We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was not what we were looking for.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This was not what we were looking for.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

It has a great location and the free bike loans were the best part. One block to beach and then an easy bike ride all around SB. We were hoping for something a little more up to date in terms of the room itself. This has more to do with our taste vs. what the B&B promises in its ad. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Price was fine. Very quaint and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rathbonemuseum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old-Yacht-Club-Inn, Owner at Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing that The Old Yacht Club Inn has a great location and that the free bike loans were the best part.! One block to beach and then an easy bike ride all around SB. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Fine pricing & very quaint and quiet made your stay home run! Come back and see us again soon. Hope you try the boogie boards next time too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    48
    31
    28
    33
See reviews for
31
99
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, CA
Level Contributor
169 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just returned from a girls' trip to Santa Barbara where we stayed at the Old Yacht Club Inn. It was pleasant and comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating and our suite was big enough for three, although the bathroom was understandably a bit of a challenge for us all to get ready. The Inn is near the beach and within walking distance to the pier. Breakfasts were tasty and served quickly and we really enjoyed chatting with other guests during the afternoon wine and cheese hour. We would surely recommend the Old Yacht Club Inn to friends and family!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old-Yacht-Club-Inn, Owner at Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We Thank you for recommending the Old Yacht Club Inn to friends and family! So glad you enjoyed your girl's trip and found your stay pleasant, comfortable & staff friendly & accommodating. Walking distance to the beach & pier is a plus for us as well and we are so happy you enjoyed our location as much as we do. Come back & see us very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed for two nights during the first week of September. I thought I had booked "The Cottage" but when we arrived I found we were booked into the Santa Rosa Suite. The Santa Rosa Suite was very nice, upstairs with west facing windows. It's great for a romantic getaway. The location is just a block from the beach and very close to State St (downtown Santa Barbara) and the Funk Zone (the best for beer and wine tastings in town). The commuter train track is also just a block away. The first time I heard the train coming I immediately thought of the movie "My Cousin Vinny". But, the room did not shake, it was just loud. We never heard the train too early in the morning or too late a night so it obviously does not run around the clock. We never made it breakfast or the afternoon wine social but both events appeared to be nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old-Yacht-Club-Inn, Owner at Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience staying in one of our suites at the Old Yacht Club Inn. You're so right that it's great for a romantic getaway, especially with our location being just a block from the beach and very close to State St (downtown Santa Barbara) and the Funk Zone (the best for beer and wine tastings in town). Hope you borrowed our complimentary bikes or rode the trolley-very fun!!!Visit again soon. Thanks again for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
467 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have mixed feelings about the Old Yacht Club Inn and would not stay there again. My wife found it on Living Social and the price ($249 before tax for 2 nights), location and amenities sounded great. There was some good and some bad. We did not complain about the bad because we figured not much could be done about them.

Good:

Bikes were a great way to see the beach area and get around.

Breakfast was very nice although portions were small.

Location was 2 blocks from East Beach (but there is a big bad here also that is one of the main reasons for not returning – see below)

The staff was very helpful and nice. The housekeeper let us into our room when we arrived at the 2pm check-in time and no one was present to check us in. She showed up at 2:20pm so we checked in then. The housekeeper also found a pair of glasses that was lost the night before.

The porch is a nice place to sit and enjoy cheese and (very cheap) white wine at the 5pm social hour. There is also a nice patio area but we didn’t use it.

There was a Jacuzzi bath tub with 6 jets but we didn’t use it.

There was parking in the back and on the street.

Bad:

Our room was small. It was laid out well with a Queen bed so it worked. But, we spent very little time in the room except to sleep because it was so small. Other rooms may be larger. My disappointment is that we were not told it was so small when reserving it, and given the option to pay a little more for a larger room.

The location of our San Miguel room (2nd house, 2nd floor, back corner) was such that the Wifi was useless (it worked on the porch in the main house) and it was less than a block away from the train and the freeway noise. This made it very loud and difficult to sleep at night especially since several of our windows were broken and would not close all the way. I don’t think it would have matter much if we could have fully closed the 2 windows because it was pretty loud.

Parts of the house smelled old and musty. Areas of the B&B need a facelift. Our bathroom had mold in the bath/shower caulking, nicks on the furniture and walls, and a coax cable hanging from near the ceiling to the newer flat screen TV (did not receive any HD) on a wood stand. These are 2 old houses and there are antiques. But, everything should be in good condition.

The door to our room was extremely difficult to open. It required the handle to be turned as far as possible to the left, and then push hard with your shoulder to the door to open it. This was caused by 2 problems: the door fit in the frame such that the top 1/3 hit the frame, and the latch did not retract all the way. This clearly is not a new problem, and the Inn housekeeper has to experience it every day so it can't be a surprise to the management.

The queen bed was pretty firm and creaked anytime anyone moved. It was not very comfortable compared to other hotel beds (B&B and chains) that we have experienced (we travel a lot).

Room Tip: Do not stay in the San Miguel room. It is very noisy due to the nearby freeway and train. The door i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LUCKYME72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have stayed in the Cottage a few times and always love it. This b&b is a few blocks from the beach and a fairly quick bike ride from state street. The proprietors have always been very accommodating and have a lovely breakfast every morning. The Cottage is a stand alone unit in the back. It is not huge but we like the privacy.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old-Yacht-Club-Inn, Owner at Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
So glad that you love our Cottage and return again & again! Taking the time to share your experience with other travelers is very much appreciated by us. Being just a block from the beach and a fairly quick bike ride to state street makes us really enjoy our location as much our guests do. Thank you for finding us always very accommodating & for sharing the privacy that you enjoy about the Cottage and The Old Yacht Club Inn with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay at the Old Yacht Club Inn. We were on a budget so the room we chose was a little small but with a cozy vibe. Enjoyed breakfast and chats with Coleen as well. Great bike selection for morning rides along the breach. Very short walk to the beach or corner to catch the trolly to State Street. The main room could use a new coat of paint to spurce up the place. Other then that, all was great and will return same time next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nunzi1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old-Yacht-Club-Inn, Owner at Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your two night stay at the Old Yacht Club Inn. Our bike selection does lend for leisurely morning rides along the breach. It's also a short stroll-1.5 blocks to the beach or corner to catch the trolley to State Street. Looking forward to seeing you same time next year. (We're painting the downstairs right now, as I write this!) Thanks for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

WARNING: The Old Yacht Club Inn does not come close to living up to its website. I have NEVER given a review anywhere, but after our stay there this weekend, I felt compelled. This B & B is in desperate need of a whole new facelift. I can appreciate old antique charm, but the Old Yacht Club Inn is just old and rundown. The owner assured me my room came with a patio. Her definition of patio: old dirty bench with small table in the front of the house underneath a window facing the street. Don’t be fooled when the website says there are bikes for its patrons to use. They literally look like they have been pulled out of a junkyard. It took my husband and I 20 minutes to find two that sort of worked. My seat kept falling off and eventually the whole chain on my bike fell off as I was peddling quickly along. Thankfully no one on the bike path was hurt, including me, as I was somehow able to maneuver my way around everyone and everything and steer onto the thick grass until I was able to come to a stop. Ironically, as my husband rushed over to help me on his bike his chain fell off! Our room smelled old and musty and the air was thick and muggy. There was no air conditioning or ceiling fan. The largest windows were painted shut so they couldn’t be opened. There were a few unpainted windows we were able to open but that did us no good as we were in a room facing the street and had no privacy unless we shut the drapes that then covered the breeze from the small windows. The toilet was loud enough to wake up the whole block. We ended up leaving after the first night and staying at the Motel 6 two doors down. Sadly, the Motel 6 was more comfortable (air conditioning and newly remodeled rooms) than this B & B. If you still decide to book a room here, you can say you were forewarned!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank boliviano39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old-Yacht-Club-Inn, Owner at Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
The Old Yacht Club Inn has been in business operating as a Bed & Breakfast since 1980. If the things written by this writer were true we would no longer be in business. Guests like this are a nightmare for business owners and for other guests staying at a small property. We advertise honestly and prefer not to cater to guests such as this. The owner answers all phone calls & e-mails to the property and gives each caller personalized attention so that they get the best fit for their needs. When a potential guest calls and asks for specific amenities such as air conditioning, or something specific that we do not have, that caller is referred to a suitable property. ESPECIALLY on a summer weekend in Santa Barbara. We sell out anyway, as we only have 13 guest rooms and a 3 bedroom suite. Rather than book an unsuitable guest, it is ALWAYS my preference to refer that guest to a property that is a better fit for that particular caller than to "misrepresent" anything to the caller as this guest claims, as the accommodation will sell via phone, a "walk-in" guest or via on line booking to a guest that is looking for this particular fit. I am very clear, honest & up front about our property in photos, and in my verbal & written communications.

In this particular booking, the wife called to make the reservation after calling multiple properties. After speaking to her for a few minutes about our property she said she was going to cancel the reservation that she had made at another "hotel" and book with us. I reminded her that we are not a hotel, but a Bed & Breakfast and to make sure that she was able to cancel without any penalty before she booked with our property. She insisted on booking with us before canceling at the other "hotel" as she said they had only a 24 hour cancellation policy.

When she asked if we had air conditioning, I told her that we did not and explained that beach area homes in Santa Barbara do not have air conditioning. It is part of the beauty of being in Santa Barbara. We open our windows, maybe turn on a fan, if absolutely necessary, (which is very rare) and being only a block from the beach we smell .& feel the fresh ocean air. When her husband arrived to our property, he started ranting & raving about "no air conditioning" and yelling that he wife was told that the property had air conditioning.

This guests room is quite lovely. It does face the street, and happens to be a very large King Size room with private entrance, small electric fireplace, a 4 poster Cherry wood canopy bed, private bathroom, extra day bed to lay down & read on or watch the flat screen TV and a small patio outside of the room in addition to a large covered front porch a few feet away from the room & a large sun deck on the back of the house with lots of chairs, tables & umbrellas and antique fountain, custom made from the first California Cooperage Hot Tub. This guest actually called me to tell me that his room had no patio and no where to sit. Since I had recently arrived at the Inn and actually seen the patio within the hour, and the room is newly redecorated with a new a new chair recently purchased, I actually thought that maybe the guests who had departed the night before had taken our new chair. Hard to believe since no one has ever taken anything from our Inn before in the past. But this guest insisted that there was no chair in the room. However, when they left, my husband and I went into the room and what do you know? The chair and patio were still there.

Our B&B is located on a relatively quiet side street, a block in from the Beach. It's pretty rare to have such a nice quiet street in a California Beachy Neighborhood walking distance to shops, restaurants, wine tasting, etc. The main beach blvd. is a block away where the beach is so it's nice to have the location a block in, off of the main blvd. The Motel 6 property that this guest is referring to is on the same street that we're on, facing the street and does have air conditioning as most all motels do as there are rooms on both sides and in back of the room so it's not possible to get the type of air flow that we have in a B&B type home. But if a small, simple, inexpensive overnight chain motel, no breakfast, no patio, is what you feel at home with why not book that in the first place, shut all your doors & windows, blast the A/C and enjoy! One size doesn't fit all in this business. Do your shopping, take notes when you call a property or else you won't remember who said what and don't expect a Motel 6 when you book a quaint little bed and breakfast.













































































el Mar Drive is a relatively quiet side street with very little through traffic, which is quite rare for a neighborhood with such close proximity to the beach. East Beach is our beach here and it's Santa Barbara's best swimming beach and absolutely spectacular. Facing the street from our Inn and our Julia Metelmann Room are lots of palm trees, flowers, Victorian & Mission Craftsmen Homes and a brand new beautiful, newly constructed $4-$5million dollar Spanish Style Family Vacation Home. This is a fabulous location, a short 1 block stroll to the beach & walking distance to shops, the pier, restaurants with breath taking ocean views and walking distance to the Urban Walking Wine Tasting Trail. The bike path that runs along the ocean is also only a block away which is why we have free bikes for our guests to borrow. We buy used bikes, rather than new ones because in the past when we've bought the new ones they've gotten stolen from downtown when guests have locked them up and gone off for lunch or shopping. Since we've been buying the used bikes from a local bike shop, which cost us the same as new bikes in Costco we haven't had any stolen. Being a University town with 4 major learning institutions here, students tend to "pick up" a bike, ride it to their destination and leave it there. That seems to be Santa Barbara's most widespread crime-bike theft. (I used to work at the Sheriff's Department before becoming an Innkeeper and wrote multiple bike theft reports per day!) Also sent the crime reports to the FBI Quarterly and that was our highest crime reporting, if you can believe it. Being born & raised in New York, that was a new one for me. Hence, the used bikes seemed to save the day. I hope I've covered everything here and cleared up any misconceptions about our property. I know the 1 star rating from this former guest really lowers our rating on Trip Advisor but unfortunately most guests, stay and have a fabulous time and don't write reviews. They're happy, go home and go on with their lives. Then there are guests that love to be in an air conditioned motel room, which is fine for some travelers but what I find puzzling is with all of the listings, websites & photos on line is why they don't just book that to begin with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,336 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#21 of 52 in Santa Barbara
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#31 of 52 in Santa Barbara
875 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,279 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals

Property: Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals
Address: 431 Corona Del Mar, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3601
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic Santa Barbara inn and vacation rentals only 1 block from famous East Beach! Cozy rooms at our romantic Old Yacht Club Inn provide modern amenities, whirlpool tubs, and fireplaces, with private entrances and decks. Enjoy complimentary bike rentals, boogie boards, beach towels and beach chairs. Experience turn of the century charm at our Santa Barbara, CA inn and vacation rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Old Yacht Club Inn Vacation Rentals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Yacht Club Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing