaint B&B. The rooms were very clean and the service (especially the fully breakfast the next am) was fabulous. Would recommend to anyone looking to get away for a romantic weekend in Santa Barbara. Its a real gem. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: January 2009
1  Thank vnaumescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old-Yacht-Club-Inn, Owner at Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

We so appreciate your five star review of the Old Yacht Club Inn. Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us and others how much you absolutely loved the atmosphere and location of our quaint B&B. We are delighted that you found our guest rooms very clean and the service (especially the fully breakfast the next am) fabulous! The fact that you would recommend the Old Yacht Club Inn to anyone looking to get away for a romantic weekend in Santa Barbara really means a great deal to us. Thank you for referring to us as "a real gem". We are looking forward to your return visit to the Old Yacht Club Inn and delighted that you will definitely be back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

We have just returned from our relaxing get-away at the Old Yacht Club Inn in Santa Barbara.. The Inn is a charming little Mission Craftsman Home in a fabulous location, just a stones throw from a magnificent beach. It was so homey that it was hard to pull ourselves away from the Bed and Breakfast however since the Inn offers complimentary bicycles we were happy to ride them downtown and along the waterfront and not have to deal with the car. We got a more bird's eye feel of the neighborhoods this way and loved riding along the bike path to the pier, harbor and bird refuge on the coastal path also a block from the Inn. The Inn is decorated in antiques and the Innkeepers are friendly, warm and made us feel so comfortable.
We stayed in the Portofino Room located upstairs in the main house with the most comfortable bed you can imagine. I had the best sleep I've had in the past six months.
A hot breakfast was served to us each day along with freshly brewed coffee and fresh juices. It was fabulous! We had a souffle one day and thick French Toast the next. Fresh fruit was served daily and really good bread. They also have an excellent tea selection. The wine social was quite nice with fresh fruit, cheese, crackers and pretzels. We loved sitting by the fire in the living room in the evening and sipping the complimentary sherry in our room afterwards.
This Inn is a bargain! It is a block from resorts like the Fess Parker Double Tree and the Marmonte Hotel.
We paid $199 per night for Portofino Room which we thought excellent value since there are places just a block or two away charging at least double without the breakfast or wine social.
I have to say that this is probably the best deal in Santa Barbara and probably the best location as well. The owners could probably charge a lot more, especially on weekends and in the summer but the prices will allow us to come for three days or more next time. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MylarandDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old-Yacht-Club-Inn, owner at Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2009

Thank you so much for you taking notice of the location, quaintness and cleanliness of our bed and breakfast. I am so glad that you like the breakfast too.
It feels wonderful to be so appreciated by guests like yourselves who can take full advantage and enjoyment of this "great gem" as you referred to our inn as. Please join us soon for another romantic weekend get-away in beautiful Santa Barbara! Our home is your home too and we love sharing it with guests like you.

With much appreciation for your time and effort,
Eilene Bruce/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#32 of 52 in Santa Barbara
894 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
0.0 mi away
Pacific Crest Hotel Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals

Address: 431 Corona Del Mar, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3601
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $80 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic Santa Barbara inn and vacation rentals only 1 block from famous East Beach! Cozy rooms at our romantic Old Yacht Club Inn provide modern amenities, whirlpool tubs, and fireplaces, with private entrances and decks. Enjoy complimentary bike rentals, boogie boards, beach towels and beach chairs. Experience turn of the century charm at our Santa Barbara, CA inn and vacation rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Yacht Club Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing