We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Yacht Club Inn” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals
White Stone, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Old Yacht Club Inn”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We visited Santa Barbara for the first time and stayed at this place. While well located the Inn is run down and desperately needs a serious make over. We stayed in their "annex", the top floor of a home across the street from the inn. Three bedrooms, one old bathroom and everything in need of a paint job. I can't recommend a stay here for over $250.00 a night. The only redeeming feature was the breakfast which was excellent. Come for breakfast but not for the night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    47
    31
    28
    33
See reviews for
30
99
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

It has a great location and the free bike loans were the best part. One block to beach and then an easy bike ride all around SB. We were hoping for something a little more up to date in terms of the room itself. This has more to do with our taste vs. what the B&B promises in its ad. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Price was fine. Very quaint and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rathbonemuseum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old-Yacht-Club-Inn, Owner at Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing that The Old Yacht Club Inn has a great location and that the free bike loans were the best part.! One block to beach and then an easy bike ride all around SB. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Fine pricing & very quaint and quiet made your stay home run! Come back and see us again soon. Hope you try the boogie boards next time too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, CA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just returned from a girls' trip to Santa Barbara where we stayed at the Old Yacht Club Inn. It was pleasant and comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating and our suite was big enough for three, although the bathroom was understandably a bit of a challenge for us all to get ready. The Inn is near the beach and within walking distance to the pier. Breakfasts were tasty and served quickly and we really enjoyed chatting with other guests during the afternoon wine and cheese hour. We would surely recommend the Old Yacht Club Inn to friends and family!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old-Yacht-Club-Inn, Owner at Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We Thank you for recommending the Old Yacht Club Inn to friends and family! So glad you enjoyed your girl's trip and found your stay pleasant, comfortable & staff friendly & accommodating. Walking distance to the beach & pier is a plus for us as well and we are so happy you enjoyed our location as much as we do. Come back & see us very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed for two nights during the first week of September. I thought I had booked "The Cottage" but when we arrived I found we were booked into the Santa Rosa Suite. The Santa Rosa Suite was very nice, upstairs with west facing windows. It's great for a romantic getaway. The location is just a block from the beach and very close to State St (downtown Santa Barbara) and the Funk Zone (the best for beer and wine tastings in town). The commuter train track is also just a block away. The first time I heard the train coming I immediately thought of the movie "My Cousin Vinny". But, the room did not shake, it was just loud. We never heard the train too early in the morning or too late a night so it obviously does not run around the clock. We never made it breakfast or the afternoon wine social but both events appeared to be nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old-Yacht-Club-Inn, Owner at Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience staying in one of our suites at the Old Yacht Club Inn. You're so right that it's great for a romantic getaway, especially with our location being just a block from the beach and very close to State St (downtown Santa Barbara) and the Funk Zone (the best for beer and wine tastings in town). Hope you borrowed our complimentary bikes or rode the trolley-very fun!!!Visit again soon. Thanks again for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
450 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have mixed feelings about the Old Yacht Club Inn and would not stay there again. My wife found it on Living Social and the price ($249 before tax for 2 nights), location and amenities sounded great. There was some good and some bad. We did not complain about the bad because we figured not much could be done about them.

Good:

Bikes were a great way to see the beach area and get around.

Breakfast was very nice although portions were small.

Location was 2 blocks from East Beach (but there is a big bad here also that is one of the main reasons for not returning – see below)

The staff was very helpful and nice. The housekeeper let us into our room when we arrived at the 2pm check-in time and no one was present to check us in. She showed up at 2:20pm so we checked in then. The housekeeper also found a pair of glasses that was lost the night before.

The porch is a nice place to sit and enjoy cheese and (very cheap) white wine at the 5pm social hour. There is also a nice patio area but we didn’t use it.

There was a Jacuzzi bath tub with 6 jets but we didn’t use it.

There was parking in the back and on the street.

Bad:

Our room was small. It was laid out well with a Queen bed so it worked. But, we spent very little time in the room except to sleep because it was so small. Other rooms may be larger. My disappointment is that we were not told it was so small when reserving it, and given the option to pay a little more for a larger room.

The location of our San Miguel room (2nd house, 2nd floor, back corner) was such that the Wifi was useless (it worked on the porch in the main house) and it was less than a block away from the train and the freeway noise. This made it very loud and difficult to sleep at night especially since several of our windows were broken and would not close all the way. I don’t think it would have matter much if we could have fully closed the 2 windows because it was pretty loud.

Parts of the house smelled old and musty. Areas of the B&B need a facelift. Our bathroom had mold in the bath/shower caulking, nicks on the furniture and walls, and a coax cable hanging from near the ceiling to the newer flat screen TV (did not receive any HD) on a wood stand. These are 2 old houses and there are antiques. But, everything should be in good condition.

The door to our room was extremely difficult to open. It required the handle to be turned as far as possible to the left, and then push hard with your shoulder to the door to open it. This was caused by 2 problems: the door fit in the frame such that the top 1/3 hit the frame, and the latch did not retract all the way. This clearly is not a new problem, and the Inn housekeeper has to experience it every day so it can't be a surprise to the management.

The queen bed was pretty firm and creaked anytime anyone moved. It was not very comfortable compared to other hotel beds (B&B and chains) that we have experienced (we travel a lot).

Room Tip: Do not stay in the San Miguel room. It is very noisy due to the nearby freeway and train. The door i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LUCKYME72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have stayed in the Cottage a few times and always love it. This b&b is a few blocks from the beach and a fairly quick bike ride from state street. The proprietors have always been very accommodating and have a lovely breakfast every morning. The Cottage is a stand alone unit in the back. It is not huge but we like the privacy.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old-Yacht-Club-Inn, Owner at Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
So glad that you love our Cottage and return again & again! Taking the time to share your experience with other travelers is very much appreciated by us. Being just a block from the beach and a fairly quick bike ride to state street makes us really enjoy our location as much our guests do. Thank you for finding us always very accommodating & for sharing the privacy that you enjoy about the Cottage and The Old Yacht Club Inn with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay at the Old Yacht Club Inn. We were on a budget so the room we chose was a little small but with a cozy vibe. Enjoyed breakfast and chats with Coleen as well. Great bike selection for morning rides along the breach. Very short walk to the beach or corner to catch the trolly to State Street. The main room could use a new coat of paint to spurce up the place. Other then that, all was great and will return same time next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nunzi1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old-Yacht-Club-Inn, Owner at Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your two night stay at the Old Yacht Club Inn. Our bike selection does lend for leisurely morning rides along the breach. It's also a short stroll-1.5 blocks to the beach or corner to catch the trolley to State Street. Looking forward to seeing you same time next year. (We're painting the downstairs right now, as I write this!) Thanks for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#26 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals

Property: Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals
Address: 431 Corona Del Mar, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic Santa Barbara inn and vacation rentals only 1 block from famous East Beach! Cozy rooms at our romantic Old Yacht Club Inn provide modern amenities, whirlpool tubs, and fireplaces, with private entrances and decks. Enjoy complimentary bike rentals, boogie boards, beach towels and beach chairs. Experience turn of the century charm at our Santa Barbara, CA inn and vacation rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Yacht Club Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing