We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbor House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harbor House Inn
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We checked in for one night on our travels. Had not pre-booked. Only a suite available. Such a shame we didn't have longer. We were so contented we decided to luxuriate in the beautiful, huge, incredibly comfortable bed for longer than we should next morning. The room and bathroom were just perfect. We stayed in December and it was very quiet at that time of year. A super food basket was supplied. Bikes are available to guests free of charge. Would definitely come back here again. Santa Barbara is a lovely place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OrianaB108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    147
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
78
482
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monrovia, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

we stayed two nights at Harbor House, in room 10. It's closest to the office, so there was a bit more noise of people going in and out, but not enough to be annoying. the best part of the location was being next door to the kitchen where they bake the banana bread every night.. the smell was wonderful.

As for the room, it was rather small, although once we put our clothes in the dressing and stashed the suitcases in the closet, it was more manageable. The bed was softer than we're accustomed to, but we had no problem sleeping 12 hours the first night. Any more than two nights, though, and the room would have felt very cramped indeed.

The breakfast basket is as generous as others have described, no way we could have consumed everything.

Wine tasting shops at the nearby "Funk Zone" are easily walkable, as are the two harbor locations with plenty of restaurants, and some neighborhood bars/brewpubs just up the street. Wouldn't have needed a car at all.

Room Tip: Room 10 was a bit small for any more than just a night or two, but the hotel is in a great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

When we first pulled in we thought- oh no, another roadside motel. But it isn't that at all- its more like little "casitas" around a really sweet courtyard with a big palm tree in the middle. Our room had a lovely sitting room and kitchenette. It's clean, large, comfy and the front desk service is absolutely first-rate. They were so helpful and we had a GREAT time on the free tandem bike. They made wonderful restaurant recommendations and we enjoyed Cadiz and Opal restaurants for dinner; Enterprise Fish Co for lunch.
No fitness center if thats important to you but I paid $14 for a day pass at Keys2Fitness a 10 minute walk away on State Street and had a great workout.
The "welcome basket" was INCREDIBLE and generous, especially the home-baked banana bread. We bought some yogurt and that was it for 2 breakfasts! We would definitely recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneek, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We found the Harbor House Inn to be just what we were looking for, which was an over-night stay near the beach and State St. restaurants. The breakfast was simple but plenty and it was great to have good bikes available for free. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George-Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

we have been upgraded to a junior suite, the room was huge and very nice. New furniture, a complementary basket for breakfast, bright and nice, and 4 minutes walking from the beach, the pier and restaurants overlooking the beach.
Only 5 min by car to all restaurants and shops in the center

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItalianaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms, great welcome food basket, good location - beach and downtown in walkable distance but still on a quiet road, free bikes, free parking, nice service personnel, free dvd rental, ...
I would stay here again in case we come back to sb.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stellalenotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Harbor House Inn and it's owner are very welcoming. The rooms are unique and beautifully appointed, and very inviting. The location is perfect, a block to the beach, Wharf and Pier, and a short walk to great restaurants. Can't recommend it enough!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbqTownGorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#33 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House Inn

Property: Harbor House Inn
Address: 104 Bath St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 One-of-a-kind studios with kitchens located one short block from West Beach nestled between Stearn's Wharf & the Santa Barbara Harbor. Room amenities include free wireless internet access & local phone calls and complimentary use of 3-speed cruising bicycles. Beach chairs, towels & umbrellas are also available at no charge. For guests enjoying 2 or more nights, a complimentary Welcome Breakfast Basket is included upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Harbor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing