We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous ! Great location. Recommended”
Review of Harbor House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbor House Inn
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I'm so glad we found this place to stay while visiting the beautiful Santa Barbara . The location is superb just 2 mins walk from the beachfront & harbour . Staff are excellent so friendly & helpful . I was thrilled with the room ! So comfortable & calm with its own little terrace outside . There are bikes for customers to use. We rode along the beach promenade early in the morning & saw dolphins & sea lions playing near the shore . This really is a great place to stay , I can't fault it at all .

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sybiltheswan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (899)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 899 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place was a great choice! We decided to get away for a day for a birthday. Having used Google's Hotel Tool, the results in SB weren't promising if you are expecting a range of 4-5 star hotels.

This hotel was one of the two top rated hotels - the other was further away from and much pricier.

Upon a arriving, check-in was a breeze. The associate was very friendly and helpful. The rooms have parking directly next to the units. The welcome basket ($12 optional charge) is an excellent deal - a variety of fruit, drinks, snacks, and fresh homemade banana but bread.

Our favorite amenity, besides HBO, was the free beach cruiser bikes. The beach is RIGHT there, and the main shopping and dining on State St is easily accessible.

The room itself was very clean, with thick towels, coffee and plenty of accessories, a full kitchen, and comfy bed.

If we visit SB again, this is our choice!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank SPG100Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We loved the Harbor House Inn. It is perfectly located a block from Cabrillo St along the harbor and about 3 blocks from State Street and all the shopping. The rooms are very roomy, nicely furnished, and private. The small kitchen was perfect for us and they had free WiFi. There was no A/C and almost always, that wouldn't be a problem as the temperatures near the bay usually are mild and pleasant. We happened to be there during a heat wave of over 100 degrees. They did have both a ceiling fan and a floor fan which helped a lot.

The staff was very helpful and they had a small business center. They also had a surprisingly good collection of DVDs that were free to view. The property has 3 of the most picture perfect palm trees I've seen. They have lounge chairs in a small yard area that is a great place to chill out in the morning or evening. We very much enjoyed our 2 nights there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Well we thought we would beat the heat and go to santa barbara . Well we jumped in to more heat. Even though no AC we managed to stay cool. Not as much walking. We went to the beach where boat house restaurant is and had a great time. We love staying in king suite. Perfect size. Staff amazing. We used the beach chairs and umbrella then when home we bought the same. We will return again!!!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank infogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Paul showed us a few rooms gave us a great price and a beautiful basket of goodies. Looked at many places and the furniture is classy, spa in room is huge and most comfortable bed along w/ private patio is perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aliciahab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Paul of The Harbor House Inn really made my day. I was really stressed out about finding a place and everything was booking up at light speed. When I finally found this place the accommodation I wanted was not actually available due as it was a fault in the website. Paul was very understanding and very patient. He could read my frustrated state and gave his best offer and attitude. I appreciated the help and accommodations he made for me. I felt that he really cared and wanted me to be happy. Thank you Paul. The harbor house inn is lucky to have you!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMaryBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We had the most fantastic stay in this quiet, quaint and original place. The staff were genuinely welcoming. Our king room was superb, a large and comfortable bed, lovely bathroom and sitting area and a small kitchen area. Everything was spotlessly clean. The welcome hamper was amazing, very comprehensive.
So much better than a chain hotel, the staff really cared about their customers.
The free cycles were brilliant, we really enjoyed riding around SB on them.
The location was perfect too, very quiet and close to the sea front.
We would love to return here and stay for longer. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tannoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.6 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
581 reviews
1 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,360 reviews
1.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House Inn

Address: 104 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $195 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 One-of-a-kind studios with kitchens located one short block from West Beach nestled between Stearn's Wharf & the Santa Barbara Harbor. Room amenities include free wireless internet access & local phone calls and complimentary use of 3-speed cruising bicycles. Beach chairs, towels & umbrellas are also available at no charge. For guests enjoying 2 or more nights, a complimentary Welcome Breakfast Basket is included upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing